Chevron Left
Back to Kotlin for Java Developers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Kotlin for Java Developers by JetBrains

4.7
stars
1,602 ratings
398 reviews

About the Course

The Kotlin programming language is a modern language that gives you more power for your everyday tasks. Kotlin is concise, safe, pragmatic, and focused on interoperability with Java code. It can be used almost everywhere Java is used today: for server-side development, Android apps, and much more. Kotlin is 100% compatible with all existing Java frameworks, and has good tooling support. It’s a pragmatic language with a very low learning curve, and can be quickly grasped by Java developers. Kotlin code might be compiled not only to JVM bytecode but to JavaScript and Native code as well, but this course is focused on Kotlin/JVM. This course aims to share with you the power and the beauty of Kotlin. We'll have a basic overview of the language, as well as a discussion of many corner cases, especially concerning Java interoperability. The course is based on your Java experience; it shows the similarities between the two languages and focuses on what's going to be different. Note that this course won't cover the programming fundamentals. We'll discuss: basic syntax, nullability, functional programming with Kotlin, object-oriented programming with Kotlin, the power of the Kotlin standard library, and Java interoperability....

Top reviews

MA
Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, packed with relevant content and useful hands on Kotlin exercises with great feedback based on Coursera provided unit tests. Looking forward to more Coursera courses from JetBrains.

AC
Mar 15, 2020

Thanks JetBrains team, the course is as great as all the things that you do!\n\nNow I am going to visit Kotlin island (Kronstadt) to see lighthouse on your logo (I leave nearby in Saint-Petersburg).

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 399 Reviews for Kotlin for Java Developers

By Vlad S

Nov 2, 2019

Very well structured projects, user-friendly EduTools plugin, interesting and useful tasks. Really nice course

By BHAVIT K

May 17, 2020

Very good content and hand-on with assignments. Thank you Coursera and JetBrains to give me this opportunity.

By Pechi M H

Jun 2, 2020

Good course for Java and Android developers to understand Kotlin and Java interoperability of this language.

By Dat N

Apr 12, 2020

I really enjoy the class, content is high quality but I expect have more exercise and divider to small task

By onurcan k

Feb 22, 2021

Thanks so much for providing this course and being energetic while teaching it. It helped a lot. Thanks ^^

By ABDELMAJID I A

Jun 23, 2020

I already have some knowledge in kotlin but this was amazing it's very helpful in functional programming

By Emmanuel A

Jul 1, 2019

Not much to say... I loved the course.

I'm only looking forward to the next one. It MUST arrive quickly!

By Noel G

Apr 18, 2021

Sometime I cannot understand the teacher because of the accent, but overall the course is really good.

By Kusumakar D

Apr 5, 2020

The course is very well structured and introduces new concepts at a good pace. Perfect for a beginner.

By Shenghan G

May 19, 2019

Nice content and nice assignments. Wish you will have new course related to co-routine related topics.

By Bavo B

Aug 28, 2019

well explained, great way to excercise with real-world code, fast feedback via unit tests and grading

By FACUNDO F

May 20, 2020

Excellent course. The videos are of a suitable length, and the practical exercises are interesting.

By Tobias A

Jan 8, 2020

Very nice integration of the practical exercises using IntelliJ IDEA EduTools. Well done JetBrains!

By jimi s

Nov 16, 2020

Tough course, with an overwhelming degree of satisfaction after successfully completing each tasks

By Dweep J

Apr 21, 2020

I did this Course to try to understand deeplearningai's Device Based Models course. Great content!

By Riadh M

Dec 25, 2020

Good course. Tests are hard but interesting.

Thank you for the excellent effort doing this course.

By Ruth M

Dec 7, 2020

love it. only thing I find sad is that there is no video for the solution of the last assignment

By Amir A

Sep 3, 2019

assignments were too hard and not related to Kotlin learning but teaching and concept was great

By Ewald H

May 29, 2020

This was a great, thorough introduction to Kotlin and worth a look if you have Java experience.

By Nitish S

May 1, 2020

A well Defined course for Kotlin Newbie. I liked it the way they delivered the content. Thanks

By Germán L

May 31, 2020

The course was great, I learned a lot with you guys. Thank you very much Svetlana and Andrey

By Mouaad A

Nov 3, 2018

Great course, I completely recommend it for every kotlin beginner with some Java background.

By Wojciech M

Apr 8, 2020

It's good to know that there is no magic under the hood in all kotlin language constructs

By Eliezio O

Feb 4, 2019

Excellent approach to teach Kotlin, always showing how the compiler works under the hood.

By kevin m

Sep 12, 2020

Muy buen curso, estaria muy bueno algunos subtitulos para los que no hablamos ingles.