Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,811 ratings
1,419 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,414 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Shankaranarayanan K R

Sep 4, 2016

More technical aspects could have been touched upon. Details on how to implement code on any java platform using inbuilt java libraries and several others.

By 路明鑫

Oct 31, 2016

There exist some sort of help for solving programming.However, those bad quiz as well as not so comprehensive courses design totally ruin it.

By Asli J

Mar 10, 2020

it is so hard for beginners. and some techniques which i can not understand i took long time for that . but presentation were so good

By Fausto J B

Nov 11, 2021

Some files doesn't have the answers to find, so, my questions are wrong even my code runs 100% and no errors (both runtime and logic)

By karan g

Jul 1, 2020

Still I would it can be framed better for students. Some contents are just made to waste time and the content should be improved.

By Asif K

Jan 22, 2016

I feel like we're left behind by the teachers of this course. The teaching style does not help in getting the right code to work.

By Nirosananthan J

Jul 23, 2020

The course material is good and helpful. But high usage of duke's own library can be discouraging and frustrating at times.

By KARTEESWARAN.N.S.K

May 27, 2020

They are using thier own package functions in the entire course. So please use general packages and solve by using it

By Simadri S B P

Feb 17, 2020

THIS course is using only its own packages and also most of them is not working if we try to do some innovative

By Tobias V D

Aug 8, 2017

I feel it goes to strongly to solving the excercises instead of explaining throughly how things work "below".

By Harshavardhini

May 25, 2020

It's very easy to understand this videos.This is very easy to solve quiz because we had practice exercises

By Mathurshan V

Nov 16, 2015

Good for novice developers trying to learn Java. Not good for experienced developers trying to learn Java.

By Lucian B

Jun 7, 2020

Tests were a bit ambigious (truncate don't round). Videos feel a bit rigid, but the content is there.

By Dennis S

Jan 16, 2021

Java Mastercalss on Udemy is much more practical. I learned much more there than here.

By Sekhar a

Aug 26, 2020

It would be better if they would use java standard packages instead of duke packages.

By Abdelrahman

Jul 26, 2021

The course is good but the problem is Bluej software which is very tedious and old.

By Akash D

Jul 8, 2020

Thank for this course ... I learn File reading & printing, CSV file in this course

By 26 S J

Jan 16, 2021

Course could have been more elaborating, with more basic concepts and theories.

By Chintan V

Oct 27, 2015

Need to show more stuff on Java instead of focusing on using BlueJ and stuff.

By roberto m

Jul 5, 2020

It is not programmed in Java, java libraries are used to solve problems.

By WADDAH R A

Sep 25, 2020

good content but the explanation could have been more simple and easier

By Aarush M

Apr 1, 2020

A good course for beginners, teaching you everything there is to know!

By Rajneesh m

Jul 16, 2020

file resource maximally show can not access data. it so irritating

By Obiomachukwu A C

Feb 12, 2020

The BlueJ compiler is highly problematic but the course was okay.

By Alessandro

Jul 21, 2017

You should have some Java skills before to do this course