Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
37,762 ratings
9,750 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

1626 - 1650 of 9,966 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Onyekachi E

May 17, 2020

The lecturer was awesome and made it easy for me to understand concepts I didn't understand when I took a beginner's course at the Korean Cultural Centre in my country.

고맙습니다

By Sana A

May 7, 2020

I would like to thank you for this course, especially our instructor Seung Hae Kang from Yonsei university and i enjoyed the course and the quiz . I appreciate your efforts.

By Luz M H G

Aug 27, 2017

Hola, recomiendo tomar este curso es muy bueno , y hace facil entender este idioma extrangero, los tutores son excelentes , aprendi mucho para ser principiante, gracias!

By Ana L

Jul 2, 2017

I really liked this course because I learned the basic korean very well and I hope that can will open another course of korean for learn more about this interesting language

By Elena S

Apr 12, 2017

I like this course. It is good for having a good start with korean language. I especially like the quizzes, they are made thoroughly.

Thank you, dear authors of this course!

By Maryghel H M

Aug 6, 2021

Se me hizo un curso muy completo, muy bien pensado y estructurado tanto para la explicación de los videos, actividades y exámenes. Felicidades a la profesora Seung Hae Kang

By Lucia

Jul 14, 2021

This is a great course for beginners who are starting to learn Korean language.I am really happy with everything that I have learned so far.This was a very helpful course!!

By May M M K

Jun 27, 2021

T​his course is very suitable for beginner level. And the teacher’ teaching is very clear and easy to understand. So, If you are beginner level, you should try this course.

By Kyi P S T

Jun 26, 2021

The teaching method fits me well and the lessons are also important enough for the beginners. I really enjoyed studying here and would like to take more classes. Thank you.

By Josefine M M

Apr 5, 2021

I had a fun time learning. Now, I can make out some of the words and phrases in the KDrama's that I've watching. Prof Kang Hae-Seong shi, kumapsinida! Nomo, Anyeonghaeseyo.

By Alya R

Dec 10, 2020

This lesson really helps me to understand the Korean language. I hope there will be another lesson that is more advance than this lesson, that leads to more grammar lesson.

By Kathleen H G R

Sep 26, 2020

Para no tener conociento alguno sobre el idioma, he sido capaz de poder aprender los fundamentos básicos, de leerlos e interpretar sin romanizar. Muchas Gracias, Excelente.

By Clarissa B

Sep 20, 2020

A great online course to learn Korean for complete beginners. Clear and efficient with excellent quizzes and tools to learn the language better. Overall, five stars indeed.

By Sumaiya K

Sep 4, 2020

I was a bit of an advanced learner, but I can see how this would really help the learners that are just starting out! I do wish the quizzes were a bit more dynamic, though.

By Aleksandra P

Jul 5, 2020

Everything is explained nicely and in details. I had some problems with numbers, but that just meant that I need more practice. I wish there was a more advanced course too.

By Damaris

Jun 14, 2020

Me gustó aprender este idioma aunque no fuera por razones académicas, me ayudó mucho que tenga plazo de termino porque si no es probable que no lo haya llegado a completar.

By Ryan C S

Jun 6, 2020

It's a great way to first learn the Korean language in an online platform. I guess I can now understand the language and write basic sentences with the help of this course.

By norhan

May 31, 2020

one of the best courses i've ever .... they only time i was able to write and read hangul . thank u professor seung hae keung , thank u yonsei university . thanks coursera

By Laurenita P

May 27, 2020

Hi! This course is very helpful, I had learned the Korean Language before, but after finishing this course I feel like I learned so much more. Thank you so much! 감사합니다 교수님!

By Maria M

May 2, 2020

The explanations were simple and clear. Though it was an introductory class, I wish it had more listening exercises. I truly enjoyed it and now I am taking the next course.

By Supaporn R

Apr 19, 2020

Suitable for those who want to start learning Korean. Teaching and lecture well I received new knowledge. And when I go to Korea I can read and speak Can follow the lesson.

By diane s

Apr 5, 2019

amazing. teaching approach and class structure made me grasp the language like no other program or app i have tried before. so happy i invested in this course.

Thanks

By Nat W

Apr 26, 2018

Great and helpful course. Easy to understand even for non-native English speakers. Recommended if you are new to this language but require a bit more practice after lesson.

By Monie

Feb 11, 2018

Very good for starting from zero! I recommend writing everything you see on screen in terms of vocab and scripts, the writing practice helps with retention and readability.

By Yuxuan C

Sep 15, 2017

I found the way the professor taught the course materials was very effective. She taught so many useful words that are useful in daily conversations. Love this class a lot!