Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
5,558 ratings
1,158 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

1001 - 1025 of 1,139 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Ravi S

Sep 10, 2020

Nice one

By NADEEM K

Jul 20, 2020

Usefull

By Ahmed M S

Nov 14, 2017

Thanks

By TouseeqRazzaq

Jan 23, 2016

good 1

By Gurudas P

Aug 17, 2020

great

By SHWETA Y

Aug 03, 2020

great

By Avijit M

Jul 26, 2020

Great

By GOKULAN R

Sep 21, 2020

good

By ANISH K

Sep 18, 2020

nice

By abhishek t

Aug 13, 2020

good

By Pavan k P

Jun 28, 2020

good

By V A

Jun 25, 2020

good

By M P

May 31, 2020

good

By Smitha C

May 18, 2020

good

By Gade H R

Apr 20, 2020

good

By A.V.S.ABHISHEK

Apr 11, 2019

good

By Pritesh P

Oct 16, 2017

nice

By Wan B

Sep 12, 2017

Good

By Vaishnavi

Aug 30, 2020

.

By Seokhyun W

Oct 22, 2020

First off, it was pretty tough to understand the basics of Java at the very beginning; especially about the systematic configuration of Java - i.e. how project structures are built or how to reference packages, classes or how those things are being stacked etc.. That's because everything is given to you without further details (because it works anyhow if you put all the files in your workspace folder) like IDE and some resource files etc. Literally, you have no chance to learn the things I've mentioned here. So I had to take a full course of Java from YouTube. And then it got way more easier for me and from that moment, everything was just a piece of cake.

I completely agree with those of you guys who insist that it's definitely not a beginner's course, it's at least intermediate course. However, if you decide to take this course, don't give up by some tough parts you're facing because it might be much worse in a real class I suppose. Try to give yourself some time to discover more about Java outside of this course. Java is a great language after all, and I kinda understand now why many people love TypeScript. Type safety features are really nice. :)

Overall, it was a decent course to follow along and learn Java. It was pretty tough from the beginning, even though I had some experiece with JS and Python. Good luck with y'all!

By Andrew E

Feb 26, 2018

The course is okay, but I was disappointed with a few aspects. First, the use of BlueJay as the coding environment. Outside of a university, I can't imagine anyone uses this. The rationale may be that it "protects the user from the complexities of IntelliJ or Eclipse", but that is flawed reasoning. Shielding someone from the inevitable is actually unproductive, and so I completed the course in IntelliJ by importing the libraries and it was no more difficult to learn. Second, some of the lessons were very peculiar because they literally taught the wrong idiom. One that leaps to mind had to do with the length of an array, and they produced code like "var < array.length() - 4). You would never write such a thing in the real world. You COULD, but you would not. So I felt that many lessons led future programmers down a path they will have to "unlearn" at some later point in their programming experience.

By Krisztian T

Sep 21, 2018

I really liked their seven step approach which I found useful for finding solution to the problems. I also liked the problems in the excercises, because they are not so detailed so lot of own search is needed, BUT the use of their own libraries make this harder because those are also not widely used in the real world.

What I didn't like is their BlueJ environment, because its much harder to use than Eclipse or Netbeans and even not worth the get experience with because in the real world it just doesn't exists. Fortunately you can set your IDE to be used, there are some tutorials in the forums. The other con is the usage of their own libraries, which were designed to help, but make the tasks even harder to accomplish (there are no stackoverflow or any tutorial related) and makes your progress and the outputs far from reality.

By Amio G C

Aug 27, 2016

This course has very interesting programming examples and the exercises are really challenging. The philosophy of this course is to teach through example problems by explaining and solving them.

The exercises are very well designed and reinforce the concepts very well. But, the later exercises might be a bit hard for an absolute beginner. Nevertheless, once you can successfully solve an exercise set, you can be sure that you have mastered the related concepts.

By the way, this course uses many custom libraries which actually help in writing interesting programs to solve real life problems. The course resource page with detailed documentations is really helpful.

Personally, I enjoyed the course. If you have some basic programming skills and want to solve interesting problems, you should give this course a try.

By Fabricio

Nov 07, 2015

The staff of this course is really nice, that's the best part of it. Unfortunately, in my opinion this course is not intended for real beginners. From class one I struggled trying to understand what was going on. This may be because instead of just using a typical ide like eclipse or netbeans, they use bluejay, which works different than the rest of ides. In addition, programs used in the course are pretty confusing (If you know 0 Java). I learned most of the basic concepts (classes, methods) for whole week 1 from a single 15 minute video-course from youtube without all the struggling. As I mentioned this only applies if you are a total newbie, if you already know some Java I think you'll be fine.

By Vin T

Feb 21, 2019

The course material is, all in all, good. However, I feel some of the latest updates for the JAVA language are not in line with the course material. In short, the content feels a bit outdated. Tutors take long to respond to questions so I would justify that for non-paying users. Finally, the course really challenges you as a beginner and that is good. However, as a paying user, I am expecting to finish each course within the suggested guidelines and not 3 weeks beyond that point. The practice parts for this course take up quite longer than expected. My suggestions will be to update the course material, make the practice parts shorter and get tutors more involved in daily questions.