Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
42,701 ratings
10,821 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT

Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AN

May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Bobby H

Jun 7, 2020

Thank you Prof Seung Hae Kang & Yonsei University to make Korean Language Lesson for Beginner so easy , you have taught me a lot, i hope you will not stop make some korean language lesson for us who curious and passionate learning Korean Language.

By Hannah O

May 19, 2020

This course was very helpful In starting to learn Korean. The examples were very easy to understand. The practices was also very helpful and makes it easier to do conversations. I also liked the extra vocabulary that was given during the lectures.

By Maiara S

Apr 4, 2022

Bom, sempre tive vontade de aprender coreano com algum curso, e eu fiquei muito feliz e satisfeita em poder ter concluido esse curso que me ajudou a compreender bastante coisa e sei que levarei para o resto da minha vida de aprendizado do idioma.

By Karla A

May 31, 2021

Es un curso relamente interesante, desde el inicio te atrapa por completo. En cuanto el aprendizaje es extraordinario dado que se ven las unidades con un buen tiempo y una explicación muy detallada. Es un excelente inicio para aprender el idioma.

By Nour A

Jan 31, 2021

i learn so much from this course, my korean ability improve so fast in reading, listening and understanding it is beacuse of the way profesor explaination is so easy to understand. i hope i can always improve my korean language after this course.

By Aigerim M

Aug 9, 2020

This is the best course for beginners to learn Korean from the alphabet to the daily life conversations! It teaches basic rules in making sentences and a lot of useful vocabulary. Thanks to Dr.Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University for this course!

By Yosita S

May 12, 2020

It's a little bit hard because I studied Chinese before. But I understand when you teach me about Korean grammar. Thank you for this class and I'll keep going to practice more and more when I have free-time. Komapseumnida, Kang-seonsaengnim =^w^=

By Yonca A

May 30, 2019

Well organized introduction to Korean, providing necessary vocabulary and grammar. What I liked the most about this course were the information about Korean culture and how the pronunciation of words change, when they're combined with each other.

By Tuunik-Madza'a

Dec 23, 2018

El curso da la oportunidad de tener un horario flexible, y las clases están bien resumidas, de tal manera que uno aprende lo suficiente en clase y lo puede practicar por si mismo en otro momento, esto es muy útil para cuando uno está muy ocupado.

By Rebecca D

May 29, 2022

​I loved that I could do this course in my own time without any time preassure. Each video is only ten minutes long followed by notes and a quiz, which made the learning very clear and easy. I am sad it is over as I learnt so much! 고맙습니다💕💕🇰🇷

By Liesl K

Mar 7, 2022

It's great course. Even someone like me with a phonetic related learning disability found it largely beneficial. There was definitely frustration on my part but that was due to my own limitations and not the structure or content of the course.

By Anna L

Aug 10, 2021

First Step Korean is a great choice for people trying to learn Hangul and basic Korean. The lessons are straightforward and simple; I learned so much from this 5 week course. I definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to learn beginner Korean.

By yojaira o

Sep 29, 2020

Realmente me gusto mucho el curso ya que aprendí mucho a cerca del idioma coreano, empecé desde cero creí que no lo iba a lograr y en el transcurso de mi aprendizaje me pude dar cuenta que con esmero y dedicación se logran, estoy muy agradecida.

By Kanit P

Jul 3, 2020

This course give me a lot of basic information. I,m really thank to the instructor. It'll be better if all practices give all English meaning and how to pronounce them. At last, thank you really really much it my honor to find this course thank.

By Valeria S

May 19, 2019

This course was awesome as an introduccion to Corean language, the notes and videos were clear enough. The only element I had problems with was with the pronunciation explaination, but I think pronunciation is difficult in general. Great course!

By radeyah

Feb 3, 2019

it was quite easy to understand through the follow ups

and the videos, re-watching it more than once also helped exponentially

it is a great way to review common topics used in South Korea.

overall i enjoyed is it and would only thank the teacher.

By Minty_ j

Jul 16, 2021

I've learned a variety of vocabulary with this course. I've taken other Korean courses in the past, but it was difficult to understand. But with this course, I finally understood all these verbs and particles! The best Korean course I've taken!

By Ashley k

Sep 24, 2020

Thank you very much, for taking your time to explain everything in Korean and help us understand by linking it to our language. Teacher Kang Seung Hae went into great detail about everything, even explaining a little bit of history and culture.

By catalina a f

Jul 23, 2020

Creo que es un muy buen curso para empezar a aprender coreano. La profesora explica muy bien y el contenido es abordado de manera didáctica y fácil de entender. Ademas su estructura permite mejor organización y el material también es muy bueno.

By MARIA D L A F M

Jul 6, 2020

Realmente me gusto, me parece muy útil la información de cada unidad, la práctica y repetición del contenido durante la lección es de gran ayuda y facilita la comprensión, una gran profesora y el contenido del material audiovisual es muy bueno.

By Diana G M V

Jun 25, 2020

Fue un buen curso, me gustó que se repiten las cosas, que te explican. Si tu nivel de Inglés es básico (como es mi caso), serás de comprenderlo, ya que en algunas lecciones los subtítulos dejan de aparecer en español, y solo aparecen en Inglés.

By Laura S

Mar 18, 2019

This course is worth to try. in about 3 days i can read korean hangeul (mostly i used it to read hangeul in my fav korean variety shows). After completed the course i can understand conversation in daily basis. thank you, Ms. Seung Hae Kang :)

By Bibiana R

Feb 15, 2017

Gracias Universidad de Yonsei, Coursera, Hae Kang y Rachel! Aprendí muchísimo, es muy difícil el idioma, pero estos primeros pasos me han dado luz. Es una buena metodología. Espero tener más tiempo para repasar y seguir. Muy agradecida! 안녕히 계세요

By Pauline E J M

Feb 17, 2022

I am really grateful to be able to complete this course as this is essential for my learning journey. Thank you Professor Kang and Yonsei University. I hope to complete more course offered by Yonsei University. Once again, thank you very much!