Chevron Left
Back to Leadership in 21st Century Organizations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership in 21st Century Organizations by Copenhagen Business School

4.7
stars
726 ratings
256 reviews

About the Course

Meet Jim Barton, the new CEO of Santa Monica Aerospace. Jim's job won't be easy: the company's hemorrhaging cash, struggling to regain investors' trust after an accounting scandal, and striving to transform its culture to become a more global competitor. In this course, you’ll travel with Jim as he takes on leadership challenges ranging from strategy execution, to inspiring people, to maintaining an ethical approach. Experts agree that twentieth-century leadership practices are inadequate for the stormy twenty-first-century present. This provocative course equips you with the insights you'll need to rise with the occasion of a rapidly shifting business landscape. The course is based on a book, Harder Than I Thought: Adventures of a 21st Century Leader, by Robert D. Austin, Richard L. Nolan, and Shannon O'Donnell, published by Harvard Business Review Press. Purchase of the book is optional. If you want more information about the book or wish to buy it, see https://hbr.org/product/harder-than-i-thought-adventures-of-a-twenty-first/an/10332-HBK-ENG or http://www.amazon.com/Harder-Than-Thought-Adventures-Twenty-First/dp/1422162591 After taking the course, you'll be able to: o Enact your own personal leadership approach, derived from your ongoing evaluation of how Jim Barton has handled his leadership situation, as well as from established leadership concepts and frameworks; o Avoid leadership actions that might have worked in the past, but are not suited to a newly challenging 21st century world; o Navigate treacherous new 21st century leadership challenges, such as greater reliance on specialized workers or the need to respond to external scrutiny in an increasingly transparent world (and many more); o Avoid "slippery slope" ethical failures, and think more clearly about the separation between public and private life for a 21st century leader....

Top reviews

WS
Jun 18, 2020

Extremely insightfull and practical course,\n\nTouches on a number of aspects of leadership in today's world. I found the reading material very useful, sometimes voluminous but extremely relevant.

IB
Sep 12, 2019

This is a must-take course for anyone considering a position of leadership - even if you think you know everything, you WILL find yourself taking notes and reflecting a lot after each module.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 254 Reviews for Leadership in 21st Century Organizations

By Daniel F

Apr 24, 2020

Overall very nice and helpful. I think all the necessary topics are covered. Not all the links to videos and reading material worked.

By Peder R

May 5, 2016

Interesting course, makes great usage of the coursera platform, and the mix between teaching thinking and discussion on the platform.

By Nicole C

May 10, 2020

Though the topic of discussion was not anywhere near my line of work, I was still pleased with the learning content of this course.

By aymeric p

Feb 9, 2018

This course is very interesting and useful ! It allows a better understanding of the leadership theories in a realistic context.

By Davuluri V R

May 21, 2020

very useful for senior leaders who are looking for transformation in the business model. the content is very well presented.

By Sergiu D

Mar 27, 2016

Great course! While it is very informative and at the point, it is also engaging in the form of the short videos presented.

By Ukhorsky A

Apr 14, 2020

Interesting and fun course that inspires and gives opportunity to think about leadership and innovations in organizations.

By Sari U

Nov 10, 2015

Really good course, high quality! I can recommend this one to anyone wanting to have some more stuff on their bread :)

By Moosa A M

Jul 27, 2020

A very resourceful course to those who wish to have their leadership skills enhanced to 21st century organizations.

By Bongani M

Jul 27, 2020

Very powerful course I will recommend this course to anyone. Thanks to the course instructors and Jim Burton Team.

By Gerry

May 11, 2020

Excellent course to get you to think through your leadership style and to give you some ideas / tools to work on.

By AU M S

Dec 27, 2015

Innovative course content delivered with dramatized episodes. Definitely one of the best courses out there.

By Sade B

Jul 13, 2020

Great information. Really digs deep into leadership skills and team communication for company advancement.

By Muhammad A R

Apr 30, 2020

All course is excellent but week no 6 is third class, please improve assessment criteria of week no 6 only

By Daniel L

May 28, 2020

Loved the structure of this course. I learned so much seeing visual examples of the leadership in action.

By Mehmet S K

Mar 2, 2020

This course is amazing. You can learn something new or something you assumed you have already known.

By Ian S

Oct 24, 2019

A very enjoyable course, packed with relevant information and case studies for the modern leader.

By Elcio M

Sep 1, 2020

Very well structured, very good material to support the learning. I am really impressed. Thanks.

By Dr. B V

Feb 9, 2020

The Course gave insights on various topics which can be related to present business challenges.

By Ghandi T

Sep 19, 2020

Great course and insight into Leadership and Management. Professors are extremely professional

By Deependra K

May 20, 2020

This was a good course. I hope it will help me in the future. thanks for offering its course.

By Declan C

Apr 21, 2020

I just started a new role as a manager and this was perfect, touching all of the key aspects

By Samuel M P

Oct 8, 2016

Wonderful course!!! Very professional, entertaining and educational approach,

10 out of 10

By Tom F

Jun 10, 2020

Extremely useful, easy to follow and the series with Jim Barton is brilliant for learning

By Fabricio A

May 14, 2020

This was an incredible course i would recommended to all who will be in a lead position.