Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
40,560 ratings
10,375 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

RN
Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Lina M T

Apr 13, 2017

This course is very practical, dynamic and understandable to people who want to learn about Korean language and Korean Culture. Maybe you should include more videos or information about traditions and customs and maybe open the second course of this language.

By Joseline G B

Dec 26, 2020

It was a really course! I learnt a lot. I definitely recommend it! But you need to learn Hangul really well so you don't suffer while you're learning new content. She gives time to pronounce after her. You can learn to read, speak and write! Excelent course!

By humam a

Jul 28, 2020

Professor Kang is very nice. She taught the course with dedication. it was an amazing course for beginners to learn hangul. She explained grammar rules in details. I would like to recommend this course to everyone who is willing to learn the Korean language.

By paula s m c

Jul 18, 2020

Pude acceder al curso de manera completa y certificada gracias a una beca otorgada por Coursera, estoy muy feliz de poder iniciar el aprendizaje de un nuevo idioma con material de calidad como l que ofrece esta plataforma. Estoy muy feliz con los resultados.

By Angelica S D

Jul 2, 2020

A great course to start learning the Korean language for those interested. The incorporation of intermediate words to the basic track made learning easier and more fun. I hope there will be more courses where intermediate and advance learning can be applied.

By G3_032_Golhar S

Jun 27, 2020

This course is really proving very helpful to me. Thank You for this. Many of my doubts are being cleared. Also this is the first time I am learning any new language and I am really enjoying this. All thanks to this course and the instructor. Gamsahamnida...

By Anita S

Jun 24, 2020

I took Korean basic offline years ago and decided to learn it again recently. This course is the best and covers up what I got from the offline class with the systematic courses. Now I'm ready to take the next level, thanks to Coursera and Yonsei University!

By Nayera Y

May 29, 2020

I can speak Korean now, and I'm so glad for that <3

Thanks a lot 우리 예쁜 Seung Hae Kang 선생님 :D

안녕하세요 ! 저는 나예라라고 합니다. 나이는 27 삽니다 . 저는 한국어를 공부하는 학생입니다. 제가 영어학당에서 일하는 사람입니다. 한국 디자인을 아주 좋아합니다. 그리고 한국에 가서 디자인을 배우고 싶습니다. 5년 후에 디자인 회사를 세우고 싶습니다 .그럼 정말 만나서 반갑습니다 ^^ .

By Shehani H N

Apr 26, 2020

This course can be introduced as the best course useful for anyone who does not have any idea on Korean language and Korean culture.The content of this course is easier to understand and staff always help to resolve our doubts. So thank you for your support.

By Maanvendra J

Dec 6, 2021

This is perhaps the best beginners course I have come across for learning the Korean language.I have gained immense confidence by completing this course and I am determined to continue and develop my learning of the Korean Language to a more advanced level.

By Harni L

Jun 20, 2021

Thorough teaching from basics is crucial and it has been thought perfectly...could have included colors. animals ..and those words. All together teaching was wonderful ,now i can confidently strike up basic conversation in Korean. Thank you for the effort..

By SalvadiDivya S S

Sep 20, 2020

I had such a wonderful experience learning first step korean. The teaching and material are easily understood and gives us scope for maximum learning. I will utilise all my learning to excel myself speaking in korean. Thank you so much for this oppurtunity.

By Ranna Z

Sep 20, 2020

The course is so well structured. You will be able to learn at the beginners' level without any previous experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone. If there's any advanced course from this instructor, I would be more than happy to start immediately!

By ANOUSHKA M

Sep 2, 2020

i've tried learning Korean through many different ways before, but never have i been able to understand and grasp the concept the way Ms. Seung Hae Kang taught, her teaching made it seem less of a monotonous teaching process but more of a joyous experience.

By Miel B

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you so much! This course was very helpful in addressing some of the frustrations I have regarding my lack or rather slow pace of understanding korean conversations when watching TV series or interviews. Hoping to enhance my fluency in the near future.

By Daniela F S R

Aug 8, 2020

Is very usefull and great to use. If you are compromised with your own learning, you will achieve all your goals. This course is very helpfull and is well estructured. You can easily follow the instrucctions and learn how to speek in a basic korean language

By Deleted A

Jun 4, 2020

Muchas gracias por este curso, esta muy bueno, me gusto porque aprendí algo de coreano, las vocales, consonantes, etc. Es bastante completo, lo que me costo entender al principio fue las consonantes, pero se pudo avanzar en eso bastante al pasar las semanas

By Leah F D R

Apr 27, 2020

Ms. Kang explains the course really well! She's like a mom or aunt patiently helping me to learn a new lesson or story. Thank you so much! I still have to review more to be fluent but this course is a stepping stone to a subtitle-free korean drama fan life.

By Sarah M

May 6, 2018

I loved taking this class. I was dying to get back home from work everyday to learn something new. The exercises were fun to do and the teacher explained really good so I didn't have any questions after watching the videos. I would love to take a 2nd class.

By Carolina A

Jul 31, 2017

The course content is what I expected and having an assessor whose native language is the one she's teaching is a plus. The platform is easy to use and the tests and learning material are very helpful. One thing that I would like to add are grammar lessons.

By Fernanda P

Dec 12, 2021

Me gusto mucho el curso,la explicacion,los ejemplos y las evaluaciones aunque fue un poco corto y en algunos casos como las ultimas clases, los suptitulos no aparecian en español asi que fue un poco complejo para mi poca experiencia con el ingles. Gracias

By Ankita P

Oct 28, 2020

This course has been an excellent for starting from ground zero. Teaching the alphabet and gradually increasing the difficulty level throughout the course was very effective. I hope to see more content and advanced levels from Yonsei University. Thank you!

By Claudia S B T

Mar 11, 2017

Me gustó mucho este curso, sin duda el idioma coreano es bastante complejo, pero interesante al ver como lo crean, como crean las palabras y las conversaciones, son patrones y sonidos que poco a poco se me hacían familiares. Muchas gracias por compartirlo.

By Chan, F R Z

Aug 30, 2020

If you are a beginner in learning Korean language this course is perfect for you! It helped me a lot with the basics of Korean language. Now I can read and somehow understand and express myself using this language. I'm so happy! Thank you for this course!

By Alicia A

Aug 3, 2020

ESTOY MUY AGRADECIDA Y COMPLETAMENTE SATISFECHA CON ESTE CURSO, HABERLO APROBADO FUE UN RETO Y LO LOGRÉ GRACIAS A LAS EXCELENTES CLASES MUY BIEN EXPLICADAS, LO QUE HE APRENDIDO ME SERÁ MUY UTIL EN MI ESTANCIA EN COREA DEL SUR. GRACIAS A YONSEI UNIVERSITY!