Chevron Left
Back to Leadership Through Social Influence

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership Through Social Influence by Northwestern University

4.7
stars
920 ratings
227 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide learners with a systematic general framework for analyzing persuasive influence situations. Learners will be able to identify different challenges faced by persuaders and to fashion appropriate strategies for addressing those challenges. The broad goal is to provide learners with not only an extensive persuasion tool kit, but also with an understanding of how different tools are useful in different situations. Specifically, the course will address four broad topics: strategies for influencing people’s personal attitudes; strategies for affecting social factors influencing behavior; strategies for affecting people’s perceived ability to undertake the desired behavior; and strategies for inducing people to act on their existing intentions....

Top reviews

DK
Jul 29, 2018

I found Professor O’Keefe's insights and his storytelling to be highly engaging. His videos helped me see new ways I can help my colleagues seize new opportunities to help our team. Thank you.

DA
Feb 2, 2016

Excellent, the entire presentation held together well. It built on itself and the result was a cohesive sense of understanding. This is how it's done, Northwestern. This is how it's done.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 225 Reviews for Leadership Through Social Influence

By Steven Z

Feb 13, 2017

Overall, the course provides useful information and a great framework through which to consider the topic of persuasion and influence. I wish the course came with direct references throughout the video that linked to specific studies and evidence. However, the professor did reference those studies even if he didn't provide the links, so that's a good start.

By Lino I

Jun 24, 2020

I very much appreciated the teaching style of Prof. O'Keefe. His tone and deliverance of the materials where easy to listen to and understand. Great information on the types of Social Influence. Will definitely use the steps presented in my work environment.

By Joffrey W

Mar 18, 2016

The course is very short and can easily be finished in a few hours. That said, the information contained is golden and opened up a new way of looking at persuasion.

Still, the course would benefit greatly from more real world examples and case studies.

By Jakub S

Mar 19, 2020

Useful knowledge on how to effectively influence people in various kind of situations. Especially, how to work on their attitude, prescriptive and descriptive norms as well as how to convert their good intentions into real actions.

By Utku K

Oct 31, 2018

Little brief but with full of insights. The only thing that is missing I think is tools that could be useful when we are dealing with ego and trying to convince people when we want somebody to stop a certain behavior.

By Farhana S

Aug 10, 2020

I've loved this course from the beautiful presentation of course material form the professor to how this course changed my mindset towards becoming a leader or following g a leader

By Paul R

Jun 30, 2020

Extremely well explained, though perhaps some peer-graded assignments and not just quizzes would have been more appropriate to put our newly-acquired knowledge into practice.

By Sultan S

Sep 25, 2017

I really loved it. It would be great to have some good hands-out that explains the process between the different level of influence.

By jordan s

Oct 13, 2017

Quick and simple course. Good explanation of concepts and great examples of how to apply the ideas in real life.

By Ewerson S

Mar 15, 2016

The course provides a good framework to deal with business problems. It is very simple, but effective.

By Kevion D

Jan 27, 2016

Brief but worthwhile experience. I gotta say: I'm developing an interest in Northwestern University.

By Shamma A D

Jul 8, 2020

The course was useful I understand the basic of leadership skills that needs to be in leaders

By Brett J H

Apr 16, 2020

I learned a lot about persuasion and methods to alter others behaviour in a positive manner

By Mohamed A T K

Jan 12, 2016

A short yet informational course. Good informational density for such a short course.

By Himanshu

Jun 6, 2016

Could have included some assignments. The explanations and examples were very clear.

By Yogesh S

Feb 26, 2017

The course contents and arrangement of topics are easy to understand.

By Antoine C

Dec 17, 2015

Good course, very well structured and understable materials

By Christolito M

Oct 5, 2020

learning something every time. its really great.

By Laura D

Apr 2, 2016

Interesting course! Simple but useful material.

By Haoming H

Jan 14, 2016

Short course with some good ideas and examples.

By MB

Dec 1, 2016

How can you not learn AND love Dr. O'Keefe!

By Derek S

Mar 12, 2019

Would like to see peer reviewed sections.

By Jason d

Jul 11, 2018

Good insight but content was a bit short.

By Lim K B J

Mar 23, 2020

Good strategies on influence

By María d C O R

Jun 8, 2017

Preciso y accesible.

Gracias