Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
46,121 ratings

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD

May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

RN

Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Shantinell S

Aug 29, 2022

I really enjoyed taking this course to learn Korean. Thank you to Professor Kang for her effective way of teaching, you made learning in this course easy for me. And thank you to Yonsei University for offering this online course, it is much appreciated and is an inspiration for me to continue to learn more and become fluent.

By Magaly A

Aug 31, 2020

Aprendizaje de conceptos básicos. Aprendizaje de vocabulario, verbos y partículas para construir frases que describan la vida cotidiana. Tips de pronunciación. Contenido en inglés pero con subtítulos en diferentes idiomas. Recurso básico para introducirte en el idioma coreano, comprender conversaciones y participar en ellas.

By Aulia A M

Aug 28, 2020

This is help me to improve my korean language. Usually, I learn korean by myself because there's no korean teacher in my region, and if I want to take korean course, I have to go across province. So, I rather learn by myself. This kind of lessons help people like me to learn about korean by online. Thank you Yonsei University

By Geneva C

Apr 29, 2017

Well structured and paced. It provided a good introduction to the Hangul alphabet and plenty of practice in reading and pronouncing the letters and words. Some of the review dialogue fill-in-the-blanks were difficult but still doable and help to put the concepts together. It is a very good first ever class on Korean language.

By Karla P

Apr 3, 2021

Me pareció muy interesante la forma de enseñar, aún hay palabras que no logro aprender bien, pero las explicaciones siempre fueron las adecuadas; resolvieron mis dudas y me hicieron sentir que tengo en dónde apoyarme para aprender coreano. Seguiré estudiando hasta entender correctamente. ¡Gracias por la ayuda y la enseñanza!

By Angeles G V V

Jul 20, 2020

El curso es sencillo, algunas cosas si se me llegaron a dificultar ,pero nada que la práctica no ayude la me encantó la manera en que explicaba la profesora Seung Hae Kang los vídeos ya que era muy clara su manera de explicar, muy buen curso para pasar el tiempo comprender mejor la escritura y la pronunciación del Coreano.

By Simone P

May 10, 2020

This was a great intro course to Hangul. I speak a little Korean but have always wanted to learn how to read and write. Having focused and guided lessons really helped me learn the alphabet and how to write words better than any app has done for me so far. I'm really happy with the course and can't wait to continue learning!

By Pia P

Apr 17, 2020

The course starts from absolutely nothing and manages to teach its students all the basics necessary for a stable foundation in Korean. The videos are easy to understand and the culture facts important and interesting. Since the course introduces dialogue from lesson 1, it doesn't get boring or dry. Recommended for everyone!

By roger b

Nov 20, 2019

This is a great course that is systematic and clear. I really like the grammar explanations. There is a need to practice the language in each part but it is great for building knowledge and understanding of how sentences are put together. I found my listening skills really improved the most and I am understanding a lot more.

By Thitirat S

Jul 4, 2017

This too difficult but I really thanks my patient and teacher who was asking me to practice by myself. Although, it was only short program for the beginner like me who didn't have the fundamental of Korean language, I got a lot of the basic to the daily life vocabularies and conversations. I really appreciate it <3

정멀감사합니다.

By Elizabeth A

Feb 25, 2017

This course is a great way to get started in Korean . It has enough depth as to be interesting and practical, yet not overwhelming to someone who is beginning. I have taken a beginning Korean course in a classroom with a native-speaking instructor but, as I would have expected from Yonsei, this course is a much better fit.

By SANDRA V J

Jul 5, 2021

It was an intriguing learning experience. The step by step detailed explanation of pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar and sentence construction was a great help. Along with consistent practice, the course aids in effectively teaching the basics of communicating in Korean language. I'm immensely grateful for the opportunity.

By ilse v

Jun 25, 2020

It was really well explained! With this course you get to know the basics of Korean language like the alpahabet, how to conjugate verbs, ask and write simple but useful sentences (like asking for the time), and there are pdf's with the review of each lesson! . I believe it is a good start to learn the language! Thank you!!

By queenie a

Jun 8, 2020

It was my first time studying KOREAN and I'm glad that I decided to do it. The course is very systematic and easy to learn. I learned a lot and now I am going to use this course to further enhance my skills and understanding about the language. Also, the whole lecture series is clear and concise and I love how Ms 강해승 teach.

By VIANA A

Nov 17, 2021

Estoy contenta de haber me inscrito en este curso, pienso deben quedar dudas, el idioma y sus palabras no son faciles, sin embargo el video y el material ayudan bastante, yo no se ingles, podria ser mejor si supiera. Escuchar muy importante como se pronuncian las palabras muy feliz de terminarlo con exito. Muchas gracias.

By Adriana H

Feb 27, 2021

Congratulations! Your course is very good, I'm happy I did it, it was interesting and good for my knowledge because I had no idea what the language was like, the course made it easier for me to learn the basics of the language. Finally I would like you to consider creating more course on this. sincerely my congratulations.

By Sanchez B I

Oct 12, 2020

I loved it very much, the explanations are clear, solve doubts, and the videos, as well as the presentations, are very interactive, dynamic, and attractive, now I have much more knowledge in terms of learning Korean, which is one of my dreams, I'll continue studying and make sure to do better. Thank you very much!!! 감사합니다!

By Lovely H B

Aug 2, 2020

Hello, I first started on my own learning the grammar and then took this course, It made me understand that I was lacking of pronunciation and the basis of history, this really helped me a lot more!

You were supposed to finish this within 5 weeks but i finised it in 4 days, so.. if you are truly into it, you can do it! 화이팅!

By Arlen N T C

Sep 22, 2019

I enjoyed this course! I finished it after coming back for the second time (I didn't have time) and the videos were very helpful to explain the language. The exercises were in my opinion the best part since I had to put into practice and think about what I learned. I think is a complete course as a basic level. Thank you!

By Yulieth D C L

Apr 12, 2021

It's a really comprehensive course, the time is a bit skewed. I had to designate about 1 hour or 1hr30 to each video in each unit to be able to fully understand and internalize the concepts and meanings of the topics and vocabulary. But other than that i really enjoyed the course, it was well pased and beginner friendly.

By Marianne J E B

Sep 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! Before I started, I just wasn't able to understand the structure of the sentences I was reading. During the 5 weeks, that I followed this course I learned how to make sentences and how to pronounce many different words.

I also really appreciated the clear examples used to clarify the matter!

By Natalia X C P

May 18, 2020

Excelente curso, sin embargo mi idioma nativo es el español y me encontré que varias videos de la semana 4 en adelante no se encontraban traducidos completamente aunque puedo decifrar algunas palabras mi ingles no es fluido por lo que esto me causo un poco de problemas sin embargo excelente, me encanto, aprendi bastante

By Johana M

May 14, 2020

Excelent course and even more excellent instructor. The course includes a lot of vocabulary and practice to get familiar with it.

The classes advance at a steady peace. It's never overwhelming and yet teaches you a lot.

I recommend going back on your notes after the final week :) . The syllabus is amazingly well structured

By Amnuaysak T

Apr 15, 2020

The course covers most of the very basic things needed to know and learn of Korean language.

The professor is good and always gives learners a little things that are good to understand the language further.

I recommend anyone who want to learn Korean language to start from this course.

Amnuaysak Thoonsiri

April 15, 2020.

By Nur M B M B

Nov 18, 2022

Assoc Prof Kang Seung Hae has been an amazing teacher. I had so much fun and learned a lot of thing through this course i.e Hangeul vowels and consonants and how to pronounce the words correctly. I can introduce myself and converse in daily life with much practice needed. The course is easy to follow but it is not easy.