Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,167 ratings
1,287 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,267 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By juan j m

Jan 28, 2021

Muy buen curso introductorio, te hace evaluar y cuestionar mas tus capacidades para resolver problemas mas cotidianos, excelente curso DUKE University.

By Mustaqim M

May 21, 2020

One of a very few courses that actually deserve a 5 star rating. You have to work through the assignments to pass the course. Really well put together.

By K. S

Dec 14, 2018

This course provides with all intermediate knowledge for a student to learn Java and do some extraordinary work.

I really enjoyed to complete my course.

By Michael R

Nov 20, 2020

Excellent course for beginners, I enjoyed it. Give yourself time to delve into and digest Duke's documentation, but also Oracle's Java documentation.

By Dominique C

Jan 5, 2020

I loved the way you taught this course, very similar to my own approach. Thank you, this was the holiday practice I needed to practice my Java skills.

By Girith C

Jul 21, 2018

Very helpful for beginners. The course especially helped me to adapt to the syntax and the style of language in which programming questions are asked.

By Jen P

Nov 1, 2016

This course was definitely a step up in difficulty from the previous one, but it's at just the right level. The quality of videos has also increased.

By Bartosz S

Apr 11, 2021

In Coursera you can be sure that you will understand how to program in java yourself. After one course, I understood the basic and necessary rules.

By Sanchit K

May 25, 2020

This course have good mentors who give their best for teaching this topic. Excellent work done by the staff by making this wonderful course for us.

By Oleh L

Nov 21, 2020

Good course to continue specialization and in general also. Examples and assignments have interesting practical applications not to be bored with.

By Umar I

Sep 24, 2019

Excellent introduction to Java programming for those that already have a little bit of experience programming in a different programming language.

By Gurunameh S C

Jul 23, 2020

A very good course for beginners with great real life problem solving projects to do with. Will recommend for anybody who wants to start coding.

By Suleman S

Jun 19, 2020

Brilliant Course!

Covers Every thing from Basics to Andvanced Skills. Most Important Course to Learn Programming and Software Development Skills.

By Yuriy Y

Jun 23, 2018

Was a great experience. I was a complete beginner this course was very good in helping me understand the basics and be able to use the language.

By Patricia H

Mar 10, 2018

Provides a clear explanation of OOP and it's implementation in Java, plus a good introduction to the basic data types and how to work with them.

By Ivan T

Feb 19, 2018

Very good course. The time to complete a week is really a week. Enough exercises and full lessons. Very good for anyone who wants to learn java.

By Ugur A

Nov 28, 2020

I really liked this course. Although some background with python helped me, the content is designed just at the right level to be challenging.

By Toussaint W M

Sep 14, 2019

Great Course!!! Very challenging for someone with no coding experience but still doable. An amazing walk through the java programming language.

By Giorgi T

May 31, 2017

Frankly, absolutely fascinating course, with a lot to take away, even for advanced programmers (but is ok for beginner Java developers as well)

By Luis E S B

Jul 13, 2020

The course is excellent. The teachers and the content are also quite good. I only suggest to put more and bigger test cases in the exercises.

By Subhash C

Mar 21, 2020

It was awesome , i was taking so much time to solve quizes bu yes finally i did it . Thankyou so much quora for providing an amazing course .

By Ajayi o

Nov 25, 2018

Very Intensive course and well tutored i really recommend this for those who are looking to develop their skills on JAVA it is indeed helpful

By Nikhil V

Jul 20, 2020

The course was good. This course give me a confidence so that i can apply my java skills gained in this course to solve real world problems.

By Luiz F d A M

Aug 30, 2020

Great course with various challenges and a fast introduction to the basics of Java, a most useful language and entrance door to many others

By KOUTILYA B

Jul 19, 2020

In the middle, it seemed hard as I was not able to debug one of my programs but this course is great at it covers a wide variety of topics.