Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,035 ratings
1,266 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,246 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Md. A

May 15, 2020

The course is good for software engineers to learn how to program and solve real world problems using Java. The practical exercises are good for hands on learning. My only complains is about the IDE used for development. BlueJ, it has no Intellisense or auto completion support which is necessary for faster coding.

By Joseph H T

Nov 17, 2020

Wow! Manipulating real life data is such a great programming experience. Thank you Duke University and to all the professors here for introducing me this course Java programming: Solving Problems with Software from the Specialization of OOP. I am looking forward to enhance my skills for Java programming.

By Hans E G

Oct 5, 2017

A well taught course, the videos are great, but some assignments take way more time to complete than the 10 minutes assigned to it. Some of the steps in the assignments may be misinterpreted or just aren't specific enough. I found the gray scale assignment to be most enjoyable and fun to write and test.

By Khaidem S S

Oct 17, 2018

Great course for a low price but the contents of the course can be improved by giving more examples as the software we used here is a bit duke university software. I am surprised that I had to use duke university libraries which gave me a bit of discomfort since I was used to the open source libraries.

By Alisa F

Feb 9, 2020

The course is great and really makes you think. The only negative side of it is that the programming environment is confusing and not the type I am used to. I think that other environments like Eclipse are better for beginners and really self-explanatory, but that is just my opinion. Great experience!

By Ahmed M A

Jun 30, 2020

I came here after finishing the "Python for every body Specialization", Still this was a challenging course. You will need to read the documentation A LOT.

My advice is to never come here if this is your first programming language. Learn something easier or join an easier course then come back here.

By Vaibhav S

Jul 5, 2019

This course helped me in gaining some really valuable and essential programming skills that are very essential for an industry ready software engineer. I'm deeply thankful to Coursera and Duke University Professors, who have devoted significant time and resources in creating this awesome content.

By Ritesh K

Jun 7, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Week 2 was the most onerous week, and there were moments that I felt I would not be able to complete this in a timely manner. It would help to know which week is the most arduous so one can pace themselves better. Great material though, and look forward to more!

By Georgijs N

Sep 1, 2020

Good course, really liked it. It gives you a good understanding of Java. Almost all assignments questions are practice exercises which is very good and they are interesting to do. I have used Visual Studio Code instead of BlueJ so it took some effort to make everything work as it should.

By MADHUSUDHAN D

May 26, 2019

it could not be more great!!!. it totally wonderful how they teach things in simpler forum and they make you enough capable to solve all assignments on your own. forum is so useful during throughout this course. every query of yours get solve there. Simply amazed thnku so much coursera.

By Dinesh P

Dec 7, 2020

This course has really made me to brush up my java skills which were not being used for sometime. I thoroughly enjoyed finding solutions to the assignments. It was really great experience to think of the logic for solving each questions and writing my own code to get the solutions.

By Hariharan K

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent teachers who teach each and every concept in a easy to understand matter. The practice challenges and quizzes were prepared in such a manner that the candidate's understanding is tested. I would highly recommend this course for both beginners and intermediate learners.

By Mohamed E G

Sep 11, 2016

this is the best course i have ever took on programming, it's prepare students to solve problems using any programming language.

thanks for the professors at duke for crafting this course, great tutorials, quizzes

it's really better than the first course in this specialization

By Ying B

Dec 8, 2018

I love this subject because it is all about practice!! It led me in steady steps to build programs, algorithms and small projects from scratch. By making mistakes in these real problems, I learned faster than before when I relied on simply reading books about Java by myself.

By Anant S

May 22, 2020

For anyone who wants to be a software engineer. This is the first step or course one should take. Good Course with excellent professors and learning material. The assignments were easy but very helpful in understanding how computer code helps in solving real world problems.

By Iman R M

Aug 29, 2017

The course get you further to understand programming concepts. It was well organized and programming assignments were very beneficial to make you get the explained ideas. It's suitable for someone wants to learn programming concepts even with previous coding experience.

By Aiswarya V

Jul 11, 2019

I have started with basics of java programming but now i have gained more skills and get used to work with csv files , image files and learned using resource classes.. I strongly recommend this course to people who are willing to learn applications of java programming.

By Adam A

Apr 15, 2020

I think this was a great class. All the instructors were great, and the code was presented clearly. I like how the code the instructors wrote was written in real time, and it was helpful when they made mistakes so as the student, I can see what were common errors.

By Camille C

Sep 23, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Everything is well explained and there are plenty of exercises to practice as you go along. Personally, it made me work a little every day, which allowed me to practice Java and learn more easily. Thanks to the Duke University team.

By Nathan T

Dec 21, 2018

This was my first foray into Java and made for a hard start, but the feeling of competence I now possess in the language made it all worth while. The only thing to know beforehand is that you will have to rely mostly on peer mentoring when stuck with a problem.

By John O O

Nov 2, 2018

A lot of exersing in this course! Recommended for those who want to achieve a better coding experience with Java... It also gives the opportunity to enhance computational thinking, discover best coding practices, useful and outstanding libraries and mucho more!

By Yiran W

Oct 26, 2017

This course is wonderful for building familiarity with Java programming. It is a quite difficult class relatively to how much time I expected to put into it. Most of the exercises that marked "10 min" took me close to 10 hours. So be ready for some frustration.

By Saransh K

May 11, 2020

This course helps me a lot in understanding basic concepts like Java String Class. Through this course I learn how to debug a program, how can we reuse a piece of code, Algorithm Design, Seven Steps to solve a Problem which helps me a lot in solving problems.

By Çağrı K

Feb 19, 2020

The videos were very efficient and they were well-organized. The methods were presented easily and understandably. I learned many things from the duke library and the reading parts. Thanks a lot for the course and the opportunities which this course provided.

By MOHAMED A K J

Jul 23, 2020

Programming Exercise problems gives real time coding experience. Hats off to the instructors for designing the programming exercise problems which gives more insight into deep coding practice. I strongly recommend this course for Java Programming learners