Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,881 ratings
10,010 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Filter by:

1176 - 1200 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Juan L S

Jul 25, 2021

Gradually, after two weeks studying this course, you will start to read hangeul and understand Korean language. Well organized and complete course: hangeul, grammar, listening, phonetics and basic vocabulary.

By Viridiana N B

Apr 4, 2021

¡Me encanto! Este curso es una gran oportunidad para prender Coreano desde cero, y si ya tenias conocimiento previo te aclara algunas cosas. Se entiende muy bien cada clase. ¡Muchas gracias por la oportunidad!

By Rebeca R

Mar 16, 2021

Fue increíble todo lo que puede aprender sobre el idioma coreano y su cultura. Es increíble el curso y no hay pierde. Aunque en las últimas clases no pude aprender tan bien ya que faltaba traducción al español

By Supawan P

Feb 3, 2021

This course is so excellent, it teaches you how to learn Korean language as a funny and relaxing style. I love the teacher also those available documents. Absolutely, I will recommend the course to my friends.

By Angelee T

Nov 16, 2020

The course was very effective in teaching the Korean language. The visual aids were very helpful in easing the lessons' difficulty. I also appreciate that Miss Kang Seung Hae looks like a gentle teacher, haha.

By MaríaJ P

Aug 27, 2020

Es un curso muy útil, te permite aprender mucho vocabulario dentro de diferentes contextos de la vida cotidiana. Aprendí mucho , que bueno que existan este tipo de cursos de forma tan accesible. Muchas gracias

By Mon A

Aug 15, 2020

Realmente me gustó este curso, voy a practicar mucho. Hubo un detalle con los subtítulos en algunos videos pero no tuve mucho problema, podía entender un poco el inglés. MUCHAS GRACIAS. Lo recomiendo bastante.

By Neng Z W

May 23, 2020

It was a very fun and interesting learning process. Before think I've self studied Korean for a year, this course has helped me to understand more of the basic of the Korean language. I am satisfied with this.

By Kim v B

Apr 24, 2020

Easy to understand, though i have to say, sometimes the Audio in the tests were difficult to understand. But the explanations and examples were easy to understand and to follow as well as to put into practise.

By Anna B

Sep 20, 2019

Easy to follow, descriptive. Very helpful! I recently understood a fluent Korean speaker saying he woke up at 7:00 that morning, and was able to respond, only being halfway through the last week of the course.

By Casey H

May 3, 2019

Prof.Kang taught clearly and her pronunciation is precise. Highly recommend to beginner. But after class U should put a plenty of time on practice to conversance the vocabulary and grammar. Thank you Prof.Kang

By Alba C

Apr 17, 2019

Es un curso bastante completo, explican toda despacio y detalladamente, es fácil de comprender y aprender, da el conocimiento necesario para tener una base en el idioma y poder llevar una conversación sencilla

By Vanessa G P

Jul 22, 2018

It was a very good introduction to the Korean language and helped reinforce things that I had already knew. I really enjoyed the videos and the pace of the course.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone.

By John S

Aug 1, 2021

Thanks to Teacher Seung Hae Kang for her support learning Korean language. I hope that other lessons for Korean language are teaching regularly at Coursera. I want to learn more Korean language. Best regards.

By Tet G

Jun 19, 2021

I've been trying to learn the basics of the Korean language for quite some time now and have also enrolled in an actual class but preferred everything by Yonsei. Thank you so much and I'm off to another step.

By Ni P A S P

Mar 25, 2021

It's simple and straightforward. It's a convenient course both for people who'd like to learn Korean for the first time and for people who'd like to test their basic Korean skills, especially their listening.

By Khoon K C

Jun 4, 2020

I am glad I applied for this course. It helped me understand Korean systematically. Short yet efficient. Every lesson is interesting. It would have been better if there was phonetic guide for each vocabulary.

By Heymi C

May 18, 2020

This course helped me more than I thought it would. I wanted to enrich my understanding of the language and the basics, and I wasn't let down. This course and the professor really helped me achieve this goal.

By Tanchanok C

Apr 14, 2020

This course is really good for learning Korean language. I improve my Korean skill very well. I can reading, writing and listening Korean greatly. The online course is the best way to study in this situation.

By Christian M S T

Mar 27, 2020

By far one of the best courses I've ever attended. It would be great if the courses taught other aspects of the language such as past tense and future tense. I liked the way information was delivered, though.

By Zoubaida A

May 10, 2017

This course gives you a good foundation to build on and combines all aspects of learning the language, from listening practice, to speaking, reading and writing. It teaches essential basics of korean grammar.

By Dasarathan E

Jun 30, 2021

Good course. Before joining I know only Hangul script to read and write only. Self learning through online. from this I am able to speak correctly few sentences. Good for me to improve further. Thanks a lot.

By Alicia S C

Feb 28, 2021

El curso ha estado muy bien. Yo ya tenía una pequeña basa de coreano, pero me ha ayudado mucho ha mejorar.

The course has been very good. I already had a small Korean base, but I improved a lot thanks to it.

By APORVA S

Jul 25, 2020

The course has been structured really well, it makes learning a new language like Korean seem less daunting. If a person is committed towards learning sincerely they can learn it with the help of this course

By Amelia L

Jun 24, 2020

It was a very nice experience learning Korean. I really learn the basics in Korean and was able to produce some words in Korean. Although it is still very "class study" for me, but practice makes it perfect!