Chevron Left
Back to Interactivity with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Interactivity with JavaScript by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
7,194 ratings

About the Course

If you want to take your website to the next level, the ability to incorporate interactivity is a must. But adding some of these types of capabilities requires a stronger programming language than HTML5 or CSS3, and JavaScript can provide just what you need. With just a basic understanding of the language, you can create a page that will react to common events such as page loads, mouse clicks & movements, and even keyboard input. This course will introduce you to the basics of the JavaScript language. We will cover concepts such as variables, looping, functions, and even a little bit about debugging tools. You will understand how the Document Object Model (DOM) is used by JavaScript to identify and modify specific parts of your page. After the course, learners will be able to react to DOM Events and dynamically alter the contents and style of their page. The class will culminate in a final project - the creation of an interactive HTML5 form that accepts and verifies input. This can be completed as the third or fourth course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization....

Top reviews

MM

Feb 6, 2016

I was glad to find a course that focused simply on the basics of Javascript. So many courses cover the three HTML, CSS, and JS, but don't give enough to really start working with Javascrip.

Thanks

LC

Mar 15, 2016

An excellent course, my JavaScript has improved greatly since I completed the requirements. Colleen is a fantastic teacher, I found the lectures to be highly informative and the assignments good fun.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,448 Reviews for Interactivity with JavaScript

By Sushrutha K

Sep 13, 2020

The course was very helpful and the instructor was pretty amazing. Brushed up a lot of concepts and understood the concepts which I didn't earlier.

By Dong H

Feb 9, 2016

What tutor said is articulate. What tutor taught is easy to understand. What assignment asked to do is useful. This is a easy but practical course.

By Hasib A

Jun 15, 2023

This was an amazing course to begin with coding using JavaScript. I loved the content and I am sure it will help me in my upcoming future careers.

By Dimuthu L

May 11, 2020

I have learned from instructor Collen before. She is explaining very well. It is pleasure to be your student. and saying thank you and Good luck.

By Cleidys B B

Aug 18, 2016

Excellent course and excellent teacher. I congratulates the University of Michigan and Coursera by having highly qualified personnel. Thanks you.

By Andrea Z

Jun 19, 2017

Great course if you're looking for an introduction to JS, it guides you through the basic concepts in a clear and smooth way. Excellent teacher!

By Prasun B

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course content and teachings. Thanks Collen and the University of Michigan for such a terrific course on Introduction to Javascript.

By MUHAMMAD N

Jun 17, 2021

VERY INFORMATIVE AND CLEAR BASIC CONCEPT OF JAVASCRIPT.THANKS FOR PROVIDING THIS KIND OF KNOWLEDGE AND TRAINER. COLLEEN IS VERY GOOD TRAINER.

By Cheryl A T

Feb 9, 2020

Glad the instructor stresses the power of practice and that if not making mistakes then not coding.

Helps to be reminded this is the process.

By Shekhar P

Feb 16, 2016

Professor teaching way is very awesome and she always giving example of every step and also course material is good which easy to understand.

By Venkata L M

Oct 16, 2020

Great way of explanation of how to use JavaScript to make a very wonderful and best interactive experience for the users viewing webpages.

By Abdullah

Aug 7, 2022

Very good course. Learned alot. It is a good course for the beginners. I recommend this course for all who want to learn web devalopment.

By Nitesh A

Jun 12, 2020

Thanks for this course, although its outdated now (2020) but it provided basics of JS.

Please update this course if possible

Thanks Colleen

By Strahinja B

May 12, 2019

Awesome course that i definitely recommend, it has some cool challenges on the road, it makes you prepared for the challenges to come :)

By Joceir C

May 16, 2016

I realy enjoyed this course, I just learned great functinalyties from Java Script and Collen was a very good instructor in your classes!

By Yabo L

Mar 10, 2016

so far as good as previous courses in this specialization. Course materials are pretty easy to follow and course load is very balanced.

By Alexandre A

Jan 14, 2016

Good course. It an introduction to CSS because this language has a lot of things to study. But for begginer's is excelent opportunity.

By Haytham D

Nov 23, 2020

I will thank university of Michigan for this excellent course, and PhD Colleen for her special teaching skills. thank you very much.

By iffat a

Aug 20, 2020

awesome course , not only i get the basic concepts of loop, condition,variable in new light it was easier to grasp than ever before.

By Sayak M

Aug 6, 2020

Your way of teaching is amazing. This course helped me in understanding the fundamentals of javascript with ease. Thank you so much.

By Petrov A Y

May 12, 2017

Again it is a perfect course by Colleen. There is great number of useful examples. I recomend to begin studying JS from this course.

By Sriram S

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course video, lecture, mentor, slides, notes, assessments, peer review so on. Overall great course, wonderful lecturer...

By Hemanth S N

Sep 18, 2016

The course was designed to teach all the essential fundamentals of javascript in a very easy way and this course has benefited me.

By Elizabeth F

Nov 15, 2021

Started out thinking this class was waaay to much to absorb. Ended up loving cracking codes and solving problems! Give me more!

By bokhit a h

Jul 20, 2017

thank you colleen van and coursera community for this helpful course which can help me to achieve my career thank you once again