Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
5,708 ratings
1,194 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
Oct 15, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 1,176 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Mauricio Z

Jun 27, 2020

I think it is an excellent course but I also think it is a bad thing to force the student to work under a single Duke library. In real life you can always work with several libraries, so that's why I give them 4 stars

By Krishna K

Jun 14, 2019

Pretty basic course if you have done any programming. It is pretty well designed. I don't recommend programming in bluej if you done some programming before. The environment is pain to use. Text editors all the way!!

By Vineel B

Aug 31, 2020

Good course for those who are looking to learn Java programming, especially beginners. I like the programming exercises and quizzes, which test you rigorously and help you get a good grasp of the things learnt.

By Ahmed Y

Feb 25, 2017

The course is well prepared and paced. It's a problem based learning course. It will teach you how to target various range of problems appropriately. Some lessons and exercises however needed longer time frame.

By Tim A

Dec 6, 2015

A good intro into Java. As this is Part 2 of the Specialization, I would have liked to have seen a greater introduction into more of Java's collections than just String manipulation and CSV using an apache lib.

By catalina

Jul 19, 2020

https://www.coursera.org/learn/java-programming/discussions/weeks/4/threads/FM7vypuREem-WQqatfIoeA

I've bump into the same problem as described in the link above. I think this could have been better described.

By Yi-Chia C

Feb 11, 2016

Great opportunity to learn java and put it into use to solve the real world problems. But it's a little hard for people who haven't learned java at all, but only learned C#.(object-oriented programming).

By MAYUKH S

Jun 9, 2020

I found it easy because I had some previous experience in java. But in some parts the things were not explained properly. That may cause problem to people who are new. Over all Good experience.

By João T

Feb 26, 2019

A basic practice approach for solving problems with a 7step formula for any kind of problem set, for any kind of programming language you use. A very basic approach to JAVA syntax and semantics.

By Jeongryul K

Sep 2, 2018

The Assignment explanations are little bit tricky. However, I love the professor's explanation, and I learned a lot about Java Programming. I really appreciate to learn from very nice professor.

By Weiqi Y

Aug 23, 2017

definitely not for beginners with 0 background. But it was just good on me. (make sure you know something about any kind of programming language first, or this course could be challenging )

By Michael V

May 13, 2020

Instructors are very clear & examples are helpful. The example data for assignments sometimes did not match the assignment examples. This is a good introductory course for Java programmers.

By Federico C

Dec 12, 2018

The course and the instructors are very good, especially for people who have a minimum experience in programing. Consulting other resources (e.g. the Oracle Java Tutorial) might be useful.

By Aistis R

Oct 22, 2015

Thank you for the course, the only improvement i could think of is to improve contents for non English speaking people. E.g. You say decimal places, we say numbers after comma.

Thank you!

By Kailash B

May 6, 2020

Java programming course was great , I really Liked it but one thing I don't understand is why BlueJ software ? why not any other IDE such as esclipse ? beside it was really Helpful : )

By Jean O

Mar 20, 2019

Great course. coming back to review this as it has made great impact on my everyday coding. Been a while since i completed it but it is arguably some of the best content on JAVA.

By Surajit B

Aug 6, 2020

Got a good learning experience from coursera. The best expeience what i got after completing the course that is the challenging part of the excersises..thanks to the professors.

By Ankur

Jul 2, 2020

this course is not enough for programmers but all teachers are good but Miss Susan H. Rodger is not explain properly but overall this is good for me ...Thanks Duke@Coursera

By Yanislav Y

Nov 1, 2020

I successfully finished my course, but i have a problem with my certificate. The name of the university is just missing. I will be gratefull, if you could fix the problem.

By Aditya B C

Jul 10, 2020

The overall course is very good. I face only problem in second week. last problem (Part 4) which I feel difficult because no any explanation is given about that problem.

By Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

By akash v m

Apr 13, 2020

Great experience!

During the course session i have gain lots of knowledge about debugging as well as improving the skills to learn more details in terms of CSV ,etc..

By Sumit K

Jun 2, 2020

There was some technical problems during the examinations..!! But overall helped me alot :)

Thanks to all the team members its been an honor to learn from ya'll . :)

By Kaido K

Sep 24, 2020

I understand that repeating is mother of knowledge, but maybe there was too much repeting in the quizes. Basically everything, at the end was loopig over the files.

By Sachin

Mar 14, 2017

Very good videos .. assignments were tough and few were confusing especially in strings .. I was challenged and got through the quiz with 100% which was satisfying