Chevron Left
Back to Interactivity with JavaScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Interactivity with JavaScript by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
6,592 ratings
1,346 reviews

About the Course

If you want to take your website to the next level, the ability to incorporate interactivity is a must. But adding some of these types of capabilities requires a stronger programming language than HTML5 or CSS3, and JavaScript can provide just what you need. With just a basic understanding of the language, you can create a page that will react to common events such as page loads, mouse clicks & movements, and even keyboard input. This course will introduce you to the basics of the JavaScript language. We will cover concepts such as variables, looping, functions, and even a little bit about debugging tools. You will understand how the Document Object Model (DOM) is used by JavaScript to identify and modify specific parts of your page. After the course, learners will be able to react to DOM Events and dynamically alter the contents and style of their page. The class will culminate in a final project - the creation of an interactive HTML5 form that accepts and verifies input. This is the third course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. A basic understanding of HTML and CSS is expected when you enroll in this class. Additional courses focus on enhancing the styling with responsive design and completing a capstone project....

Top reviews

LC
Mar 15, 2016

An excellent course, my JavaScript has improved greatly since I completed the requirements. Colleen is a fantastic teacher, I found the lectures to be highly informative and the assignments good fun.

MM
Feb 6, 2016

I was glad to find a course that focused simply on the basics of Javascript. So many courses cover the three HTML, CSS, and JS, but don't give enough to really start working with Javascrip.\n\nThanks

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,317 Reviews for Interactivity with JavaScript

By Gema G

Sep 9, 2019

This course is harder than HTML5 or CSS3 course. But still, courses taught by Mrs Colleen are easier to follow compare with another JavaScript teacher.

By Shubham P

Mar 10, 2018

amazing course. collene madam is seriously a wonderful teacher and knows exactly how to tech the new one's. all the material and the stuff was excellent

By Batyr N

Jan 18, 2016

Professor Colleen is fantastic. She takes it step by step equiping the students with the fundamentals. It's a very efficient course. Thank you, Colleen!

By Olga K

Sep 7, 2016

Best course for beginners I think. Very good and very clever structured program. The only problem that it's too short. You want more and more practice.

By Sourav S

Sep 23, 2020

as a beginner, this course helped me a lot to grasp some really useful concepts of JavaScript. Hoping to see a backend related course soon from them.

By Jawahar B

Aug 3, 2020

The One of Very Excellent Course I have found on Coursera.

To The Instructor Ms.Collen, "Hats Off Madam"

You have teached What the way I expected

By Sushrutha K

Sep 13, 2020

The course was very helpful and the instructor was pretty amazing. Brushed up a lot of concepts and understood the concepts which I didn't earlier.

By Hall D

Feb 9, 2016

What tutor said is articulate. What tutor taught is easy to understand. What assignment asked to do is useful. This is a easy but practical course.

By Dimuthu L

May 11, 2020

I have learned from instructor Collen before. She is explaining very well. It is pleasure to be your student. and saying thank you and Good luck.

By Cleidys B B

Aug 18, 2016

Excellent course and excellent teacher. I congratulates the University of Michigan and Coursera by having highly qualified personnel. Thanks you.

By Andrea Z

Jun 19, 2017

Great course if you're looking for an introduction to JS, it guides you through the basic concepts in a clear and smooth way. Excellent teacher!

By Prasun B

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course content and teachings. Thanks Collen and the University of Michigan for such a terrific course on Introduction to Javascript.

By MUHAMMAD N

Jun 17, 2021

VERY INFORMATIVE AND CLEAR BASIC CONCEPT OF JAVASCRIPT.THANKS FOR PROVIDING THIS KIND OF KNOWLEDGE AND TRAINER. COLLEEN IS VERY GOOD TRAINER.

By Cheryl A T

Feb 9, 2020

Glad the instructor stresses the power of practice and that if not making mistakes then not coding.

Helps to be reminded this is the process.

By Shekhar P

Feb 16, 2016

Professor teaching way is very awesome and she always giving example of every step and also course material is good which easy to understand.

By Venkata L M

Oct 16, 2020

Great way of explanation of how to use JavaScript to make a very wonderful and best interactive experience for the users viewing webpages.

By Nitesh A

Jun 12, 2020

Thanks for this course, although its outdated now (2020) but it provided basics of JS.

Please update this course if possible

Thanks Colleen

By Strahinja B

May 12, 2019

Awesome course that i definitely recommend, it has some cool challenges on the road, it makes you prepared for the challenges to come :)

By Joceir C

May 16, 2016

I realy enjoyed this course, I just learned great functinalyties from Java Script and Collen was a very good instructor in your classes!

By Yabo L

Mar 10, 2016

so far as good as previous courses in this specialization. Course materials are pretty easy to follow and course load is very balanced.

By Alexandre A

Jan 14, 2016

Good course. It an introduction to CSS because this language has a lot of things to study. But for begginer's is excelent opportunity.

By Haytham D

Nov 23, 2020

I will thank university of Michigan for this excellent course, and PhD Colleen for her special teaching skills. thank you very much.

By Ara i

Aug 20, 2020

awesome course , not only i get the basic concepts of loop, condition,variable in new light it was easier to grasp than ever before.

By Sayak M

Aug 6, 2020

Your way of teaching is amazing. This course helped me in understanding the fundamentals of javascript with ease. Thank you so much.

By Petrov A Y

May 12, 2017

Again it is a perfect course by Colleen. There is great number of useful examples. I recomend to begin studying JS from this course.