Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,692 ratings
1,401 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,394 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Pranav L

Jul 19, 2020

Fantastic Course. Cleared Most of my Concepts and I also many of the new concepts and methods of object-oriented programming in java

By Peng Y

Aug 7, 2016

I join this course without no java programming experience. This course is really helpful and also challenging. It is worth the time.

By abdelrahman M

May 11, 2021

Amazing course , tho i had to use Github to get some codes . but i learnt alot and understood more about problem solving and coding

By Vamshi D

Mar 29, 2020

The course has explained everything from the scratch and the practise assignments are enough for what we learn through the course.

By Digvijay K

Jan 23, 2020

Nice course, but library that we are practicing is of duke and I'm not sure how can we use that in our project.

Is it open source.?

By Anant S

Jan 16, 2020

Simply amazing course cleared my many doubts and i guess helped me building my main foundation which is required for programming.

By Frank S

Dec 11, 2017

Great course with challenging assignments. If you want learn Java seriously, you may consider take this one. Strongly recommend.

By Yiran Z

Jun 24, 2017

Great course, walk through several examples and let you work with some real tasks on your own. Learned a lot as a Java beginner.

By Paul H

Feb 13, 2016

Another great selection of topics and problems. I enjoyed this course. Very good balance in terms of concepts and test problems.

By AMAN R

Nov 7, 2020

This coures really helped me a lot in learning and applying java funamentals. It is a must do course for every Java enthusiast.

By Mihai D

Jul 22, 2020

Great course for Java beginners, excellent for understanding all you need to know. The assignments are well done and engaging.

By Oussama D

May 31, 2020

trés belle expérience avec beaucoup des informations bien expliqué par les profs et bien détailler grand merci pour les profs

By MOHAMMAD H

Jan 18, 2020

very useful course and have so many examples and practices, I advice every one want to start coding with java to enroll in it

By Walter J

Dec 29, 2020

Exactly what I was looking for. Not too easy and not too hard. Perfect amount of code repetition to solidify in my memory.

By Nireeksha P

May 5, 2021

The Video Lectures are having highly skilled instructors who guide us in understanding the subject and

solve the assignments

By Taofeek O H

Apr 15, 2021

The classes and the assignment are in tandem, you cannot pass quiz if you have not done the assignments. That's very great.

By gwuiin K

Dec 8, 2019

This is a good course for getting started with java programming. Especially, seven steps of problem solving is very useful.

By Roy W

May 5, 2019

very informative and well explained. I liked that they use real life examples to introduce you to a subject. Big thumbs up!

By Adriana S

Oct 25, 2017

Learned a lot! The time it took me to complete the projects was a lot longer than 10 minutes, but the result was worth it.

By Peter T

Oct 17, 2016

Great introduction to Java, the BlueJ environment makes it much easier to pick up the language with a smaller feature set.

By María V D

Aug 28, 2016

The teachers are great, I love this courses and the method for the students.

Very Challenging, enjoy it!!

A great experience

By Ossama I

Jan 7, 2020

Great course with informative content.Thanks Duke University for this course and thanks coursera for the ease of studying

By Sijia Z

Dec 29, 2019

it is friendly for people who have a litter base. I finish it in 2 weeks, not including weekends. I study 4hours a day.

By Yae J P

Dec 17, 2016

Great to learn basic concepts! However, it seemed like there were errors in the last quiz for the first two questions.

By ÖZCAN E

Nov 24, 2020

This course is really great for understanding how to solve a problem in your code and it improves your coding skills.