Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,494 ratings
1,362 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,349 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Ahamed K

Nov 22, 2020

Good Teaching by the teachers.Loved the different examples to explain the concepts ..the assignments were well structured and were challenging.. Thank you ..

By Yuantai X

Nov 14, 2020

The exercise is time-cosuming and difficult if you don't have experience in programming. But for those with a little experience and patience, it is valuable.

By Zhuoya H

Feb 2, 2020

I like the mentors in the forum. They respond to my posts in less than a day. Realy efficient and helpful. Thanks for preparing such novice-friendly course!

By HIMANSHU J

Jun 19, 2017

This is the best course for the beginner who has no knowledge about the Java. The explanation of the whole course of 4 weeks by the 4 teachers was superb.

By Каменский А С

Dec 28, 2019

Great assignment with babys names. My doughter's name is Sophia and i was very surprised that in2014 was born 17 boys whos parents give him name Sophia.

By Ed J

Sep 17, 2020

The course was quite good overall. Most lessons that were explained very well with good example code, but there were a couple that were a bit confusing.

By CUI, L 컴 ‍

Aug 15, 2020

I have improved a lot during this course. I can add some libraries from outside the IDE and use them to solve my own programming problems! Thanks a lot!

By Tarek M

Jan 14, 2018

Best course on programming. They teach you how to program. I was challenged in every step in the course. It was not easy to finish it but it was so fun.

By Juan J M

Jan 28, 2021

Muy buen curso introductorio, te hace evaluar y cuestionar mas tus capacidades para resolver problemas mas cotidianos, excelente curso DUKE University.

By Mustaqim M

May 21, 2020

One of a very few courses that actually deserve a 5 star rating. You have to work through the assignments to pass the course. Really well put together.

By SUJITH K

Dec 14, 2018

This course provides with all intermediate knowledge for a student to learn Java and do some extraordinary work.

I really enjoyed to complete my course.

By MURTAZA C

May 27, 2021

An amazing course to test out your Java skills, for a veteran as well as a new comer. Had a great time with challenging quizzes as well as assignments

By Michael R

Nov 20, 2020

Excellent course for beginners, I enjoyed it. Give yourself time to delve into and digest Duke's documentation, but also Oracle's Java documentation.

By Dominique C

Jan 5, 2020

I loved the way you taught this course, very similar to my own approach. Thank you, this was the holiday practice I needed to practice my Java skills.

By Girith C

Jul 21, 2018

Very helpful for beginners. The course especially helped me to adapt to the syntax and the style of language in which programming questions are asked.

By Jen P

Nov 1, 2016

This course was definitely a step up in difficulty from the previous one, but it's at just the right level. The quality of videos has also increased.

By Bartosz S

Apr 11, 2021

In Coursera you can be sure that you will understand how to program in java yourself. After one course, I understood the basic and necessary rules.

By Sanchit K

May 25, 2020

This course have good mentors who give their best for teaching this topic. Excellent work done by the staff by making this wonderful course for us.

By Oleh L

Nov 21, 2020

Good course to continue specialization and in general also. Examples and assignments have interesting practical applications not to be bored with.

By Umar I

Sep 24, 2019

Excellent introduction to Java programming for those that already have a little bit of experience programming in a different programming language.

By Gurunameh S C

Jul 23, 2020

A very good course for beginners with great real life problem solving projects to do with. Will recommend for anybody who wants to start coding.

By Suleman S

Jun 19, 2020

Brilliant Course!

Covers Every thing from Basics to Andvanced Skills. Most Important Course to Learn Programming and Software Development Skills.

By Yuriy Y

Jun 23, 2018

Was a great experience. I was a complete beginner this course was very good in helping me understand the basics and be able to use the language.

By Patricia H

Mar 10, 2018

Provides a clear explanation of OOP and it's implementation in Java, plus a good introduction to the basic data types and how to work with them.

By Ivan T

Feb 19, 2018

Very good course. The time to complete a week is really a week. Enough exercises and full lessons. Very good for anyone who wants to learn java.