Chevron Left
Back to A Law Student's Toolkit

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Law Student's Toolkit by Yale University

4.7
stars
1,093 ratings
312 reviews

About the Course

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

Top reviews

HK
Mar 28, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

CT
Oct 14, 2018

The course is gorgeous!!! Although I am an experienced lawyer in my country it was an excellent training for my brains, more over, the lectures were really very interesting!!! Strongly recommended!!!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 305 Reviews for A Law Student's Toolkit

By Jan-Willem P

Jun 27, 2016

Fantastic, if you're a jurist or planning to become one. Even as a Non-American, I can greatly profit from the methodical approach by Prof. Ayres.

By daglie c

Jul 27, 2020

Um curso muito interessante, tras diversas reflexões e ferramentas que percebo realmente fazer diferença para os futuros estudantes de direito.

By Matheus I C N

Dec 26, 2016

This a wonderful course for law students, specially if the student have initiated your studies in another judicial system, like civil law.

By abdulrahman a

Aug 15, 2020

It was a great course I enjoyed the assignments, yet I believe you need a legal background to fully understand this course.

By Long L

Aug 8, 2016

It's a very useful course for law students , indroduced many fundemental tools and ways to study . It's very useful for me.

By Alma

Mar 18, 2016

Great course! Lots of work but you learn soo much! Definitely recommend it to all potential law school hopefuls like me!

By Javier A S L

Mar 18, 2016

Really TOP Course! It is really useful even for an already Law graduate who wants an introduction to the American Law.

By Jeff P

Aug 24, 2018

Extremely Engaging. I would prefer not having mendatory assignment for audit students but it comes with the territory

By Vince J M

May 7, 2020

Great introductory and foundational course in preparation for law school.

Concise, intelligent, and very instructive!

By Nicholas F

Sep 19, 2016

The course was very interested , i learned a lot , the course allows me the ability to question matters of the Law .

By Maximiliano A Z

Aug 24, 2020

Mucho aprendizaje durante el curso, mucha lectura y amplitud en el panorama legal de los Estados Unidos de América.

By Nimish D

Jun 22, 2020

A very detailed oriented course which will really boost the learning capacity of a law student arsenal of knowledge

By Arpit G

May 17, 2020

Ian Ayres never fails to amaze you with his brilliant illustrations and real-life examples. Must under-go Course.

By ahmed m

Apr 3, 2019

Enjoyed every bit of the course. very interesting and rich information compacted into bite size learning journey.

By Zidan N R

Apr 17, 2020

I learned a lot about finding legal sources and better understanding what the law is and its function in society

By Chloe K

Apr 28, 2020

Really Enjoyed It- some tough stuff but really worth it for people considering a future in the legal profession

By Ragvesh S

Nov 29, 2019

The professor is brilliant and an amazing communicator. Simplifies concepts and makes amorphous ideas concrete

By Hun L

Sep 22, 2017

Most grateful to Professor Ayres and the team for a wonderful introductory course for prospective law students!

By Eeshan S

Jul 31, 2017

Excellent course which not only teaches you key principles of law, but also widens your thinking in core logic.

By Hernando G M

May 26, 2020

Excellent course, I'm colombian, but, the things i learned and studyied, i perfectly apply in muy national law

By Trin P

Apr 17, 2016

Excellent and well-designed course that helps to stimulate critical thinking with concepts and good examples.

By Eliécer M Z

May 18, 2020

Un curso muy serio que es una gran ayuda para ampliar la visión jurídica de estudiantes de leyes y abogados

By Marina G

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent course, outstanding instruction. Thank you, coursera, for making it available all over the world.

By nitish b

Nov 9, 2019

It was a great experience to learn from this series about the law and it's different views and functions.

By Edgar T

Mar 26, 2019

Gives you a good overview of how it is to take up law. Made me seriously consider applying to law school