Chevron Left
Back to Leadership Through Social Influence

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leadership Through Social Influence by Northwestern University

4.7
stars
1,120 ratings
275 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide learners with a systematic general framework for analyzing persuasive influence situations. Learners will be able to identify different challenges faced by persuaders and to fashion appropriate strategies for addressing those challenges. The broad goal is to provide learners with not only an extensive persuasion tool kit, but also with an understanding of how different tools are useful in different situations. Specifically, the course will address four broad topics: strategies for influencing people’s personal attitudes; strategies for affecting social factors influencing behavior; strategies for affecting people’s perceived ability to undertake the desired behavior; and strategies for inducing people to act on their existing intentions....

Top reviews

DK
Jul 29, 2018

I found Professor O’Keefe's insights and his storytelling to be highly engaging. His videos helped me see new ways I can help my colleagues seize new opportunities to help our team. Thank you.

PD
Feb 14, 2021

I enjoyed this course. The layout of 4 weekly sessions and short, clear and concise videos was very beneficia. I feel like I learned something useful and that's always a good thing. Thank you!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 275 Reviews for Leadership Through Social Influence

By Rebecca K

Sep 17, 2019

Nice course

By FIDELDIA, V P

Feb 18, 2020

Thank you!

By GRACE T

Feb 8, 2021

Thank You

By Wedad A

Nov 18, 2020

Thank you

By Deepak P A R

Oct 9, 2018

Excellent

By Noven V

Sep 9, 2020

amazing

By Rishabh S

Mar 30, 2020

helpful

By Stefano C

Mar 25, 2016

top one

By lalendra y d

Nov 20, 2021

great

By Mona A A

Jun 17, 2020

GOOD

By Maher H I

Aug 20, 2019

جميل

By shamma d

Jun 2, 2020

t

By Darshana s

Feb 24, 2020

.

By Deleted A

May 20, 2019

m

By Roberto Z

Jul 26, 2019

The course provide a systematic approach to situations in which you want to influence someone, helping to analyze the different challenges you can face in such an endeavor and suggesting strategies for each of them. It is useful both as a checklist (what is the challenge I am facing now) and for the examples it provides. Clear explanation, understandable language (for a non-native speaker), good scripting / notes system.

By Cristina A

Nov 30, 2020

The course was very clear and thorough about the subject matter. I learned a great deal while taking notes, pausing the video, and reading the transcript. The pacing was also just right. I would recommend this course not only to current leaders, business owners, or aspiring entrepreneurs, but also to people who are thinking about becoming positive change agents in their communities.

By Steven Z

Feb 13, 2017

Overall, the course provides useful information and a great framework through which to consider the topic of persuasion and influence. I wish the course came with direct references throughout the video that linked to specific studies and evidence. However, the professor did reference those studies even if he didn't provide the links, so that's a good start.

By Lino I

Jun 24, 2020

I very much appreciated the teaching style of Prof. O'Keefe. His tone and deliverance of the materials where easy to listen to and understand. Great information on the types of Social Influence. Will definitely use the steps presented in my work environment.

By Joffrey W

Mar 18, 2016

The course is very short and can easily be finished in a few hours. That said, the information contained is golden and opened up a new way of looking at persuasion.

Still, the course would benefit greatly from more real world examples and case studies.

By 张玥

Jan 21, 2021

This course is very informative and inspiring . It is also easy to understand in that it contains nothing but practical thumb-rules with specific real-life examples . The skills professors teach can be used in my work and communication with others.

By Jakub S

Mar 19, 2020

Useful knowledge on how to effectively influence people in various kind of situations. Especially, how to work on their attitude, prescriptive and descriptive norms as well as how to convert their good intentions into real actions.

By Utku K

Oct 31, 2018

Little brief but with full of insights. The only thing that is missing I think is tools that could be useful when we are dealing with ego and trying to convince people when we want somebody to stop a certain behavior.

By Tyler I

Apr 15, 2021

This course has some great informational content on persuasion and social influence.

My only complaint is that I would have liked more interactive assignments to put apply the knowledge learned.

By Manahil S

Dec 7, 2020

It was very informative course. I admired the instructor. His way of teaching was remarkable and the vocabulary used was easy to understand. Thankyou for making it this much easy. 😊

By Farhana S

Aug 10, 2020

I've loved this course from the beautiful presentation of course material form the professor to how this course changed my mindset towards becoming a leader or following g a leader