Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
37,762 ratings
9,750 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 9,942 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Esther M

Aug 3, 2020

Muchas gracias por ayudarme el curso me ayudo mucho aunque me falta practicar ahora puedo entender mejor el idioma. Pasé de solo ver líneas y bolitas cada ves que veía un escrito en coreano a poder leerlo. MUCHISIMAS GRACIAS COURSERA Y MUCHISISMAS GRACIAS MAESTRA KANG.

By Mónica S M R

Jul 14, 2020

¡Excelente curso! Muy fácil de aprender y practicarlo. Muy buena profesora y excelentes explicaciones. Felicidades y muchas gracias.

Excellent course! Very easy to learn and practice. Very good teacher and excellent explanations. Congratulations and thank you very much.

By ITA Y P L

Jun 30, 2020

Un curso muy bien adaptado para aprender y entender, adquieres una correcta pronunciación. A pesar de que no domino el inglés, la Instructora se le entiende muy bien, por lo que sin duda alguna aprender a leer, pero sobre todo en poder entablar una conversación fluida.

By Catalina M C S

Jun 11, 2017

realmente fue un curso muy interesante, ameno, con buenos ejercicios, buena explicación de parte de la profesora... en fin, ahora puedo agregar mas palabras a mi vocabulario coreano, solo resta de mi parte practicar mas y mas la escritura y la pronunciación.

¡ 고맙습니다 !

By polaris p

Nov 18, 2016

Was the maximum because it was a challenge for me because I do not know much English and I almost could not understand it since it was Spanish but it was a challenge for me to read and listen to English besides doing evaluations in English so I am very happy about this

By Rachma Y P

Sep 26, 2021

The material is very detailed, solid, and clear. explanation of the material is very easy to understand. so for beginners it is very suitable. really recommend. I hope this course can add knowledge, and insight who want to continue learning foreign languages (Korean).

By Xuan N L

May 21, 2021

a helpful course for beginners (who are comfortable with the Korean alphabet)

i like the way the course puts emphasis on pronunciation as it helps me sound more native

the lesson notes are concise and easy to understand; the topics covered are useful

highly recommended!

By Maria J R

Sep 18, 2020

Exelente, me ha encantado, aprendí lo principal, quedo con ansias de aprender más, la verdad me gustó mucho como la profesora impartió las clases, me gusto que este curso te da la oportunidad de aprender, un excelente curso si te entusiasma aprender el idioma coreano.

By Zianya S

Mar 11, 2021

Es un curso muy útil que sin duda te guía e introduce en el coreano, lo mejor son los ejercicios y ejemplos que ayudan y facilitan la comprensión del idioma. El único inconveniente es que los subtítulos en español a veces desaparecen o simplemente se ponen en inglés.

By Eugenia M E G

Jan 11, 2021

Gracias al curso, pude comprender más de la estructura y la gramática del idioma.. me encantó, aprendi muchas palabras nuevas y ahora a seguir avanzando con diversos cursos para lograr una mejor fluidez a la hora de comunicarme❣🤗 Muchas gracias, excelente docente😘

By Sofia B

Oct 11, 2020

A decir verdad, los idiomas no son mi mayor fuerte, en cambio, intenté con ese curso para aumentar mis conocimientos y de paso, tener ampliación de posibilidades académicas y laborales. Estoy maravillada con la facilidad de aprendizaje y lo organizado de los módulos.

By Mariz A K P

Aug 17, 2020

I think this course is great especially that it's free. I must say that learning Korean is really challenging though, maybe because our language and accent is really different from Korean's, so I had a bit of difficulty learning it. Overall, I'm thankful. More power!

By Ines

May 19, 2020

+ Well done videos and notes altogether

- The quizes were quite easy. I have missed 'all-together' quiz with 아요, 와요, 해요 and others.

- It was not clear for me at first, that all these endings are for present tense. Or aren't they?! Still not sure.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH! :)

By Brianna L

Jul 25, 2017

This course is very easy to follow and I've learned a lot! I would recommend it to someone who is learning Korean and wants a good basis for understanding the language as it is spoken and written. I feel more confident continuing my learning after taking this course.

By Joselyn H M

Mar 7, 2021

Hay algunas cosas que me gustaría que se explicaran mejor, como las partículas y en que caso se usan. Fuera de eso creo que es un curso básico donde aprendes muy bien y con una maestra nativa donde escuchas claramente como se pronuncian las palabras. Muchas gracias.

By mariee__

Feb 22, 2021

Este curso es muz bueno, me ha ayudado con la pronunciación, que antes no podía hacerlas, ahora estoy preparada para mi siguiente curso LEARN TO SPEAK KOREAN que lo recomiendo un montón, me ayudado, estoy muz agradecida con este curso, que además es gratis. GRACIAS!

By Beverly

Aug 31, 2020

This course is great for those who want to have the basic understand of Korean as well as the basic sentence formation.

For people who want to learn Korean, this is a good start.

I would suggest first to get to know the alphabet (really memorize and get to know them).

By K N W

Jul 8, 2020

This course is really helpful for those who learning Korean language by them self and it's really easy to understand and the lecturer explain so clearly and i learned so many new words. thank you so much Yonsei University Korea for giving this valuable opportunity.

By Christian J Q

Dec 16, 2020

Excelente la profesora y el curso. de no saber absolutamente nada, ahora tengo un buen manejo básico del coreano. Estaría para mejorar que los últimos videos a partir de la unidad tres funcionen los subtítulos en español. Muchísimas gracias. La profesora EXCELENTE.

By najwanajihah

Nov 12, 2020

What a great learning. I totally enjoyed throughout this course! She was very engaged while teaching. She also explains clearly in simple words which makes everything seems much easier to understand. I'm now very excited to learn more Korean language. Kamsahamnida!

By Sena D

Jun 26, 2020

I've learned some Korean phrases from Korean dramas. With this course, I learn about the alphabet as well as phrases. It is enjoyable to learn how Korean alphabet is formed. Lecturer's instructions were quite clear. It helped me to reinforced my previous knowledge.

By Shrubaboti B

Aug 3, 2017

It helped me learn the basics of Korean really well. Because of the strong foundation that this course empowered me with, I'm now able to learn more advanced grammar of the language easily. It's a very good way of getting acquainted with the language for beginners!

By Andrea C

Oct 15, 2020

Excelente curso introductorio del idioma coreano. Empieza desde los más básico hasta expresiones la vida cotidiana con las cuales podrías entablar una conversación sencilla con un nativo. El materia adicional que ofrece es muy bueno,resumido y sencillo de entender