Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
6,259 ratings

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings

(121 Reviews)

Creatively designed course

(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA

Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ

Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,861 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Jun Y

Jan 27, 2018

The theories give me a clear understanding the specific approaches in different type of schools as well as in different countries. Thank you!

By Neveen H

Jun 21, 2020

At first,I want to thank coursera for it's wonderful platform.It,s great course provides me with a great wealth of information and skills .

By Oscar E G D

Jan 29, 2020

Great content; however, there was to much information to learn in a short amount of time. The instructors are incredible good at this field.

By Ulkar A

Mar 18, 2021

very well developed course explaining complex and the most boring things in a simple and fun way. I have learned a lot thanks professors :)

By Francisco C

Feb 12, 2021

I've loved the way the classes were structured during the whole course. The teachers are simply extraordinary!

(Francisco Cesar, RS, Brazil)

By Calvin

Sep 20, 2018

Engaging and "meaty" content mostly going through the main methods of teaching a second language. I enjoyed the effort by all the teachers.

By Robinson A G P

Aug 26, 2018

This course is great. Everything we learn in It is useful and help us to better understand what we are doing and how to improve It quickly.

By Laveda T

Dec 2, 2017

Amazing course! Informative and engaging. The teachers made this course very accessible and fun. Wasn't bored by the "theory" for a minute.

By LAUREL J S

Aug 8, 2022

This course offers great teaching, interesting content, and clear assignments. I just wish the final certificate didn't say "non-credit."

By Britt B -

Jun 13, 2018

A really great overview of the historical development of L2 teaching and very useful in determining your own personal teaching philosophy.

By Carlos D

Nov 26, 2017

Great course for understanding the best ways to help students assimilate material, clearly explained and very well-designed, thanks a lot.

By Orlando Q

Feb 4, 2022

This course was great. Shane made us reflect on each theoretical method and how it can be applied in our teaching practice. Thank you!

By Catherine B

Feb 7, 2019

I really enjoyed the historical journey of this course and the positive and engaging strategies you selected from each of the approaches

By Серова М М

Nov 1, 2019

Великолепный курс! Получила много знаний, которые могу применить на практике! Спасибо большое за эту возможность расширить свои знания!

By Weberty R d S

Jan 22, 2018

Exceptional teaching style. Congratulations Coursera for providing the necessary environment and ASU for providing such a great course.

By Soran M K

May 16, 2016

The course, and all other courses in the TESOL certificate project, is really helpful for those who are in peruse of a teaching career.

By Joanne C

Nov 9, 2020

The use of caricatures are very effective. It is easier to understand and it helped us in reflecting on our own purpose in teaching

By MOHD A S

Jun 1, 2020

Simple, concise and outstanding way to make acquaint with the high and dry theories of teaching.

Not to be missed. Highly Recommended!

By Kuljinder K

Dec 12, 2017

Awesome never thought that history of teaching approaches could be so interesting. It helped learn a lot of new aspects of teaching :)

By 周诗卉

Aug 11, 2016

very detailed and instructive, I'll definitely apply those methods into my own class!Thanks for your efforts to make such good course!

By chopi a

Aug 8, 2016

Thanks for all teachers and Coursera staff really I appreciate your work & effort , I get many benefits information from this course .

By Margarita C N V

Nov 9, 2020

Excelente curso, como siempre! Refresqué mis conceptos aprendidos con anterioridad y aprendí mas orígenes acerca de las metodologías.

By Heejung L

Aug 12, 2020

Thank you so much for your organized and elaborated lectures. I learned a lot about theories of language learning which I longed for.

By Cerise A

Mar 7, 2020

In depth, informative, and a wonderful background to enable teachers to develop their own teaching philosophy, and teaching practice.

By Anas T M

Jul 13, 2019

Really enjoyed learning in this course. It helped me develop a deeper understanding of the history of language teaching and learning.