Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,399 ratings
437 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

CT
Jul 19, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

LB
Jan 9, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 430 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By Alexander G

Jul 2, 2020

Well Paced course that was just challenging enough to be straight-forward while still teaching me new things.

By Michael V

Jun 8, 2020

The course offers a good introduction to object oriented programming methodology and to map data structures.

By Arunas T

Nov 1, 2020

Challenging, but rewarding. Some quiz questions were a little vague, but overall highly recommended course.

By Pavels S

May 26, 2020

Amazing course, well sturctured and entertaining with interesting problem sets. Learned a lot of new stuff!

By vacous

Jan 18, 2017

This is much better than the previous one. The quiz and project design are much more reasonable.

Good work!

By Pradeep S

Jun 12, 2016

Nicely paced course for beginners to Java programming and the programming assignments are really exciting.

By Mohamed M D

Jun 4, 2020

i learnd a lot of concepts and a lot of things about Java in this lesson , Thanks for the all instructors

By MyoungEun K

Jul 27, 2019

Very well instructed course. It was very helpful to throughly understand how ArrayList and HashMap works.

By Jen P

Nov 18, 2016

This course has just the right amount of support so that you try things on your own without getting lost.

By Felipe G

Jun 6, 2020

Really interesting exercises to teach how to use some Java structures and objectet oriented programming

By Ricardo O D l R

Dec 3, 2015

Great. Makes you think a lot, while doing fun projects, not the usual programming made boring teaching.

By Adithya N

Jul 31, 2019

Comprehensive. Loved the programming assignments. They are a bit tedious but give you enough practice.

By Manish K

Aug 10, 2020

Nice course !! The assignments help me a lot in learning new concepts deeply.

Thanks to instructors :)

By Sujay P

Jun 24, 2017

Very interesting course, a bit too fast paced towards the end, it is no more a beginner level course.

By Oleksandr B

Jan 31, 2016

This course was very helpful for me.

Thanks authors of this course.

Best regards, Alex

Kyiv, Ukraine

2016

By Srijan K

Mar 2, 2020

This course will teach you about how data structure can be used to solve real world based problems.

By kushagra A

Jan 9, 2019

Very intuitive course, Projects teach you how apply your knowledge and think through the program.

By Lawrence O

Jun 4, 2017

I had a great learning experience. Good for Java Beginners and Intermediate Learners. I loved it

By Anurag K

Apr 20, 2020

Amazing Course on Java with a close to real life, practical example, that one has to implement.

By tingting h

Feb 10, 2019

I love this course. I really learned a lot from this course. Thank you those awesome teachers.

By Sasa J

Nov 30, 2015

I had a good time and learned on how to use arrays and hasmaps for storing and searching data.

By Chen C

Jul 8, 2020

I have learned more skills in encryption algorithm..Thank you..This course is really useful!!

By carlos v

Dec 12, 2016

Great learning opportunity! I learned a great deal and took my Java skills to the next level.

By Tin D

Jun 1, 2020

Excellent problem designs. I have learned a lot by solving interesting cryptography problems

By Tanvir M

Jan 17, 2019

This course is build in step by step which is very easy for me to understood as a beginner.