Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,805 ratings
1,419 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,413 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Surajit B

Aug 6, 2020

Got a good learning experience from coursera. The best expeience what i got after completing the course that is the challenging part of the excersises..thanks to the professors.

By Ankur

Jul 2, 2020

this course is not enough for programmers but all teachers are good but Miss Susan H. Rodger is not explain properly but overall this is good for me ...Thanks Duke@Coursera

By Yanislav Y

Nov 1, 2020

I successfully finished my course, but i have a problem with my certificate. The name of the university is just missing. I will be gratefull, if you could fix the problem.

By Aditya B C

Jul 10, 2020

The overall course is very good. I face only problem in second week. last problem (Part 4) which I feel difficult because no any explanation is given about that problem.

By Pawel D

Nov 13, 2015

Interesting, but some assignments needs to be double checked. In my opinion some of the presented material is teaching poor coding practices for the sake of simplicity.

By akash v m

Apr 13, 2020

Great experience!

During the course session i have gain lots of knowledge about debugging as well as improving the skills to learn more details in terms of CSV ,etc..

By Sumit K

Jun 2, 2020

There was some technical problems during the examinations..!! But overall helped me alot :)

Thanks to all the team members its been an honor to learn from ya'll . :)

By Kaido K

Sep 24, 2020

I understand that repeating is mother of knowledge, but maybe there was too much repeting in the quizes. Basically everything, at the end was loopig over the files.

By Sachin k

Mar 14, 2017

Very good videos .. assignments were tough and few were confusing especially in strings .. I was challenged and got through the quiz with 100% which was satisfying

By Christopher D

Mar 4, 2020

The course provided a well paced and logic approach to introducing progressively more complex problems. I look forward to the new course in the specialisation.

By David S

Dec 18, 2015

In general a well made course. However, I do not yet see the advantage of using BlueJ over e.g. Eclipse, as most people won't work with BlueJ after the course

By Vijayalakshmi R

Dec 26, 2019

I like the way this course explained the building of logic from algorith,.But i didn't like week1's quz about geometry.Because i am not the fan of Geometry.

By WenHao Y

Nov 2, 2017

I have no prior programming experience beside the 1st course of this specialisation. It can be quite challenging at times but it's not impossible to finish.

By Umeshkumar S

May 28, 2020

It's very interesting courses are available in this platform. I am very your expert for his solving skills and mediation in program solving. Thank You...

By Douglas B

Feb 9, 2018

Helpful in learning the basics of Java strings, classes, data types, etc. Semi-interesting projects and assignments and quizzes that test your code well.

By Ashish S

Jan 6, 2016

Love the course structure, very simple. Teachers start with simple concepts and eventually solve real life problems, which sound very complex otherwise.

By Egi F R

Jun 22, 2021

The quiz is hard. and need more time to understand it. for improvement maybe need a more guidance for us to know what the step of finishing the quiz

By Mona A

Jun 10, 2020

well it was a good course the only problem was this Bluej it didn't work on my linux i hope in the future you'll replace it for a better experience

By Shafiq I

Apr 24, 2020

A very well curated course with challenging assignments (I had a hard time completing them though), but learnt the basic well. Enjoyed throughout.

By Mujtaba Z

Oct 28, 2020

Some coursework had vague or confusing descriptions for methods. A lot of methods were also quite similar to others, leading to repetitive code.

By Ayyakutti A

Dec 10, 2017

Good flow, but the supporting document reference are very poor. Very hard to follow. Keep simple English difficult to understand in many Quiz.

By Tyler B

Aug 23, 2017

Week 2 is rough, quite frankly it's just a poorly implemented mess of frustration, but if you stick with it the second half is really solid.

By KABWE L A

Dec 22, 2017

Maybe, you should let us manipulate more the file, because the dukes library is doing much. But, in general this cours was interesting !!!

By Vivek K

Sep 7, 2019

It is good for beginner.It's provide me lot of basic knowledge of String.I have enjoyed too much.

Last week of work was so interesting .

By Musa M N

Dec 24, 2016

Incredibly comprehensive learning package which makes learning and skills acquisition easier. Kudos to the creators and instructors