Chevron Left
Back to Interactivity with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Interactivity with JavaScript by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
7,021 ratings

About the Course

If you want to take your website to the next level, the ability to incorporate interactivity is a must. But adding some of these types of capabilities requires a stronger programming language than HTML5 or CSS3, and JavaScript can provide just what you need. With just a basic understanding of the language, you can create a page that will react to common events such as page loads, mouse clicks & movements, and even keyboard input. This course will introduce you to the basics of the JavaScript language. We will cover concepts such as variables, looping, functions, and even a little bit about debugging tools. You will understand how the Document Object Model (DOM) is used by JavaScript to identify and modify specific parts of your page. After the course, learners will be able to react to DOM Events and dynamically alter the contents and style of their page. The class will culminate in a final project - the creation of an interactive HTML5 form that accepts and verifies input. This is the third course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. A basic understanding of HTML and CSS is expected when you enroll in this class. Additional courses focus on enhancing the styling with responsive design and completing a capstone project....

Top reviews

LC

Mar 15, 2016

An excellent course, my JavaScript has improved greatly since I completed the requirements. Colleen is a fantastic teacher, I found the lectures to be highly informative and the assignments good fun.

MM

Feb 6, 2016

I was glad to find a course that focused simply on the basics of Javascript. So many courses cover the three HTML, CSS, and JS, but don't give enough to really start working with Javascrip.

Thanks

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,401 Reviews for Interactivity with JavaScript

By Vinita Y

May 16, 2020

I have never seen such a good professor, I already took one java script course before this but did not understood anything but Prof. Collen was really good at conveying lectures and it helped me learn a lot.

By Alex K A D

Aug 14, 2020

This is my 3rd Course taken with Collen Van Lent, I must say she is one of the best Lectures, who make understanding things easier and always go straight to the point. I will always take more of her course.

By Dil M

Jun 20, 2020

A great course and a great online experience with the instructors. Enjoyed learning and enjoyed the way they teach us. They teach us different things really well and their use on different things. Thanks

By Nancy G C

Aug 11, 2016

Definitely the best way to introduce someone in JavaScript. Its really explained in a very easy and clear way. After this course you are prepared to go to further challenges. I strongly recommend it!

By M A

Sep 27, 2020

Great course to learn adding interactivity to your web page. I recommend before this course to take HTML and CSS courses by Colleen van Lent. Special thanks to; Colleen van Lent and Coursera...

By Shashi K P

Aug 25, 2016

The teaching of the professor Colleen is wonderful and very interactive . Troy (teaching staff) is also very supportive .In short a very good course for interactive learning of Java script :)

By (Shawn) X L

Feb 9, 2018

Great class. I recommend anyone who are interested in coding to take this course. It can help you understand what is JavaScript and understand what is going on in the coding language world.

By Nguyen M H

Feb 25, 2020

For those interested in getting started with JavaScript professionally, it's an excellent option. It gives me the knowledge and expertise in JavaScript to start working on my JS projects.

By Barbara F

Feb 18, 2017

Very good course! I highly recommend to anyone. The professor is very competent and no only teaches the concepts, but also the best practices, always explaining everything very clearly.

By Faoud M

Dec 31, 2015

One of the best courses in learning JavaScript for a beginner or for someone needing a refresher in JS. The lecturer is engaging and clearly explains every concept as lucid as possible.

By Divyateja C

Aug 7, 2018

A very good course which covers all the basics on JS. Best for those who are new to JS. Assignments could be more in number as practice often makes our understanding of concepts solid.

By Alena B

Jul 28, 2017

It's a great course to begin understand JavaScript. It gives you needed basics of JS. And Colleen van Lent is excellent teacher, she helps you in this journey called "coding with JS".

By Robin L A

Oct 12, 2016

I have sampled many of the courses here and on other platforms related to javascript and interactivity and found that this series helped me to put together the disparate experiences.

By Diana

Jan 27, 2021

Great course. It has a lot of theory that may get you confused at the beginning but then you finally understand the need to have a strong base of knowledge in order to move further.

By Shaurabh T

Jul 27, 2020

Just a perfect course for a beginner. The course introduces most the basic concepts. But if someone wants to gain deep knowledge of javascript then this course is a very bad choice.

By Md N S B B

Feb 24, 2021

I really like the structure of the course. All the things are excellently implemented. The fundamentals are fully explained by the instructors. Keep it up with this sort of course.

By priya c

Apr 12, 2018

Good course to start your journey with JavaScript,but if you wanted to dive deeper into JavaScript,you will need to explore more concepts apart from what is shown in Video lectures

By Le A

Aug 23, 2017

Colleen Van Lent is very Good at making Her Lessons sensible and understandable. I'm glad that She's designed courses that have been so well Catered to Programmers such as Myself

By Mehmet S Ö

Mar 22, 2021

Colleen is such a charming and knowledgable instructor. Even if you already learned some JavaScript and HTML/CSS there is still something you can learn from this specialization.

By Roberto C

Jun 4, 2016

The course is well explained and he gives a clear understanding of JavaScript fundamentals, I hope there will be further and more complex JavaScript courses from these teacher.

By Iani B

May 26, 2020

This course introduces you to the basics of JavaScript, prior HTML and CSS knowledge are necessary.

After completing this course you will officially be a JavaScript "noob" :)

By Roger B

Jun 1, 2017

I really appreciated this specialization on Web design, especially Interactivity with JavaScript. I had the impression of becoming a real professional. I recommend it highly.

By Oluwabunmi M A

Jan 18, 2016

Really good course just like all the previous courses in the specialisation. The professor took time to explain and introduce important concepts in JavaScript programming.

By ANASTASIOS G

May 6, 2020

This is a great course for people who want to get started with JavaScript! I would definitely suggest it ! The course teaches you the basics and the videos are great!

By Leul M

Oct 12, 2019

I have studied javascript for over a year now and this was an amazing refresher on my skills. After this I feel confident enough to dive into a javascript framework.