Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
35,909 ratings
9,195 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 9,246 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Karla A

May 31, 2021

Es un curso relamente interesante, desde el inicio te atrapa por completo. En cuanto el aprendizaje es extraordinario dado que se ven las unidades con un buen tiempo y una explicación muy detallada. Es un excelente inicio para aprender el idioma.

By Nour A

Jan 31, 2021

i learn so much from this course, my korean ability improve so fast in reading, listening and understanding it is beacuse of the way profesor explaination is so easy to understand. i hope i can always improve my korean language after this course.

By Aigerim M

Aug 9, 2020

This is the best course for beginners to learn Korean from the alphabet to the daily life conversations! It teaches basic rules in making sentences and a lot of useful vocabulary. Thanks to Dr.Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University for this course!

By Yosita S

May 12, 2020

It's a little bit hard because I studied Chinese before. But I understand when you teach me about Korean grammar. Thank you for this class and I'll keep going to practice more and more when I have free-time. Komapseumnida, Kang-seonsaengnim =^w^=

By Yonca A

May 30, 2019

Well organized introduction to Korean, providing necessary vocabulary and grammar. What I liked the most about this course were the information about Korean culture and how the pronunciation of words change, when they're combined with each other.

By Tuunik-Madza'a

Dec 23, 2018

El curso da la oportunidad de tener un horario flexible, y las clases están bien resumidas, de tal manera que uno aprende lo suficiente en clase y lo puede practicar por si mismo en otro momento, esto es muy útil para cuando uno está muy ocupado.

By yojaira o

Sep 29, 2020

Realmente me gusto mucho el curso ya que aprendí mucho a cerca del idioma coreano, empecé desde cero creí que no lo iba a lograr y en el transcurso de mi aprendizaje me pude dar cuenta que con esmero y dedicación se logran, estoy muy agradecida.

By Kanit P

Jul 3, 2020

This course give me a lot of basic information. I,m really thank to the instructor. It'll be better if all practices give all English meaning and how to pronounce them. At last, thank you really really much it my honor to find this course thank.

By Valeria S

May 19, 2019

This course was awesome as an introduccion to Corean language, the notes and videos were clear enough. The only element I had problems with was with the pronunciation explaination, but I think pronunciation is difficult in general. Great course!

By radeyah

Feb 3, 2019

it was quite easy to understand through the follow ups

and the videos, re-watching it more than once also helped exponentially

it is a great way to review common topics used in South Korea.

overall i enjoyed is it and would only thank the teacher.

By Minty_ j

Jul 16, 2021

I've learned a variety of vocabulary with this course. I've taken other Korean courses in the past, but it was difficult to understand. But with this course, I finally understood all these verbs and particles! The best Korean course I've taken!

By Ashley k

Sep 24, 2020

Thank you very much, for taking your time to explain everything in Korean and help us understand by linking it to our language. Teacher Kang Seung Hae went into great detail about everything, even explaining a little bit of history and culture.

By catalina a f

Jul 23, 2020

Creo que es un muy buen curso para empezar a aprender coreano. La profesora explica muy bien y el contenido es abordado de manera didáctica y fácil de entender. Ademas su estructura permite mejor organización y el material también es muy bueno.

By MARIA D L A F M

Jul 6, 2020

Realmente me gusto, me parece muy útil la información de cada unidad, la práctica y repetición del contenido durante la lección es de gran ayuda y facilita la comprensión, una gran profesora y el contenido del material audiovisual es muy bueno.

By Diana G M V

Jun 25, 2020

Fue un buen curso, me gustó que se repiten las cosas, que te explican. Si tu nivel de Inglés es básico (como es mi caso), serás de comprenderlo, ya que en algunas lecciones los subtítulos dejan de aparecer en español, y solo aparecen en Inglés.

By Laura S

Mar 18, 2019

This course is worth to try. in about 3 days i can read korean hangeul (mostly i used it to read hangeul in my fav korean variety shows). After completed the course i can understand conversation in daily basis. thank you, Ms. Seung Hae Kang :)

By Bibiana R

Feb 15, 2017

Gracias Universidad de Yonsei, Coursera, Hae Kang y Rachel! Aprendí muchísimo, es muy difícil el idioma, pero estos primeros pasos me han dado luz. Es una buena metodología. Espero tener más tiempo para repasar y seguir. Muy agradecida! 안녕히 계세요

By Shauntae’s j

Jul 1, 2021

this course was very helpful, not only did i enjoy learning, i also have a lot more knowlegde on the language and look foward to being able to put my knowledge from what i learned to the test. I definitely recommend this to beginners in korean

By Sadia A T

Jul 9, 2020

Completing this course is a really good step for those learning Korean Language.This course is planned wisely and helps learn Korean in an easy way.I'm amazed how quickly I learned to read,write and speak basic Korean after I took this course.

By DASHIFU

Nov 23, 2017

It is really great to have the chance to learn First Step Korean on Coursera, it is easy to understand what the teacher is saying and the teacher is great! I felt fulfilled and I will continue to learn Korean in the future. Thank you Ms. Kang!

By Anne B

Feb 17, 2021

I learned a lot through this course. It is very understandable and you can stop the video whenever you want if it goes too fast. Even though it is an online course, you still get the interaction that you wish from physical classes. Thank you!

By Ponglada N

Nov 4, 2020

It's very good for the beginner who doesn't even know a single Korean alphabet. This is very good start and easy to understand. The instructor is very nice! However, it's a bit fast on vocabulary. Need to spend more time to review the lesson.

By Patrick H

Aug 20, 2017

Excellently structured course for learning and getting to grip with the basics. Designed for those who have no previous experience with the Korean language. First module concentrates solely on the Korean alphabet, reading and writing Hangeul.

By Anshika D

Aug 10, 2020

I must say that this course is (if not the best, then) one of the best to start learning Korean language from Level 0. As from my own experience, I would highly recommend this course to everyone who is interested in learning Korean language.