Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
6,171 ratings
1,288 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

AS
Dec 10, 2020

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,267 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Diego S d B

Dec 5, 2020

Excellent first course on Java. I had previous experience with programming before (Python), so it wasn't super difficult. It was just a matter or putting in the time to finish the assignments and learn the different syntax.

By Thanh T N

Nov 7, 2020

Thank you all the lectures and coursera team for creating this course. This is the second time I participate in the online course. I have to say that this course is amazing. I have learnt so much about software programming.

By Nurillo A

Jan 17, 2021

This course helped to analyze my gained knowledge and helps me advance my skills in Java

programming language. I am so grateful from Professors at Duke University for

making the course so rich in information and resources.

By Adil A

Oct 9, 2016

It's a very nice course. The exercises selected were fun to work with and quite interesting. The lectures were quite clear and the material was well-elaborated. The assignments are quite interesting and fun to work with.

By Klaudiusz J

Oct 21, 2018

Very well structured. I have learnt a lot with real-world implementation of the tasks which I very much appreciate. I will definitely continue the specialization. Thank you for the opportunity to undertake this course.

By Shayan A B

Jun 7, 2016

It definitely was a bit hard but the real-time applications that Duke University always uses to elaborate programming applications stole the show. The CSV File access and DNA data processing via Java was a fun to learn

By Promise B I

Aug 30, 2020

Such a good and wonderful course! , This course help me understand the basic ways and steps to solve problem using java, including the fundamental approach to program debugging. The tutors are good and knowledgeable.

By Hao X

May 19, 2019

This is a good course for introductory Java Programming. I just think the learning curve is kind of steep in the first week. The following weeks get easier as long as you grasp the new concepts and templates in OOP.

By Abhishek J

Apr 25, 2017

The course is really well structured. Use of iterables was a really good concept that I was not using much before in terms of having new iterables etc.

I would have really liked if you included arrays in this course.

By Jianxu S

Dec 27, 2019

Excellent first class for Java! This course teaches not only basic Java concepts but also how to solve problems. We learn techniques that we can apply in real world. Instructors of this course did a fantastic job!

By Flávio R C

Sep 16, 2020

Excellent content and instructors were all great explaining the content.

Amazing!!

Thank you to Coursera and to Duke University for the opportunity of learning Java aspects with so great people.

Grateful,

Flávio Costa

By Mirché R

Jan 7, 2020

Excellent content and resources.

I appreciate teacher's pedagogy (but miss the final joke in this one :-P ).

I recommend change the IDE in order to provide a better environment (mostly for debug and run purposes)

By Manish K

Jul 28, 2020

Really an awesome course, the assignments designed in the course are at very good level !!

They really took a lot of time for me to get them done.....but all the time I gave to the assignments is really worth it.

By RAVILLA M S K

May 28, 2020

Solving Problems with software course helped me to think logically. Mainly in my case, to think about different test cases of problem and to check my code with short test cases before going into large test cases

By Sruti R

Feb 19, 2019

Great introductory course. I was new to Java before taking this course, I feel much more confident in tackling more in depth topics in Java and object oriented programming in later courses in the specialization.

By ANDR�S F R P

Dec 12, 2020

A great course. The videos are had concise and practical explanations but also tackle computing fundamentals. The tasks are exellent becuse encorage one to figure out the solotion considering our own criteria.

By Filipe A C S A

Jun 4, 2020

A great introduction to algorithmic thinking and Java programming. The assignments are well designed and the video lectures are interesting. Recommended for those who are just getting started with programming.

By Eileen A

Jan 18, 2021

One of the most challenging, but yet fulfilling programming courses I've taken so far. Thank you to the team for all your work in putting this course together. Inputs in discussion forums were a great help.

By Souparna C

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent course...Lets you hold your interest till end...Exellent project resources...It's my 1st course in the specialization and my dream is to complete them all...Thank You Professors and Coursera Team!

By Mohammed A

Apr 1, 2020

A wonederful course, with high quality contents. Learning throw real life problems makes the course interesting and engaging. congrat for all contributor in this work, especially, the four nice teachers. :)

By Marina

Sep 8, 2016

Like the first course of this specialization this course is really great! The explanations are simple and precise. And the programming assignments are really exciting! Perfect to start your journey in Java.

By Brendan M

Jul 29, 2018

Absolutely fantastic! I learned plenty. Nothing taught in this course was too difficult to learn. The quizzes are challenging, but manageable. This is a wonderful course and a wonderful specialization.

By Aaron M

May 1, 2018

Excellent introduction to Java.

A little heads up if you're taking the course:

Answers need to be truncated to x decimal places in quizzes, not rounded. (Instructors please clarify this in all quizzes!)

By HENRY A M P

Aug 7, 2020

Excellent course. Teachers explain the topics in detail. The Java programming language is used to solve real-life problems. Thanks for teaching the 7 steps necessary to solve everyday problems!

By Raja k

Jun 22, 2020

That's really terrific time to spend on such precious acquisition, i adore the entire session which waded through this journey.

Thanks to all the faculty member for such incredible sharing.