Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
33,836 ratings
8,678 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

PW
May 27, 2021

useful course for fundamental learners. Everyone can take this course easily.\n\nthe instructor gives me good teaching and more information.\n\nI can basically talk to Korean after finished the class.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 8,649 Reviews for First Step Korean

By MONTSERRAT L A

Mar 19, 2021

Me encantó el curso. Además de aprender sobre el alfabeto coreano y mucho vocabulario, me siento preparada para poder tomar el segundo nivel de este idioma.

Sin duda alguna es el comienzo ideal para aprender coreano. 연세대학교 감사합니다 !

By Karen P

Mar 8, 2021

Great intro of the Korean language if you have little to no knowledge of it. Print out the lecture notes prior to the lesson so you can follow along and make your own notes along the way. Thank you for making this course available!

By Nandini R

Oct 11, 2020

A great course! Love how vocabulary are repeated from time to time to help refresh your memory. The introduction and description of the history of the characters was an insightful section. Absolutely enjoyed working on this course.

By Tasnim J

Sep 14, 2020

This course was really helpful for me. As i was a toddler in hangul, i didn't know anything about korean alphabets or how they're are written but now i can speak, read and write hangul. Thanks to the teacher who taught this course.

By Josie A

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you for giving this free lesson on Hangeul. This was very interesting, entertaining and I gained lots of new learning from this course. Keep up the great work. Hoping to see new lessons in the future. Thank you. Kamsahamnida!

By Paulina E E B

Jul 26, 2020

Hola mi nombre es Paulina, mi idioma natal es el español, siempre quise aprender y entender la base del coreano, por lo que este curso me ayudó bastante, espero mejorar y reforzar lo aprendido, muchas gracias por esta oportunidad!!

By Abegail B

Jul 10, 2020

This is a fun course for people who want to learn the Korean language. The lessons are useful in everyday life and the way it's presented was very clear and comprehensible even to those with little or no background in the language.

By Ansareeya K

Jun 4, 2020

I think this course is appropriate for those who don’t have basic in Korean. It encourages you to learn about this language in the future. The teacher’s pronunciation listens easily. Thank you for makes me love the Korean language.

By Rita F

May 27, 2020

Me encanto en cada de ser impartidas las clases empezó por el alfabeto dar tiempo para estudiar los vocabulario aprender más verbos cómo leer al momento y formar oración, conversaciónes cortas pero precisas muchas gracias profesora

By Deleted A

May 10, 2020

I just have finished all the course completely in short time and the course really help me for understanding the Korean even more than before. It is very good and every lesson is all easy understandable. I would like to learn more!

By Michelle S

May 9, 2020

It helps me a lot to learn basic Korean. I can now read and speak little by little because of this course. Through continuous practice, I know that someday I'll be fluent in Korean. Thank you so much for helping me to learn Korean.

By Jessy K

Dec 23, 2017

Loved it! It was pretty helpful. I would be up to taking Korean to the next level. *side-note* I would love it if you included romanization translation to the words pronounced just so its easier to distinguish the words pronounced

By Sabou A

Oct 25, 2017

The course it's very well organized and provides a lot of examples and explanations. I recommend it to everyone who wants to learn Korean language as a first step. I am happy I can read and say a lot of things in Korean. Thank you!

By Carlos A P R

Mar 12, 2016

This really is a great course, it has a lot of content to learn, is concise, easy, and practical. Also the staff does his best at explaining doubts and questions. If you like Korean, or want to start learning Korean this is a must.

By Aletse B

Apr 4, 2021

Me encantaron las clases, aunque me hubiera gustado que se explique la manera de conjugar los verbos en cada tiempo: presente, pasado y futuro.

Agradezco que este material sea gratuito para quienes queremos aprender coreano.

감사합니다 ♡

By Cristina S

Dec 23, 2020

Me encanto este curso ya que me ayudo bastante a aprender un idioma totalmente diferente a mi nativo que es el español. Gracias por agregar subtítulos para que las personas que hablan español puedan conocer este maravilloso curso.

By Aye M M M

Sep 21, 2020

This course is really great for me. I wanted to learn korean language and didn't get any opportunity for me. But now, I learnt korean basic level and I can speak, read, and write and can listen some Korean language. So 고맙습니다 선생님.

By Emily L

Aug 27, 2020

Would be great if there was more new practice instead of just lecture notes but this was great! I've learned the basics of Korean several times but this was very in-depth especially with the hangeul lessons and easy to understand.

By Yashodhan D K

Jul 17, 2020

Very good course. Content is chosen with careful consideration and taking into account audience across the world. Hence at no point in time course gets difficult. Easy recommendation for someone who is absolute beginner in Korean.

By Apsara M

Jul 3, 2020

This course is very much helpful for those people, who wants to learn Korean from very beginning. It was a wonderful experience for me to learn new language and I would like thank Respected Professor Seung Hae Kang and Coursera...

By Korie D H

Jun 14, 2020

This was a great course. It broke down simple phrases into easy to learn sections. I would like to take it over again, just to make sure I didn't miss anything. The instructor took her time, going over each section multiple times.

By Jonathan R

Apr 28, 2020

La profesora explica cada tema de manera que puedes entender sin importar que no tengas conocimiento previo del idioma, puedes aprender desde leer el alfabeto coreano, hasta hacer y responder preguntas cotidianas. Excelente curso.

By Abigail W

Dec 22, 2018

This course has been very informative. The instructor was great, and I feel like with a little bit more studying, I will be able to fully grasp everything I've learned with this course, as well as speaking it correctly. Thank you!

By Chan H Y

Aug 8, 2016

It is fun! Able to speak and read Korean after taking up this course. The sequence of syllabus is good from basic to daily essential. I hope they make more Korean Courses so we can continue to learn Korean after First Step Korean.

By Dewi R

Feb 23, 2021

As a non Korean native speaker, this course was very easy to learn and understand. All the courses materials given by Prof. Kang Seung Hae also easy to catch even for someone's with no Korean language knowledge at all. Thank you!