Chevron Left
Back to Interactivity with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Interactivity with JavaScript by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
7,007 ratings

About the Course

If you want to take your website to the next level, the ability to incorporate interactivity is a must. But adding some of these types of capabilities requires a stronger programming language than HTML5 or CSS3, and JavaScript can provide just what you need. With just a basic understanding of the language, you can create a page that will react to common events such as page loads, mouse clicks & movements, and even keyboard input. This course will introduce you to the basics of the JavaScript language. We will cover concepts such as variables, looping, functions, and even a little bit about debugging tools. You will understand how the Document Object Model (DOM) is used by JavaScript to identify and modify specific parts of your page. After the course, learners will be able to react to DOM Events and dynamically alter the contents and style of their page. The class will culminate in a final project - the creation of an interactive HTML5 form that accepts and verifies input. This is the third course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. A basic understanding of HTML and CSS is expected when you enroll in this class. Additional courses focus on enhancing the styling with responsive design and completing a capstone project....

Top reviews

LC

Mar 15, 2016

An excellent course, my JavaScript has improved greatly since I completed the requirements. Colleen is a fantastic teacher, I found the lectures to be highly informative and the assignments good fun.

MM

Feb 6, 2016

I was glad to find a course that focused simply on the basics of Javascript. So many courses cover the three HTML, CSS, and JS, but don't give enough to really start working with Javascrip.

Thanks

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,397 Reviews for Interactivity with JavaScript

By MUHAMMAD N

Jun 17, 2021

VERY INFORMATIVE AND CLEAR BASIC CONCEPT OF JAVASCRIPT.THANKS FOR PROVIDING THIS KIND OF KNOWLEDGE AND TRAINER. COLLEEN IS VERY GOOD TRAINER.

By Cheryl A T

Feb 9, 2020

Glad the instructor stresses the power of practice and that if not making mistakes then not coding.

Helps to be reminded this is the process.

By Shekhar P

Feb 16, 2016

Professor teaching way is very awesome and she always giving example of every step and also course material is good which easy to understand.

By Venkata L M

Oct 16, 2020

Great way of explanation of how to use JavaScript to make a very wonderful and best interactive experience for the users viewing webpages.

By Abdullah

Aug 7, 2022

Very good course. Learned alot. It is a good course for the beginners. I recommend this course for all who want to learn web devalopment.

By Nitesh A

Jun 12, 2020

Thanks for this course, although its outdated now (2020) but it provided basics of JS.

Please update this course if possible

Thanks Colleen

By Strahinja B

May 12, 2019

Awesome course that i definitely recommend, it has some cool challenges on the road, it makes you prepared for the challenges to come :)

By Joceir C

May 16, 2016

I realy enjoyed this course, I just learned great functinalyties from Java Script and Collen was a very good instructor in your classes!

By Yabo L

Mar 10, 2016

so far as good as previous courses in this specialization. Course materials are pretty easy to follow and course load is very balanced.

By Alexandre A

Jan 14, 2016

Good course. It an introduction to CSS because this language has a lot of things to study. But for begginer's is excelent opportunity.

By Haytham D

Nov 23, 2020

I will thank university of Michigan for this excellent course, and PhD Colleen for her special teaching skills. thank you very much.

By Iffat A

Aug 20, 2020

awesome course , not only i get the basic concepts of loop, condition,variable in new light it was easier to grasp than ever before.

By Sayak M

Aug 6, 2020

Your way of teaching is amazing. This course helped me in understanding the fundamentals of javascript with ease. Thank you so much.

By Petrov A Y

May 12, 2017

Again it is a perfect course by Colleen. There is great number of useful examples. I recomend to begin studying JS from this course.

By Sriram S

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course video, lecture, mentor, slides, notes, assessments, peer review so on. Overall great course, wonderful lecturer...

By Hemanth S N

Sep 18, 2016

The course was designed to teach all the essential fundamentals of javascript in a very easy way and this course has benefited me.

By Elizabeth F

Nov 15, 2021

Started out thinking this class was waaay to much to absorb. Ended up loving cracking codes and solving problems! Give me more!

By bokhit a h

Jul 20, 2017

thank you colleen van and coursera community for this helpful course which can help me to achieve my career thank you once again

By Siddharth S

Jul 11, 2016

Colleen Ma'am you are just awsome! But, I did wanted bit tougher assignments on Jscript! Could be optional but a bit more tough.

By Эдуард Р

Jul 10, 2020

Очень хороший курс. Дает базовые понятия в JavaScript. Понятное и простое объяснения и интересные зачетные задания. Рекомендую.

By Luis D G

Jul 4, 2020

Nice course to start with Javascript, do not have advanced knowledge, but enough to start implementing it on starting projects

By Shradheya K

Jul 1, 2017

Awesome Knowledge of the Instructor about the Course and we get to know the Overview of the Subject and topics related to it.

By Nafisa N

Jul 9, 2020

This course is very helpful for those who are new in web designing. I've learnt a lot of cool stuffs throughout this course.

By Christine B

Apr 24, 2022

I had a great time with this course. Thanks again to Colleen and University of Michigan for offering a great experience :)

By GOURAV S

May 30, 2020

It is a great course. Now I feel more comfortable in web development. I learned new things of interactivity in this course.