Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,577 ratings
392 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 395 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Taiwo F

Sep 26, 2020

I really love this course. The assignment problems are very challenging. If you want to start Android development in Kotlin, I recommend this course for you.

By Jim Z

Dec 1, 2019

The course provides a very practical way to learn Kotlin. I think its coding practises and assignments are very challenging, but I have learnt a lot from it.

By Tomislav M

Feb 24, 2020

Very nice course with tasks which are challenging enough to properly test the understanding of Kotlin. I really enjoyed challenges in the end of every week.

By Prashant S

May 11, 2019

Good content and nice pace. Some problems took a while to solve but it was due to change on mindset between how i java program vs how you do it in kotlin.

By Gerson S

Sep 9, 2019

Great course, would be really nice incluse something about coroutines, or make a new course only with this topic. Looking forward for more great content.

By Nicole H

May 9, 2020

Thanks for the great course. The only thing I would change, was a native speaker. I found it sometimes hard to understand what Svetlana Isakova said.

By Skye S

Jul 28, 2020

This course was phenomenal. It was perfectly well explained and helped me to transition nearly all my prior Java knowledge to Kotlin within a week.

By Elijah R

May 21, 2019

The course content covers why we choose some functions over others, in such a clear manner, and also offers exciting programming problems to solve.

By Gyorgy A

Dec 3, 2018

Excellent course, thanks! Clean explanations, right to the point, good for java developers looking for a modern approach. Thanks for both teachers!

By Alex T

May 2, 2021

5 stars becouse it was my first course and I loved Kotlin

// Для русскоговорящих - перевод ужасный! Знание английского - обязательно на этом курсе!

By Sunny G

May 31, 2020

Great course for people who wants to learn kotlin . The instructors were really good and exercises help you to test your learning side by side

By Óscar G

Jan 30, 2020

Essential course to start developing using Kotlin. Even if you already have experience, it helps consolidate concepts and avoid bad practices.

By Alexandru M

Jun 22, 2021

I would like to have some hint for project tasks. Is annoying to not seeing your solution until I uploaded my working solution for all tests.

By Andrew W

Sep 9, 2019

Very good course. I hope they will follow up with more advanced courses AND in the meantime, give ideas/links/references for further study!

By Sergio F F

Nov 29, 2020

Awesome course which explains the basics but diving into the purpose of each feature added and gives a clear view of how the language works

By Wishnuputra D

Aug 31, 2019

Thank you Ms. Svetlana Isakova and Mr. Andrey Breslav for teaching Kotlin. I am very excited to continue learning Kotlin and read the book.

By Timoleon

Apr 7, 2020

Great course, great videos, great assignments. Five stars! Although I would like this course to have solutions for the last assignments.

By JAI G

Jul 6, 2019

make assignment slightly simple and clear . i recommend course developer team to make this course one step down for better understanding

By Javier M R

May 1, 2019

I have really enjoyed this course. It's a good way to improve my skills and I believe is going to be my next main programming language.

By MD A H Z

Dec 22, 2018

I would like to thank the instructors and Jetbrain to provide such an great course. This is the best kotlin course for java developers.

By Manuel V P

Dec 28, 2020

Very well developed course. Very good programming assignments. Highly valuable. I really enjoyed the time spent learning and training.

By Agustin A

Jul 20, 2020

the tests for the assignment of week 4 and week 5 were not exhaustive enough, the were passing even though the game was not playable.

By Thomas L

Apr 23, 2021

This course was amazing and eye opening for a junior, i am truly happy i followed it until the end.

Thank you for all the hard work !

By Sam H

Oct 30, 2018

Really comprehensive course. The exercises push you in a way that solidifies the lectures in a non-trivial way. Highly recommended.

By Sachin R

Jun 6, 2020

Few really nice things were covered in this course. Kotlin extensions, the lambdas and kotlin's powerful inbuilt lambda expressions