Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,606 ratings
9,954 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

RN
Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Karla P H S

Sep 6, 2020

Muy bueno, la profesora explica muy bien. Realmente es un gran curso para las personas que recién empiezan con el coreano. Y para las personas que ya tienen conocimiento básico, también los refuerza y hace que practiquemos con situaciones del día a día, lo cual hace que el aprendizaje sea más ameno.

By Christina I

Jul 7, 2020

The course was easy to follow and the professor gives a lot of good vocabulary to know as well as offering simple and easy to understand breakdowns of how certain sentences are structured. I also liked how she provided help with pronunciation! Really good beginner class to take to know the basics :)

By Natthaya C

Jun 22, 2020

I really like this course.

I have learned and practiced Korean grammar skills.

Speaking, writing and others in this course.

Thank you to teacher Seung Hae Kang for each lesson in detail and easy to understand.

You help me understand Korean better.

And thank you for the free courses and certificates.

By Dahpon H

Aug 27, 2021

A nice introduction to Korean sounds and basics, thank you! I am a beginner and appreciate how each sound is made comprehensible and is repeated on multiple occasions. The method of review and quizzes is useful because it makes the student practice reading Hangul letters and syllables many times.

By Lora C

Nov 1, 2020

This course is very interesting and was discussed in a very understandable way. I love how it started with conversation then pronunciation then to construction, Additional vocabulary was also added in every lesson. Overall, the course make me love korean language more! Thank you, Professor Kang! :)

By Mahder G

Dec 3, 2020

Simply presented, love it! I can't believe I finished a course, which was so unlike me...it was very motivating to test myself through quizes, and see the 'completed' sign for every week. I'm so happy to have done something fruitful, and I highly recommend it to others as well. Thank you so much.

By Hyeonguk R [

Aug 18, 2020

As a Korean who moved to the US when I was very little, I had no chance to learn Korean. Although my parents spoke it all the time, I was more comfortable with English. This course helped me understand the basics and allowed me to communicate more freely with my parents. thank You so much!!!!! :D

By Lois D C

Aug 8, 2020

Prof. Seung Hae Kang really explained every meaning and use of each word. Before, I only use applications in my phone to learn Korean. Thankfully I learned about this course. I am now more eager to learn more about the Korean language. Thank you so much and may you help more people in the future!

By Arvi M A

Jul 4, 2016

Very good! I already learn the basic before actually. But after join this class, i learn a lot since we learn it from a native speaker. Thank you for Professor Kang, i really enjoy your class. Hope you will open the next level so i can learn more about korea, the language and also the culture. :)

By KiwiE 7

Apr 14, 2021

This was a great course! sometimes it was a lot of information in a short span of time, and overwhelming when they would speak very fast. But with practice it gets easier! and still deserves 5 stars!!!!! i will most likely rewatch the videos again and again until its clockwork!! thank you much!

By Nadia S

Dec 28, 2020

All trainers were so helpful and the material of the topic every week was great. I can easily understand every material because the video was very detailed and clear. I want thankful for Ma'am Seung Hae Kang who was being an interactive person in the videos and can easily explain every material.

By KuroNeko95

Jan 5, 2021

It was very helpful. Learned a lot. Instructor/선생님 Seung Hea Kang's lesson and classes were easy to understand and in process already learned to speak Korean a little although not very well yet but hopefully with more practice I'll get better. Planning to purchase the course for certification.

By Bruna T

Oct 9, 2020

Eu amei este curso , foi muito instrutivo , aprendi muito e com certeza vou continuar estudando coreano. Obrigada!

저는이 과정을 좋아했고 매우 유익했고 많은 것을 배웠으며 앞으로도 한국어를 계속 공부할 것입니다. 감사합니다!

I loved this course, it was very instructive, I learned a lot and I will definitely continue to study Korean. Thank you!

By Khushi T

Sep 28, 2020

It's an amazing experience to learn at Coursera, the professor is calm and tries to explain every little point with a complete curiosity which keeps you engaged in learning. It was really helpful to me and I'm glad my university took this step to help us learn better. This platform is worth it.

By Ong S Y

Jul 3, 2020

Interesting slide content with illustrator and important notes. I love the way of teacher in explaining and elaborating the content. Highly recommend for beginner learner to take this course. You definitely can learn in fun environment.

Thank you, Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

By Silvi R

May 2, 2020

I really liked the teaching metod, it is very organised and easy to follow. I was a really nice learning experience and I feel that this course is a great introduction into Korean culture and, of course, language. I recommend it 100% for anyone wanting to start learning this wonderful language.

By Nelly S C U

Dec 18, 2020

This first course Korean was incredible and interesting!!!

It is my first time that I am learning an Asian language and it is interesting because it is very different to the Spanish, English, French and Potuguese in the letters, grammar, and pronunciation, that I've learned in the University.

By Matthew L

Dec 15, 2020

Not a class where you'll learn a bunch if you don't take the time to pause the lectures and practice what's happening. But if you do, it's very helpful in getting more comfortable with and understanding the basics of the Korean language. Would definitely recommend this class to any beginner.

By Dwi R Y

Sep 15, 2020

I've learn korean for 2 years, I need more practice for improve my korean language. So great to know this course specially from my favorit university in korean. Hopefully I can continue my study in there. thank you so much for all the team of "First Step Korean" , this course is help me a lot.

By Khyara J V P

Jun 20, 2020

Es un curso muy útil que me permitió aprender las bases de la lengua coreana, me gustó mucho la manera en la que se presentan los ejercicios de práctica para mejorar la pronunciación. Así mismo me gustó que explican situaciones que son particulares de la cultura y que también afecta la lengua.

By Watan K

Jun 13, 2020

It was really good to start using coursera for improving my korean skills.

Hope this course could be able to give a free certificate to those who are willing to learn, and study korean, also to work there but still a poor student in their country

Watan from Syria ( second year medical student)

By Jesse O

Sep 17, 2019

I liked this course a lot! I just wish that more of the sentences would have had a literal translation so that during a lesson or test you could be able to recall certain vocabulary words. Often ties during tests I could not figure out which words were which and the proper grammar structure.

By Marimar S

Sep 18, 2021

Excellent course. It has the organization required to learn the base of the language. The examples are easy to understand and the lecture notes are useful to practice. You find out that it's less complicated than you think. Literally First Step, and a good step to begin learning this language

By Athirah N b A

Jun 28, 2021

p​ersonally, i really love this course. This perfectly suit for the beginner. it helps a lot for people who really has a basic hangul words. For me, before you enrolled this course, you need to learn to read the alphabets first then it will be easy for you to ace this course. Anyways, thanks!