Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
42,323 ratings
10,740 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD

May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

AN

May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By crochet w h

May 3, 2021

I really enjoy to learned this course. Our instructer is really good. She teaches us very easy and simple method that's why I understand it very well. Thank you Mam because of you I learn basic things very easily. I practice it regularly more and more. Thank you Yonsei University to giving me this oportunity

By Laura g d

Apr 29, 2021

Wonderfull, it's a complete course that will help you to understand from the most basic topics like the hangul alphabet to the most advanced step into this course that is complete sentences and conjugation verbs. I highly recommend this course it's a really good beginning if you are interest in learn korean.

By YaFei C

Sep 20, 2020

It's very easy for the students who already have some basic concept of Hangul, it's just like review. But it's also easy for very beginner to learn. It's clear to know what it is different from the pronunciation even the professor didn't mention deeply about it. It's worthy to take time to learn the Hangul!!

By Emilia P C

Aug 27, 2020

Realmente es un curso que esta muy bien pensado sobre todo por que puedes realizarlo con calma ya que las leccines no llevan mucho tiempo.

Y en mi casi al ya saber varias de las cosas que aqui se enseñana me ayudo a reforzar mis conocimientos pero sobre todo hacer que yo no olvide lo aprendidio anteriormente.

By Isabella

May 19, 2020

It's a very organized and practical course. I can see why this course is classical and popular for Korean zero level learners. The grammar content is quite clear and essential. I even make some my own summaries from every lesson (maybe because Korean is somehow similar to Japanese and I know a bit Japanese~)

By Tatianac

Jun 26, 2018

Even if you know some korean this class is a great refresher course along with a great way to further your korean and really learn and understand why certain words are the way they are. This buids a great foundation for furthering the learning of korean language and making learning and studying much easier.

By María d C M V

May 19, 2022

Me gustó mucho el curso. Fue muy entretenido, además de que aprendes sobre la cultura coreana. Lo que si me gustaría es que coloquen la pronunciación en el material, pues hay algunas cosas que no estuve pronunciando bien y tuve que buscar por mi cuenta. Fuera de eso, muy eficiente el programa. Recomendado.

By María S

Oct 27, 2021

En este curso pude aprender mucho sobre el idioma, las explicaciones fueron muy claras y pude mejorar lo que ya había aprendido antes de ingresar, me quedo con una gran satisfacción ya que entiendo mucho mas el idioma lo que me servirá a futuro. Gracias por el esfuerzo invertido en este y los demás cursos.

By Lindsay D R

Aug 16, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso es básico y cubre varias áreas para una comunicación cotidiana. Te lo recomiendo y si debes tener una base de ingles básico para que puedas entender aún más este lindo idioma. Agradezco a la profesora Seung Hae Kang por sus explicaciones y pronunciaciones entendibles para el alumno.

By ELIZABETH P C

May 21, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso, creo que el desarrollo de los temas, así como los ejercicios están muy bien planteados y desarrollados, me encetaría poder continuar con el siguiente nivel. Lo único que no me gusto fue que en algunos videos decía que contaba con subtítulos en español y terminaban siendo en ingles.

By Esmeralda J M V

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent course to start learning Korean from the very basics!

I really recommend it, all the lessons are understandable and the exercises are helpful, of course you need to keep practicing by your own, but this course gives you enough tools to do it~ I'll take the other course given by Yonsei Univertisty~

By RS

Apr 26, 2020

It's a very well laid out course, covering the basics of self introduction, introducing your family, telling time/place, and what you're doing. All useful vocabulary and grammar structure for basic conversations.

Highly recommend to anyone who is starting out with Korean -- I learned a lot from this course!

By Kristi

May 14, 2021

This course was extremely informative and actually kind of fun! I felt like I really challenged myself, and the modules were easy to understand. I had a little bit of trouble with the spoken parts of the tests, but I got through it. I hope to solidify my learning through K-Dramas and K-Pop, lol! 감사합니다 연세!

By Marija B

Jan 23, 2021

The course is really well done, the explanations are clear and useful. The teacher is very pleasant to listen to. I enjoyed taking this course thoroughly. The only thing I might deem as negative is its length. I think it would be great to be able to continue learning with this course long-term. Thank you!

By Cindy H

Sep 13, 2020

Excelente curso, muy explicativo y fácil de comprender. El tiempo empleado es el adecuado para el aprendizaje del idioma, estoy muy feliz por la oportunidad, Seung Hae Kang 선생님 감사합니다 por toda la enseñanza, la práctica diaria nos permitirá reforzar todo lo aprendido en este maravilloso curso. ¡Mil gracias!

By Abhinav C

Aug 10, 2020

This is a superb course. It goes through the basics quickly and really helps develop a grasp pf Hangul and basic grammatical forms. It is not very difficult nor too easy. In fact, a lot of practice is needed to absorb everything introduced in the course. . It would be great to have more modules like this.

By Jocelyn R

Jul 13, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course . I've learned so much during these past five weeks. I really like how the lessons are broken down into short sections as well as the video. The app makes it convenient and easy for me to learn where ever I go on my phone. I highly recommend this course and website to others.

By Ravi K

Oct 31, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

In particular, I enjoyed the tutorials on Mendeley and reference management tools. Highly recommended!

By Mariel J L

Jun 5, 2020

Learned a lot through this course! It will teach you the basics so that you can learn the Korean language easier. It is very helpful when it comes to practicing pronunciation and writing. Practice worksheets are also very helpful. Vocabulary and conversations taught can be used for everyday conversation.

By Jonathan B S

Jan 26, 2019

Before I join this courses, I just learned some words and basic expressions from korean tv shows and dramas and songs. Now I can know the basic expression in Korean, especially the ones that related to numbers, times, and activities. Big thanks to Yonsei University and Coursera for providing this course.

By Cecy N

Nov 22, 2021

Excelente curso, aprendí muchísimo, la maestra Seung Hae sabe explicar con detalle y estoy segura que si la clase fuera presencial, sería más fácil. Que bueno que hacen cursos así y se abren a las personas que desean seguir aprendiendo. Ojalá nunca falten cursos así, es muy alentador. Gracias infinitas.

By Muskaan A

Aug 16, 2021

Amazing Course, really helped me learn the basics of Korean. Taught at a speed which is adequate for new comers and ensures that each concept is repeated enough number of times. The teacher is absolutely fantastic. However, they can include more information about the day to day used words and sentences.

By BEA B M V

Nov 30, 2020

The course was very helpful, especially for beginners like I am. The instructor was able to discuss their points well without overwhelming me with information. I really liked how each topic was broken down into small parts and that the instructor focused on every part, in order to provide a good lesson.

By Alejandra V

Aug 14, 2020

Me encantó el curso, a pesar de que ya tenía algo de conocimientos en el idioma pude reforzar lo que sabia y claro aprender muchas cosas más de las cuales desconocía, agradezco al equipo de Yonsei University por crear un plan tan completo para los que nos iniciamos en saber del idioma coreano. Gracias!

By Nur A N B R

Jul 17, 2020

I really love this course! Perfect for a beginner like me. Thank you so much Professor Kang for your excellent work. I know how to read hangul before I join this course but it is not enough for me. Now I have expand more on my vocabulary and word structures after finished all of it in less than 2 weeks.