Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,556 ratings
1,679 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA
Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,654 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Nur I A

Dec 3, 2019

the way the lecturer teach us is so nice and adding notes below the video is useful for those who haven't can understand speech if it is fast and thank you

By Anita C

Nov 12, 2020

Fun learning at its finest. Material was brought to life in a lively, memorable and impactful manner. Excellent teaching made the course very enjoyable.

By Сергеева П Ю

Nov 22, 2018

I am eternally grateful. Thank you, Dr. Dixon and Ms Jessica Cinco. It was truly a changing experience. I loved the course. Now it's time to move forward!

By Romie V D A

Jun 17, 2017

Great course about the vast amount of theories on English Language. I had no idea there were so many theories and how far back teaching language has come!

By Jose F L G

Jun 21, 2016

After teaching English for many years, I found answers to old questions and new challenges to work on. The course was worth every minute I invested in it.

By Rafa M

Feb 7, 2016

It was great, though I think the video classes could have some application examples in the classrooms and the material could be available to the students.

By Rafael C L

Nov 23, 2018

Amazing course! I'm so happy! I initially took this to have a certificate but now I'm happy because of how enjoyable and amazing is the whole experience!

By ALEJANDRA F M

Apr 23, 2016

I really liked the way theories were presented and compared. Information is always clear and the course is very flexible, which means anyone can take it.

By Luiz F L C

Feb 26, 2020

This has contributed SO MUCH for my teaching. I'm loving it. Being in Brazil, being poor and having access to this kind of material is changing my life!

By Jana V

Feb 6, 2019

Another course of TEN! which is highly recommended. I love the acting , clear explanation, reading other people's ideas. Thank you. Highly recommended.

By Fikret G

Apr 3, 2021

This course is awesome. The videos, and course settings are perfect samples for us as a future teachers.

Thank you so much for your efforts.

Kind Regards

By Ismail A

Jan 31, 2021

I really enjoyed it. This course helped me so much to have a theoretical and practical insight into the approaches and strategies for teaching English.

By Danae C A A

May 27, 2020

During this course I could covered many important topics for my lessons. I think that is a good option from who wants to improve their teaching skills!

By Susana C d S G M M

Mar 18, 2019

Essential course to take if you want to have your classes meeting its purpose, being preparing students for exams, communication or cultural awareness.

By Muhammed E E

Dec 4, 2017

I have benefited greatly from the approaches and theories of teaching English language and the information and the multiple methods in teaching English

By David S M

Nov 20, 2017

Excellent course! very didactic, it provides relevant information in a clear and simple way. I strongly recommend it, if you are thinking to teach ESL.

By Anas A

Jul 18, 2017

I really liked the course and learned a lot , you can understand every thing easily from the way they present the course from a real professional staff

By Zana A A

Oct 10, 2016

I have learned a lot from these engaging and uncomplicated videos. I'd encourage EFL teachers to do this useful course to improve their teaching style.

By Andrew N

Aug 8, 2016

A lot of effort went into making this course memorable, and it worked (even though it was a little childish)! Can complain when you learn the material!

By Asia

Mar 20, 2016

Great course! Dr. Shane Dixon is superstar!! The most joyful way to get the understanding of all the approaches to teaching English! Thank you so much!

By Maria F D C M

May 17, 2021

Dense content is presented in a clear and meaningful way. The table helps us on organizing and revising the specificities of each approach! A marvel!!

By Mary O B

Apr 29, 2021

This course was very thorough and very interesting. I learned a lot and commend ASU and their skills at designing this course and the specialization.

By Ahmed N

Jan 29, 2021

The most intelligent and powerful course I've ever taken. Thanks for Coursera and all the crew also thanks a million for Dr.Shane for his instructions

By David B

Mar 20, 2020

This was a great introduction to different theories. I love the Teach English Now series. ASU has really made a good name for itself with this series.

By Juanita J

Jan 20, 2020

enjoyed the engagement and information provided during the class. The presenters are lighthearted and comical and adds to the materials comprehension.