Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,619 ratings
1,390 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,386 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Алексей

Sep 16, 2018

Using custom libraries is very bad for students. We must study java core not some custom libraries.

BlueJ also a bad choise, even the notepad or the vim are better for understanding the compilation process. Also there is no peer reviewed assignments.

By Ankit G

Oct 20, 2015

Poor, very poor course, worse course structure. Instructor hasn't put any thoughts in how they should strucutre this course.Cover no basics, assumes lots of thing and term this course as beginner for Java where actually there is no Java taught.

By Amir M O

May 24, 2016

Poorly designed and explained. You do not really gain much knowledge from this course.

I would not recommend my friends and basically others to take this course. There are far better courses out there for much cheaper prices.

By MD. S H S

May 8, 2020

This course is not a beginner course and can't understand what was the course motive to teach a student. For me, it was a total waste of time. Full of disappointment!!!

By Steven B

May 11, 2020

Complete lack of support from instructors. Questions were not clearly answered and only led to more confusion. Instructions for assignments contradictory to lessons.

By John M C

Feb 16, 2020

Really poor job teaching java programming. I'm a beginner at coding at the teachers teaching this course are terrible. I don't want to take this course.

By Gargi K

Jan 29, 2020

The assignments could be a little more well suited to people from varying backgrounds.

The current assignments are a little difficult for beginners.

By Hamel H

Jan 3, 2016

Teaches you Java in a "toy" environment (Blue Jay) would be helpful to learn Java in Eclipse or another IDE that you would normally work in.

By Francois M

Jan 25, 2016

Use very specific environment that cannot be used in practice in the the Real World.

For a much better course, use UC San Diego versions.

By Kartikey p

Jul 13, 2018

Not organised properly. And it is stated that this course is for beginners. But the concepts and their usage is not properly explained.

By Ibrahim H

Oct 26, 2016

Paying for course just to learn how to loop and make if else statements... I don't think this is the best way to learn java!

By MD S H

Sep 6, 2020

VERY POORLY STRUCTURED.ASSIGNMENTS ARE LENGTHY AND TOUGH AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR IT ARE NOT CLEAR

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR BEGINNERS

By Jennifer T

Oct 3, 2019

STRONGLY DISAPPOINTED! VERY CONFUSING! DON'T PAY FOR THIS -- NOT WORTH IT! This class is very poorly designed.

By Alam M

Mar 16, 2020

I don't recommend this course at all. The example and quiz seems tedious. Worst part is using the BlueJ.

By Ryan W

Apr 3, 2016

This course is not suitable for beginners at all, everything basic is skipped. Highly not recommended

By Eiaki M

Feb 18, 2016

The course is too boring, I am not sure if it is because of the language or the lectures.

By Chirag S

May 27, 2020

WHO THE HELL TEACHES STUDENTS TO CODE IN BULEJ. Completely disappointing course.

By Ayush J

May 11, 2020

You should use universal libraries instead of using your own defined libraries.

By Sam H

Sep 10, 2020

Very confusing. Assignments went over concepts explained later in the course.

By Rida I

Aug 21, 2021

Outdated instructions and environment setup. Not beginner friendly.

By SU H

May 20, 2020

Hard to understand the concept, the explaination is so vague.

By Pranav T P

Jun 12, 2020

Old course doesn't work on ubuntu as it needs obsolete JFX

By Abdul H

Sep 14, 2020

The course is really bad for begineers

By Nadeem B

Apr 5, 2020

prograaming enivironment is not gpod

By Sai U S K

Nov 4, 2015

My expectations were different