Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
5,745 ratings
1,200 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
Oct 15, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,181 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Sruti R

Feb 19, 2019

Great introductory course. I was new to Java before taking this course, I feel much more confident in tackling more in depth topics in Java and object oriented programming in later courses in the specialization.

By Filipe A C S A

Jun 4, 2020

A great introduction to algorithmic thinking and Java programming. The assignments are well designed and the video lectures are interesting. Recommended for those who are just getting started with programming.

By Souparna C

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent course...Lets you hold your interest till end...Exellent project resources...It's my 1st course in the specialization and my dream is to complete them all...Thank You Professors and Coursera Team!

By Mohammed A

Apr 1, 2020

A wonederful course, with high quality contents. Learning throw real life problems makes the course interesting and engaging. congrat for all contributor in this work, especially, the four nice teachers. :)

By Marina

Sep 8, 2016

Like the first course of this specialization this course is really great! The explanations are simple and precise. And the programming assignments are really exciting! Perfect to start your journey in Java.

By Brendan M

Jul 29, 2018

Absolutely fantastic! I learned plenty. Nothing taught in this course was too difficult to learn. The quizzes are challenging, but manageable. This is a wonderful course and a wonderful specialization.

By Aaron M

May 1, 2018

Excellent introduction to Java.

A little heads up if you're taking the course:

Answers need to be truncated to x decimal places in quizzes, not rounded. (Instructors please clarify this in all quizzes!)

By HENRY A M P

Aug 7, 2020

Excellent course. Teachers explain the topics in detail. The Java programming language is used to solve real-life problems. Thanks for teaching the 7 steps necessary to solve everyday problems!

By Raja k

Jun 22, 2020

That's really terrific time to spend on such precious acquisition, i adore the entire session which waded through this journey.

Thanks to all the faculty member for such incredible sharing.

By kushagra A

Nov 9, 2018

Being new to programming, this course was challenging, but it was well designed course and helped me with reasoning and gaining confidence with handling Methods and Loops and conditionals.

By Suparna D

Feb 8, 2019

Excellent course as the Instructors teach building algorithm and then coding it line by line. I highly recommend taking this course as it helps you moving one step ahead in learning Java.

By Ezra L

Nov 21, 2020

Really enjoyed this course. Learned a lot. Only pulled my hair out in a few sections. I feel more confident in my coding and the understanding of how the programs created read the code.

By Cheng-shuo Y

Aug 28, 2020

Really great course! it is my first time to learn Java, though there are so many assignments, I do enjoy the course. Thanks a lot to professors and assistants involved in these courses.

By Swarna S

Jun 25, 2020

An amazing course for absolute beginners. Hats off to all the professors and the Coursera team for giving me this wonderful opportunity to study Java. The "Java Cookies" were amazing !!

By Goodwill T K

Nov 30, 2019

Very interesting but only requires careful reading of questions and application to the code.

Was thinking user interfaces would have worked better than changing code manually/ by hand

By Silman S

Jan 27, 2018

Great course, absolutely; instructors know what they are talking about, and more over offer to students excellent tools to learn, process and apply the concepts covered in this class.

By TEKULA N R

Jun 21, 2020

This course was really satisfactory and the instructors of this course were really awesome in their way of teaching and their way of making the concept understandable to the viewers

By Fred C

Aug 19, 2020

The exercises in the course were challenging and comprehensive.

It is important to complete all of the programming exercises and the honor section of the course for maximum benefit.

By Aakash C

Sep 17, 2020

Great course for beginners to boost their confidence in programming. It also teaches you how to read documentation of external libraries.

Thank you Duke University for this course.

By Nenad N

Dec 1, 2018

Awesome. Things are explained clearly, and the best thing is that you are required to 'get your hands dirty' with the code, in order to do the assignments. Well designed course

By Thales d O B

Jul 11, 2020

I did have some experience as a programmer before taking this course, but even so it helped me a lot to grow as a programmer and write better code. It's really worth a while.

By Minghao Z

Nov 3, 2016

It's a terrific course, the final project is very challenging. It would be better if questions in discussion forums can be replied more timely. I highly recommend this course!

By Muhammad A J

Jul 23, 2019

After taking this course for the first time I felt that what I teach to my students is not enough.The teaching style, course contents and tasks should be like in this course.

By Grace Z

Aug 2, 2017

The instructors are great! The lecture videos are engaging and exercises are really helpful. It would be even better if more sample codes for the exercises could be provided.

By Amogh G

Mar 19, 2020

It is really useful and the course teaches all the aspects in java coding and they make sure you get all the aspects but it is very effective and real. I enjoyed learning it