Chevron Left
Back to Jewish Diaspora in Modern China

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Jewish Diaspora in Modern China by Nanjing University

4.3
stars
104 ratings
36 reviews

About the Course

Jewish Diaspora in China is a unique experience for world Jewry, as China is the only country in Far East that has had Jews living in its society for over 1,000 years. Documentary evidence shows that Jews started to live in China no later than the Tang Dynasty (618–907). The famous Kaifeng Jewish community, which was established in Kaifeng, the Chinese capital of the Song Dynasty (960-1279), is but a best-known example. However, the largest Jewish Diaspora in China appeared in modern times. In over 100 years, from the mid-19th century to the mid-20th century, about 40,000 Jews came to China and lived in newly-established major port cities such as Hong Kong, Shanghai, Tianjin, and Harbin. Jewish communities composed of these Jews became an essential part of the economic and social life of those modern Chinese cities. What brought such a large number of Jews to China? Where did these people come from? How did they arrive? Were they all in China at the same time, and were there any differences among them? What happened to them after they arrived? Where are they now? The story of Jews in modern China is certainly a fascinating and up-lifting one. This course will examine these questions and more....

Top reviews

RS
Oct 28, 2015

The subject matter of this course was new for me and was very interesting. I appreciate Professor Xin Xu and Nanjing University for providing this learning opportunity.\n\nThank you

LL
Jun 18, 2016

The professor and the archival materials such as photographs are very engaging. The historical periods studied are fascinating, and well-suited to a short course.

Filter by:

26 - 36 of 36 Reviews for Jewish Diaspora in Modern China

By Joy S

Mar 9, 2016

Excellent information I was previously unaware of. Found subtitles useful as the instructor has an accent. Enjoyed photographs and music in class. Very interesting subject.

By Kanna P

Aug 8, 2016

i came to more about china this is useful for me to do international business thank you !

By zweiglarry@yahoo.com

Dec 10, 2015

good and informative presentation

By jose L M

Sep 3, 2016

Excellent

By Geoffrey P

Nov 15, 2015

A fascinating course but delivered in a rather wooden fashion by the lecturer. Good illustrations. I would have liked to have known more of the overall value (if any) of the Jewish contribution in the context of Chinese economic development i.e. was it of any overall importance- did it make any difference? Is it still relevant?

By Caelyn M

Dec 6, 2016

Fascinating material; but accent of the lecturer was sometimes difficult to understand. The peer reviewed essays were good topics; but in one case definitely should have attached to the following week. The multiple choice tests, however, seemed to focus on trivia. Flawed; but still a really interesting course.

By Eull D

Aug 21, 2015

Most interesting topic, previously unknown. excellent illustrations, although flashed up too fast. Poor, sometimes erratic and tiring verbal presentation, which sapped energy for peer reviews.

Can be greatly improved.

By Man S C

Sep 17, 2015

Course content was nice. Delivery was good. Learn a lot that I have never been aware of.

Course logistics was lacking. Hard to keep track where one was. Information about the course was sparse.

By Maria M S

Aug 7, 2017

Interesting course overall.

By Michael N R

Jun 13, 2016

Not as advertized and way too much peer rating stuff--we do all the work the instructor does little or none--too much peer rating stuff which I despise. And there seems to be no way to un-enroll.

By Arkadiy D

Aug 29, 2015

nothing i can say that made me jump for joy. i fell asleep half the time.