Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,553 ratings
1,679 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA
Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,654 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By José A G R

Nov 7, 2017

As with the first course, I learned a great deal of things. The Doctor is so enthusiastic, Miss Cinco is so clear and gorgeous and the videos and graffics so good...

By Wu B

Feb 12, 2017

This is a great course which help me know and comprehend all the historical approach. I like the un- stressful and interesting way which teachers used in the course.

By ISABELLA C F

Apr 13, 2021

It's a wonderful course. Funny, rich in content, and always well presented by incredible teachers! I will certainly enroll in the next courses of Teach English Now.

By Diana L

Nov 26, 2020

Kudos the people behind this course for presenting usually "boring" theories in a way that is very engaging, fun, and bite-sized information! I truly learned a lot.

By Ibrahima D

Jan 9, 2020

Great course for anybody wishing to have a clearer understanding of methods in language learning. I was impressed by the level of mastery of teachers in this class.

By Ivona B

Apr 27, 2021

This was absolutely AMAZING!

You have managed to turn the most boring section of English Language Methodology into a fantastic journey!

Thank you! A million times!

By Déborah V

Dec 5, 2019

Very interesting course, to understand the different approaches to the teaching of a language. It has been very funny and instructive. Thank you very much for it.

By Glenda H

Nov 5, 2019

This course serviced as both a reminder/refresher course of what I already knew yet may not have been practicing. I thoroughly benefited and enjoyed this course.

By Safaa E M A

Jul 12, 2018

it is really an awesome course. enough to mention how delicious dr. shane present it. alot of thanks to dr shane ,all are standing behind the camera and coursera.

By Paola J B

Jun 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course because I learned that there are lots of approaches and as teachers we have not only to know them but also take the best of each one.

By Оля М

Jun 22, 2021

Perfectly explained 6 different approaches and clearly understand why we learned at school to this or that way!!! Also, what the features are of all the methods.

By Olga K

May 29, 2020

I would like to thank The University of Arizona and Coursera for this opportunity to get educated at home with much fun and use! Dr Shane Dixon is such a star!!!

By Rafael S

Mar 11, 2020

You guys are the most entertaining teachers I have ever seem. The course makes me laugh and smile all the time. The content is top notch! I absolutely adore it.

By Katie r

Nov 11, 2019

This course has made me think a lot more about what a learning situation is and how to nt only guild students to see it, but use it in my own language learning.

By Polina v R

Jun 21, 2020

It was interesting to learn different approaches and their history. I found the information was really useful and could be applied to my classes in the future.

By Liu, Z

Sep 19, 2021

The best theory course I have ever taken! It's a well-structured course with fascinating contents taught in an organized way and from different perspectives.

By Fabio A

Apr 29, 2021

GREAT content! If you're new to English teaching, this will show you how to deliver effective lessons. If you already have experience, it will be good review.

By ivy k

Dec 3, 2020

This was a well thought out course with very interesting and engaging videos. Really like the performances of Shane as all the different language instructors!

By Renzo V

Mar 4, 2016

There is no words to describe how useful, acurrate and helpful is this course! Thanks a lot for this chance to improve our teaching skills and ESL perception.

By MOHMAD F T

Jun 4, 2020

This course has been very helpful for me because I have learned many things from this course. And it was a wonderful journey with Dr. Dixon and Dr. Jessica.

By Ankita J

Sep 24, 2018

This course enlightens us about the different approaches to teach English, It explains the methodologies used in the earlier centuries. It is really helpful.

By Lulu F

Sep 1, 2021

T​his course has developed my understanding about techniques in so many ways! I learned a lot. The way Prof. Dixon explains the lesson is also very awesome!

By Michele F

Dec 17, 2017

This is another great course in the TESOL sequence at ASU. This is one of the better online classes I've taken - the instructors really keep it interesting.

By Bảo N L H

Feb 19, 2021

The best teaching course I've ever had! Very clear instruction, theories are well explained. Assignments are challenging enough for learners to experience!

By Kaosu N

Jul 29, 2020

Very clear and straightforward! Really nice to learn about the history of language teaching and take that into account when thinking about my own teaching.