Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,752 ratings
490 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

CT
Jul 19, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

LB
Jan 9, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 486 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By Krishna K

Jun 14, 2019

I recommend skipping this course if you have done SOME programming before. This is a LONG course just to cover concepts of Array and hashes which really should be a one or two hour lecture. It is nice that you learn some beginner cryptography though. That said, some of the assignments were unnecessarily frustrating at times and a bit too long. While I think it is a good course. It wasn't right for me. A bit too basic and assignment too long for a subject matter I had a very low level of interest in.

By Mikhail K

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't understand why BlueJ is used, while there are lots of other free Java IDEs (Eclipse, IDEAJ, etc.)

Also i don't agree with some OOP things you say. I don't see any point in creating a separate class for each test case, one class for every single functional class is more than enough (e.g. we need to test a class called MyClass with 4 functions, thus we make no more than one test class with 4 or less (or more) test cases. Especially when you can use JUnit tests)

By Nathan S

Aug 2, 2017

Very good content, however many of the assignments are not worded very clearly and can get confusing. They take much longer than the 10 minutes the course providers allocate and as such it can be easy to get behind on the course.

However, a very good course nonetheless.

By doha T

Aug 23, 2019

nice course , programming assignments are simplified real world problems. that helps in getting familiar with other areas of applying CS in.

Quizzes and review questions are time consuming and boring, just collecting outputs from running your programming assignment.

By Bishal G C

Jul 10, 2020

This programming contents of the course was quite easy, but the final quiz was awful & harder to understand. Anyway, It helped me to learn about the term cryptography. moreover, I learnt some data structures for efficient result

By Chadrick A E

Apr 25, 2018

More accessible than course two in the track. If you are a true newcomer to programming this course is also not a good choice for you unless you can spend much, much more than the projected time on the material each week.

By Hangyul M

Aug 3, 2018

It definitely makes you practice! But I hope it more dedicated to make us think how to use data structure more!! But If you are newbie to this field, it might be some challenging but help you to improve your coding!!

By Max V

Mar 26, 2020

Weeks one and two were extremely tough. Need more examples with testing scenarios in those weeks. Maybe consider breaking problems down into smaller samples.

By Md. Z M

Jun 14, 2016

The concepts taught were very useful and interesting, but the only drawback I found with this course was the confusing nature of the Mini-Project.

By wen c

Jul 30, 2017

videos are good and course is helpful. However, no staff working for forum, so if anyone has any problem, no staff is helping you.

By Prithvi K

Mar 31, 2020

The assignments were straight forward with the algorithm laid out fully. could have been a little difficult

By Vu M L

Feb 26, 2019

Still needs some reconfiguration to the quizes. I am not satisfied with those. Needs to be fixed!

By Kerstin K

Apr 29, 2017

Course and Assignments were good, but don't hope for an answer in the discussion forums.

By 36 - O S

Oct 6, 2020

Quizzes are very time-consuming. It will be better to give programming assignments.

By Amir R A

Sep 11, 2021

If you are beginner, this course is going to be difficult for you!

By P J

Jul 14, 2018

the reading part has many errors and unneccessary methods

By Neng P

Nov 6, 2016

Discussion forums for this course was not quite helpful.

By Konrad D

Feb 25, 2016

OK, big improvement from first 2 in this series

By Frank T

Jul 12, 2019

Poor Quizzes and little help on the forum

By Ernest D K A

Sep 5, 2020

Not foundational course at all.

By Olga V

Nov 9, 2018

Do not recommend this course and this specialization for beginners. Maybe worthy to make only if you have an experienced developer on your side to help you. Most likely, you're going to be really frustrated. Had high expectations on this courses, sadly was disappointed. Poor explanations, short videos, too complicated and multiple assignments, using BlueJ environment which nobody in a real world uses.

By Md. A

May 22, 2020

The course asks for lots of programming and hard work which I appreciate as a way of learning better. But, some of the quiz questions have questionable wording which leads learner to answer wrong and have less grade even after knowing about the algorithm well and having correct program developed. This is frustrating.

By Asif K

Jan 22, 2016

Again, I wish the teachers would explain explicitly what is needed for the programming exercise. I felt abandoned by the faculty when I was trying to work out the programming exercise. There is an assumption that we as students know what the teachers are talking about.

By Chase A E

Jul 11, 2020

Felt this was too vague for beginners, and too simple for those with experience. Spent a lot of time fighting with the quizzes to get it the answers it wanted, rather than focusing on writing good code.

By Jerrold

Oct 7, 2020

Fantastic course. Great assignments and lectures. Low score because the workload is excessively high and overwhelming for novice programmers