Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,593 ratings
396 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

376 - 398 of 398 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Petr M

Feb 7, 2020

The course is quite good, but there is still something to improve, e.g.: lecturer's speech (sometimes really hard to understand), english subtitles in videos (there are major mistakes, that could confuse the listener - e.g. "enlightened" instead of "inlined", ...), no solutions for programming assignments in week5, and for last task in week4 (I'd like to know, if my solutions are principally good, or not - but unfortunately I'm missing feedback here).

Nevertheless, I can say, that after completing the course I know much more about Kotlin, than before.

By Nicolas B N

Jan 23, 2019

The course material was great and the instructor very knowledgeable. My main pain point is the instructor's very thick accent. In my opinion, this course should be taught by someone who has a more "international" English. Having to decipher what the instructor is saying adds cognitive overhead to a subject-matter which already requires a lot of cognition.

By Petr B

Feb 22, 2019

Overall it was good, and also the information and assignments was Ok, but the accent of the speaker was annoying. Maybe it was not the accent, but the feel that the video is not properly prepared, cut, post processed without slips of the tongue and of course a lot of "under the hood" :D

By Daniel M

Nov 4, 2019

Explanations were great (if not a bit brief), but assignments were really extra complicated and at times, vaguely explained. Sometimes, it would take hours to understand things, only to have a different explanation in the forum and accomplish it in minutes.

By Nikita M

Mar 14, 2019

This course definitely will give you overview of Kotlin lang features (which are commonly looks like syntactic sugar, but unfortunately program assignments are to complicated.

Alson the course a lit bit outdated (no videos on coroutines, type aliases)

By Dawit A W

Nov 19, 2018

The course content is very great. The teacher (Svetlana) is also very good as well. But I sometimes find it difficult to follow her sentences. I think it'd get better in time as she becomes more fluent in English.

By Frank L

May 24, 2020

Binged it on a weekend, that was a bit much, it's a lot of work, most of it is barely Kotlin related. Still, good content, and definitely helpful to immerse.

By Juan C M D

Oct 18, 2020

All the content is amazing but sometimes is complicated to understand the instructor voice.

By Tarun

Jun 23, 2020

Improvement can be done on examples.

Except that everything was good.

By Балахонцев М

Jan 9, 2021

theory is great, but practice part is poor (especially last one)

By Manoj C

May 27, 2021

The accent of the tutor is not very understandable.

By PRAYAG S

Nov 20, 2020

Very Hard Assignments

By abic

Jan 16, 2021

The material, intention, and content of this course is very useful but the delivery mechanism was very unusable for me. It was difficult for me to follow the accent, also often the pacing. Would be really great if there was a non-video version of this course -- i.e., well organized/written text with code snippets (perhaps like a book or web-based tutorial). Then I could pace myself and focus/learn things better.

By DIWAAN C C S

Jun 10, 2020

Content of the course is good and the instructor is also good

But as a college student I couldn't understand most of the concepts

Also the assignments are not even understandable and my suggestion is that the assessment questions could be clear

It takes over 30 mins to actually understand the problem statement

Finally this course is not for begineers and also for java developers

I won't recommend this to others

By Siarhei K

Dec 1, 2018

The grader on 4th week was not providing clear messages about issue. Plus, the course covers only the basics. So, I've lost my interest to it.

By Hashem h h

Jul 9, 2020

bad Presenter

By Moh. A R

May 1, 2020

The course title is totally wrong. The course title should be Kotlin for Pro Kotlin Developers. Totally a rough course. Will make you realize that you made one of the worst decision in your life by taking this course. And instructor's accent will disappoint you a lot. NOTE: ASSIGNMENTS will force you to cry like hell if you are a beginner level developer who knows Java. If you still want to take the risk then feel free to take it and blame yourselves later if you start regretting.

By John N

Jul 1, 2019

Requires itellij which is annoying. I already have ide's on the machine and I really do not want more. Plus video's are perhaps not the best way to learn. Listening to eastern European English is quite tiresome, especially the woman's. I know that is unfair, her English is far better than my European. But ….

I think one is better off with other tutorials such as

https://www.javatpoint.com/kotlin-tutorial

By Abhinav A

Sep 27, 2021

Course syllabus was vast and comprehensive but presentation and making someone understand, a big disappointment. Had high hopes when I saw the number of reviews. Please replace the tutor(no offence to anyone, nothing personal). It was literally hard to pick the accent and content. Please work on the sequence of topics covered as well.

By Nikita K

Oct 9, 2021

Unnecessary complicated. Extremely inefficient. I would suggest closing the course and learning the language using API docs. I liked the authors though, they really tried to help. But that is a very, very wrong way to teach people programming.

By vaibhav a

Jun 6, 2020

Instructor are not very clear to understand.They make concepts difficult to understand.

By Andrey D

Oct 25, 2018

Sveta makes errors in her speech. Russian accent. The course content is great

By Kamil R

Nov 2, 2018

Great course for retards