Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
35,792 ratings
9,148 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 9,210 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Thant N N

Jul 11, 2021

T​he course is very good and very pleasant for begineer and I would like to recommend this course to all who are interested in Korean Language.

S​pecial thanks to the professor from Yonsei University for letting me attend this course.

By A d

Oct 3, 2020

Good course for beginners. The pace is good, the lecturer guides you through each stage. Good blend of different learning styles with the PDFs and listening exercises in the quizzes. I now feel very comfortable with the use of hangul.

By Angeliz L P

Jun 15, 2020

I'm really glad I took the course. It's been really helpful in making basic conversations although I hope there are more online courses about the Tenses and Honorifics for further understanding of the Korean language and structure. :)

By Priya

Jun 4, 2020

I love this course the syllabus the content was very thoughtfully selected for the beginners in korean language it really helped me a lot and am now ready to complete the whole courses provided by yonsei university on korean language.

By Aia

Dec 9, 2020

All lessons was very helpful and detailed. The explanations were very clear, even the history of a certain word is explained. Hoping for more activities per lesson that can really engage a student. Overall I learned a lot. Thank you!

By Ahmad A

Nov 8, 2020

Truly a very good course; I went from having no knowledge of Korean whatsoever to being able to read texts and introducing myself. Very useful and highly recommended for anyone looking to start learning the Korean language seriously.

By Esra K

Oct 14, 2020

I was learning korean about during 2 years. This course is so efficiently and helpfull for me. I will apply to KGSP in this February so I am very thankfull to Yonsei University. I will improve these knowledges and use in South Korea.

By M. A G D

Aug 24, 2020

Realmente me encanto este curso, aprendi un monton, por supuesto que me falta practica, pero lo que aprendi aqui me sirvio para entender lo basico del idioma coreano. Espero que tenga una continuacion este curso, porque es muy bueno.

By Bruna d C G

Jul 24, 2020

O curso foi bem completo e com informações claras e ricas. Construí uma boa base na língua coreana, e isso era o que eu buscava. Recomendaria a qualquer um que quisesse ingressar os estudos em Coreano, nessa língua tão rica e bonita.

By Kannan S

Jul 7, 2020

By the time reached the 2nd module i was apprehensive about continuing the course.

Then started the spark of interest. I was determined to work hard and learn the language.

Great instructor, great inspiration.

Thanks and best regards

By Jeannette C

Jun 30, 2020

First Step Korean was a great introduction to reading, speaking and understanding some basic conversational essentials in Korean. Easy to follow. Clearly explained. Thoroughly enjoyable. Can't wait for Second Step Korean to come out!

By Shivani A P

May 28, 2020

Thank you for this course!!! I feel much more comfortable with conversational Korean, as well as the reading and writing aspects of it. I feel that I may be able to manage on my own for a trip to Korea. Very grateful for your help :)

By JANE A K 1

May 17, 2020

It was indeed a wonderful experience learning 한국어 with professional help. The course was structured very well and taught exceptionally by Ms. Kang. I've learnt more in these few weeks, than I have in months of self-learning.

감사합니다!

By SUKUMAPORN P

Apr 24, 2020

I like the practice and easy to leaning online class .

I like to listening and repeat conversation and voice of teacher.

I have a little basic of this Korean language but this course help me to strong talk a Korean with another guy.

By Nicolli P

Jul 8, 2021

Um curso extremamente completo. Estudei apenas 3 dias por semana e é o suficiente para aprender bastante. Tudo é muito bem explicado, os exercícios são bem completos e me ajudaram muito a fixar a matéria. Obrigada Yonsei University.

By Juliana M L B

Sep 30, 2020

I'm really thankful for this course because it helped me a lot to understand a few Korean vocabularies and conversations. I hope that there will be part 2 of this course that will take us to an intermediate level. Thank you so much!

By Mahek M

Sep 13, 2020

Loved this course. Everything was explained so well. The differences between korean and western culture was portrayed well. Overall an amazing course to start with. I can now read and write korean well and speak and write a lot too!

By Ayesha F

Sep 1, 2020

one of the best online courses in existence... weeks are really well planned out, teachers pronunciations are spot-on and it is overall really fun and interesting.... thank you Ms. Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei university!!!! 고맙습니다 !!!

By Lovely C

Jun 20, 2020

I love that the explanations are easy to understand. I just hope that we could talk more about formal rather than informal examples since you cannot just talk informally to people you've just met. Thank you so much for teaching!!!

By Ayusha T

Apr 2, 2020

It was the best experience to be a part of this learning process. I respect the language and culture even more now. I feel more connected to people by knowing their language. Huge respect to the teacher for perfect teaching.

감사합니다

By zainab k

Nov 30, 2017

First Step Korean course by Yonsei University is a really helpful , easy and student friendly way to learn Korean. As I am still doing the course I am pretty sure that i will be able to speak fluent Korean by the end of the course.

By EVA G B

Sep 24, 2017

Great course. Material outlined in an orderly manner for the student to connect concepts with daily life, eg number and time / date. However, as with any language, success depends on how much you revise the concepts and practice it.

By Alexandru-Nicolae L

Aug 11, 2017

This course is easy to follow, very nicely structured and the instructors make sure you understand the words and their pronunciation. I took this course to prepare for a hospital internship at Konyang Uni and it proved very helpful!

By Deena Z

Jun 3, 2016

With clear explanations, good pacing, and wonderful activities to practice reading, I enjoyed the lectures and am very grateful to be learning such a culturally rich language such as Korean. Thank you for giving me this opportunity!