Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
5,417 ratings
1,645 reviews

About the Course

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(121 Reviews)
Creatively designed course
(270 Reviews)

Top reviews

AA
Jun 21, 2021

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
Jun 10, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 1,625 Reviews for Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition

By Kristy Z

Oct 17, 2019

Videos were informative and the writing prompts helped me to bring all of the new information together.

By Helen L R V

Jun 30, 2019

I've never imagined that studying Historical Approaches would help me analyse my own teaching. Thanks!!

By Cristina M

Nov 7, 2016

The teachers who explain this course are awesome. The content and the people are inspirational, thanks!

By Víctor H M A

Oct 3, 2016

Simply fantastic! the content is precise and very well explained. You should not miss this opportunity!

By faris 7

Aug 15, 2016

BEST WISHES FOR MY GREAT MENTORS DR. DIXON, DR. JUSTIN AND PROF. CINCO AND ALL MY PEERS AND COLLEAGUES.

By Linh D

Sep 15, 2021

An amazing course to have an in-depth comprehension of teaching language approaches. Highly-recommend!

By Burak Y

Nov 25, 2020

it was a clear and effective experience. I would highly recommend. thanks all of your efforts teachers

By Garth M

Nov 15, 2020

Learned a lot about 2nd Lang. Acquisition and how different language approaches saw lang. acquisition.

By Pavlova D

Oct 23, 2019

Very useful for teachers and even those who a simply interested in a language. Very clear

explanations

By Anna W

Jan 7, 2016

Thank you very much for getting more insight in the ESL teaching thechniques and different approaches.

By Michelle E

Jul 13, 2021

This has been a great course! Very easy to learn and interactive. Looking forward to the Course 3! <3

By Sujata S L

Jul 1, 2021

I am truly taken away. I really love the way the content is presented especially Shane's roleplaying.

By Zaur H

Jul 18, 2020

Truly amazing. They acquainted me with several teaching approaches through their entertaining videos.

By Remziye K

Jun 14, 2020

It was a really useful journey for me while revising each approach throughout the history. Thank you.

By Kelli B

Jun 4, 2020

Great topics and wonderful imagination with the way the teachers give information. I love the dramas!

By Janaina F M S

Mar 9, 2016

Again: Shane is magnificent. I have applied all the techniques in my classes and it has been amazing!

By Cristina M

Feb 23, 2016

Informative, fun and easy to follow. Great for future ESL teachers and enlightening for current ones.

By Komal A

Jul 23, 2021

this course is necessary for all the teachers so that everyone can understand the teaching theories.

By Oskr S

Nov 25, 2020

I have not enough word to describe this experience, It's enriching and feeds our knowledge

Great job.

By Janica J M

Nov 5, 2020

It's really helpful and at the same time a fun learning experience. I enjoyed the videos. 👍👍👍👍👍

By Tatiana K

Oct 20, 2020

Thank you for this amazing course. Now I know all language approaches and can apply them at my work!

By Ana M C

Oct 2, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Dr. Shane Dixon is a very engaging , funny, and creative teacher.

By Sabir

Apr 26, 2020

Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition is good practise subject to Teach english

By Anjel B

Dec 31, 2016

Although a little corny, the way this course is designed with skits really helps me sink in content.

By Svetlana C

Aug 27, 2021

Thanks everyone for this great course. It's very informative and useful. Oscar for Dr. Shane Dixon!