Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
35,952 ratings
9,206 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

DD
May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 9,274 Reviews for First Step Korean

By SORAIA D M F

May 19, 2020

This course was an excellent experience since I had lived in South Kores but never learned the language. Thank you so much for your lessons, I believe that with more practice I can perfection my pronunciation and keep learning in-depth the language

By alexandria

Jul 21, 2019

this class has made me extremely comfortable with speaking in korean and has helped me learn through repetition and practice. I truly believe that this is the best way to start learning because this course and professor explains everything very well!

By Thais M

Dec 17, 2017

I loved this! I was very helpful and a great base to start studying Korean. There was a lot of things that I didn`t know and couldn`t find answers on the internet. However, I`ve found the answers in here. Thank you for these classes. It helped a lot!

By Stephanie S

Jan 9, 2017

Very helpful to first-time learners of the language! Thankful for the clear explanations and the pacing of the course. It really is difficult to learn a foreign language but with guides like these, the experience becomes more motivating and engaging!

By Kim K N

Jul 27, 2021

Very well presented to the beginners with zero understanding of Korean language. Learning bits by bits every week and eventually able to form basic simple sentences. The teacher is very thorough in pronunciation and explanation on grammar and vocab.

By Nadia M C L

Aug 1, 2020

It was amazing! I had some problems at the beginning with my schedule so I accumulated some classes, but I manage to do them before the deadline. Thanks a lot! I would like to know if there are more Korean courses like this one to continue studying.

By PHRAEPHLOI K

May 13, 2020

Super simple and easy to understand especially for people who have no background knowledge of Korean. Although the lesson may be a little fast but revising and doing the worksheets by yourself definitely help and even make the course more effective.

By Num Y H

Apr 15, 2020

I'm always ashamed that I couldn't read hangul, despite my grandmother being a Korean. I'm so glad to find this great online class that provides me an opportunity to learn my grandmother's mother tongue. Thank you very much and strongly recommended!

By Adam A

Jan 20, 2020

I read a lot of reviews complaining that everything was in Korean text. Before this course I took the time to go learn the alphabet from YouTube videos. This probably helped a lot with the course. Before you start this course, go learn the alphabet.

By kiyon h

Jul 29, 2017

This course was really great at getting me to understand certain aspects of the language that I didn't understand on my own. I loved watching the Professors videos and hope that I can meet her one day to let her know that she helped me learn Korean!

By Angela R

Mar 28, 2021

This course makes learning Korean much easier than going in alone. The material is easy to understand and the easy to pace for busy individuals. I feel confident that I can continue learning Korean with the skills I have gained through this course.

By Ann J G C

Dec 12, 2020

Professor Kang is an excellent teacher. The course is easy to follow, the learning materials are mostly written in Korean which encouraged me to get used to reading and writing the language, and of course the examples are all helpful and practical.

By Reina

Nov 26, 2020

I really like how the course is broken down into bite-size topics that are also presented in an understandable way.

I appreciate the quiz after every lecture as it really helps me see if I understood the lecture well.

Thank you, Prof. Kang Seung Hae!

By María J M

Jul 19, 2020

Amazing course. I'd been struggling with learning Korean, but with this course I managed to advance some more in this path. I still need to practice more, but this material is a great start to clarify some questions I had, especially in vocabulary.

By Shanaz S Z

Jun 10, 2020

This is by far the most elaborate Korean Language class I have ever attended and I am eternally grateful to Yonsei University for this amazing experience. The teacher was very knowledgeable and she explained everything in a very understandable way.

By Laryssa S R d L

Aug 27, 2017

This is a very good course. You can learn the important basic things from the Korean language. You will be able to understand perfectly the Hangul Alphabet. The teacher is great and has a good teaching method. I am very satisfied with this course.

By Lyana L A

Aug 1, 2021

I've learned a lot! I also like Prof. Seung Hae Kang, she's so wall mannered and fun to listen to. I hope to see personally once I'll study as a foreign student in Korea. Thank you for this course! I'll be getting may certificate next week! 감사 해요!

By Layla

Jul 26, 2021

I loved this course. Its my first time learning a new language and I've grown even more curious through this course.

T​he course was beautifully laid out and was made so easy to understand!

I​'ll carry on trying to be more and more fluent! <3

감사합니다!

By Yan O

Jul 4, 2021

Очень насыщенный курс для начального уровня. Много информации. После курса можно рассказать о себе, своей семье и увлечениях. Разбирается и грамматика с простыми глаголами. Сертификат особой роли не играет. Можно пройти курс как вольный слушатель.

By Hilal A

Jun 21, 2021

I have started to course so long time ago but I could just finish it. It was really so good. Now I can talk about daily life, time and date, my family so easily. Thanks for Yonsei University and Seung Hae Kang! I really enjoyed and learned a lot^^

By Ynna V

Apr 14, 2021

Because of this, I was able to learn the basics of 한글. From writing to reading and even conversational phrases to say. When I watch Korean dramas, movies, and variety shows, I can now understand some of the words and sentences they say. 정말 감사합니다!

By Mia D

Dec 9, 2020

The Korean language is amazing, before I thought I wouldn't be able to keep up but when I started studying this beautiful language here I totally changed my mind! Just do it! The teacher makes it easy than it seems to be she's a wonderful teacher!

By Manish J

Nov 7, 2020

Amazing, amazing, amazing.........browsed through hundreds of youtube lessons but could not find a course in beginner korean as comprehensive and learner-friendly as this GEM on Coursera, thank you Yonsei, thank you Professor Kang and Coursera !!

By Kia S

Aug 23, 2020

Excellent course for first time learners! Just a bit more practice repetitively and learners will surely be ready to amp up their Korean language learning in no time. It's very easy to follow too, especially with the way the videos were presented.

By Mehriban K

Aug 16, 2020

Уважаемая профессор Kang, выражаю вам огромную благодарность за те знания, которыми Вы делитесь с нами! Курс был очень продуктивным и интересным! Всё очень доступно, понятно и интересно. Отдельное спасибо Coursera и Yonsei University за этот курс!