Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
39,759 ratings
10,204 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

RN
Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Maria A B M

Aug 16, 2021

Me gusto cada una de las fases en que se desarrolló el curso , aprendí mucho y deseo seguir conociendo aún del idioma coreano que para mi se ha convertido en una meta en mi desarrollo como persona, destacar mis habilidades es un reto que me permitirá alcanzar mis objetivos en la vida. Gracias por la oportunidad!!

By Mohammed U K

Jun 13, 2021

Helped me go from not being able to read, to now being able to read and write, understand new terms and construct sentences. Lessons were very well structured and to the point. The break downs for terms and pronunciations were amazing. The lessons gave a load of additional terms to use to help increase vocabulary.

By Gina T B P

Apr 13, 2021

Realmente el curso te da el primer acercamiento al idioma coreano, explicándote paso a paso las cosas. Como sugerencia, en las últimas lecciones no estaban subtituladas en español. Por lo demás, fue un tiempo muy grato dedicado en este curso para aprender coreano. La profesora también da unas explicaciones buenas.

By Senidamanu M D

Oct 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course. I already had studied the Korean alphabet before beginning this course. So having that knowledge of being able to read helped me a lot with learning all the Korean grammar in this course. If you're a beginner in Korean and want to learn about basic Korean grammar then this course is for you.

By Maria K D

Oct 1, 2020

I'm enjoying this course and the professor is so good at teaching, especially the pronunciation of words or sentences. I really love it! Thank you Yonsei University for giving us this opportunity to learn your language. It's so helpful for us, beginners (I'm a K-pop fan), who wants travel and explore your country.

By Jasmin N

Nov 17, 2018

Love it so much, it's so helpful. I truly love it, and I'm so thankful that this is available to me. It helped me learn so much, and about Korean culture and not just the language. Its also very nice having a person in front of you speaking. It gives me a schedule, which helps me stick to it. I recommend 10/10 !!!

By Olga A

Apr 24, 2021

An excellent course that helped me to understand a very difficult language, even though I was not familiar with it. It was very easy to follow and structured in such a way that kept my interest throughout every video. The professor explained everything in detail. I hope to take more similar courses in the future.

By büşra y

Feb 4, 2021

Harika bir kurstu. Gerçekten çok şey öğrendim. Anlatım açıklayıcı ilk anlamıyormuş gibi ama zamanla aslında öğrendiğinizi ve anladığınızı düşündüğünü. Ancak yeterli mi bu derseniz asla çalışmak ve konuşmak lazım. En kötü yanı da bu konuşacak insan bulamamak umarım bu pekiştirmeyi bir konuşma arkadaşı bulabilirim.

By MIEL C R

May 19, 2020

The modules were well organized and delivered. From an actual communication sample, to pronunciation, to vocabularies, and to exercises-- a solid foundation for learning Hangul is established. I am grateful for having this course and I highly recommend it for those with similar interest of learning Hangul basics.

By Naomi I E M

Oct 17, 2021

I'm so happy learning Korean from this course. I have great experience, especially the material is so easy to understand however the professor is so nice. Thank you Coursera provides this amazing course. It helps me so much and others. Then Yonsei University and Professor Kang I really loves the way u taught me.

By Suthawan D

May 14, 2021

The course is easy to learn via both website or mobile application. You can resume the course wherever you want. I can understand Korean Grammar and got more vocabulary. At the same time, you can practice and improve your pronunciation by speaking following the professor. The course is awesome for the beginners.

By Marium S

Sep 7, 2020

The course was very helpful. The teacher Seung Hae Kang is a very good teacher who knows how to teach everything step by step. I learnt the basics and a lot of vocabulary of the Korean language in a couple of weeks which was really quick, and this all happened because of this detailed course. Thank you coursera.

By jacive c l

Oct 4, 2020

Me gustó mucho este curso ya que aporta un buen contenido para aprender tanto pronunciación y gramática escencial para el entendimiento del idioma coreano así como la respuesta a situaciones normales que se puedan usar muy frecuentemente

La forma en la que está estructurado me gustó mucho es muy útil y práctico

By Deleted A

Aug 17, 2020

I loved First Step Korean! At first I thought I was going to struggle with the absence of romanization, however after mastering hangul I did not struggle at all. Thank you Professor Kang! This was the perfect introduction into the Korean language and I can't wait to continue my Korean language learning journey!

By Lucia O M

Apr 15, 2020

Me ha gustado mucho como es la dinámia de este curo pues no solo tienes lecciones, si no que además tienes ejercicios para practicar que te los aporta la propia univesidad y examenes que motivan a estudiar y practicar. Estoy muy contenta con el curso y gracias a el y a la practica conseguiré mejorar mi coreano.

By Saiyara S

Dec 6, 2018

The breakdown of the course made it really easy to follow and pick up the lessons, especially at the beginning. I couldn't believe that I had been watching Korean movies and dramas for years but hadn't been able to pick up on how to read Hangul but within two weeks of this course, I could easily read sentences.

By Niki B

Jun 28, 2017

I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was broken down into such simple chunks that it is easier to digest than most other sites or programs that I have tried to learn Korean through. I would highly suggest to take this course if you want a good mechanism to study this language from!!

Very pleased!

By Maria

Nov 21, 2021

This course is really helpful for getting the introduction to Korean language and learn from basics to daily life conversations. Its designed in an easy manner for the beginners to learn. The side by side notes are excellent for making the learning even more effective. Thankyou for making the journey valuable.

By Holly W

Sep 2, 2021

T​his class is excellent albeit very challenging if you're a complete beginner. Many of the units require video playback of the lecture to fully grasp the material and pass the sub-unit tests. I highly recommend this class if you're serious about learning Korean and have at least 2-3 each week to commit to it.

By c y

Jul 30, 2021

This unit really helps me even on listening, writing and teach me how to recognize korean alphabet. I also learned additional vocabulary from each lesson, ask and response to the simple sentence. Wish to have "Second Step Korean" and I really like this lecturer as well. Thank you so much for teaching me a lot.

By Tania M

Oct 13, 2020

Al inicio tuve miedo, ya que hace unos meses estuve estudiando chino y lo sentí difícil. Sin embargo, el coreano el un idioma muy enriquecido, sencillo y completo. A pesar de que se me dificulto con los números, aprendí bastante. Aconsejo, memorizar las vocales, las consonantes y los sonidos. Muy recomendable.

By Samyya

May 21, 2020

I highly recommend this course for beginners, and for those who are starting out with the basics of Korean. Even though I already knew hangul, the details in the course gave me a better understanding of how the sounds were made. There is so much this one course did for me in the short time that I completed it.

By Zareen M

Jul 28, 2019

Easy to follow course that teaches important skills. I feel quite confident in the skills I have learnt and hope to continue learning Korean. My only criticism is the three way conversation tasks in the first few weeks is slightly confusing, but it is explained well and the conversations are realistic enough.

By sherley b

Sep 11, 2021

This course was a great beginner course. The lessons were well developed, included important grammatical content and was easy to follow. It helped me reinforce some of the knowledge I had acquired previously. The teacher spoke very well and clearly. I recommended it to all my friends learning Korean.

Thank you

By Nurin Q

Apr 13, 2020

hi. my name is nurin from malaysia. this courses is really help me improve my level. i never take any classes before and i am learning from tv like dramas, variety shows, songs. its is my first time taking lesson and it is good. thank you for this opportunity. i am really happy to be able joining this lesson.