Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
38,779 ratings
9,994 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

RN
Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Shivani A P

May 28, 2020

Thank you for this course!!! I feel much more comfortable with conversational Korean, as well as the reading and writing aspects of it. I feel that I may be able to manage on my own for a trip to Korea. Very grateful for your help :)

By JANE A K 1

May 17, 2020

It was indeed a wonderful experience learning 한국어 with professional help. The course was structured very well and taught exceptionally by Ms. Kang. I've learnt more in these few weeks, than I have in months of self-learning.

감사합니다!

By SUKUMAPORN P

Apr 24, 2020

I like the practice and easy to leaning online class .

I like to listening and repeat conversation and voice of teacher.

I have a little basic of this Korean language but this course help me to strong talk a Korean with another guy.

By Allyza T

Sep 2, 2021

It's very easy to understand and I didn't feel too burdened by the lectures so I could still finish my schoolwork while finishing here as well. I feel more motivated to learn Korean as the instructor is very nice and believes in me!

By Verónica C Q M

Aug 29, 2021

Buen curso, pero en las lecciones del 4 y 5 se me hizo muy complicado, ya que no hablo ingles y por alguna razón no pude poner subtítulos, pero, muchas gracias por la oportunidad, seguiré aprendiendo el idioma y la cultura de corea

By Nicolli P

Jul 8, 2021

Um curso extremamente completo. Estudei apenas 3 dias por semana e é o suficiente para aprender bastante. Tudo é muito bem explicado, os exercícios são bem completos e me ajudaram muito a fixar a matéria. Obrigada Yonsei University.

By Juliana M L B

Sep 30, 2020

I'm really thankful for this course because it helped me a lot to understand a few Korean vocabularies and conversations. I hope that there will be part 2 of this course that will take us to an intermediate level. Thank you so much!

By Mahek M

Sep 13, 2020

Loved this course. Everything was explained so well. The differences between korean and western culture was portrayed well. Overall an amazing course to start with. I can now read and write korean well and speak and write a lot too!

By Ayesha F

Sep 1, 2020

one of the best online courses in existence... weeks are really well planned out, teachers pronunciations are spot-on and it is overall really fun and interesting.... thank you Ms. Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei university!!!! 고맙습니다 !!!

By Lovely C

Jun 20, 2020

I love that the explanations are easy to understand. I just hope that we could talk more about formal rather than informal examples since you cannot just talk informally to people you've just met. Thank you so much for teaching!!!

By Ayusha T

Apr 2, 2020

It was the best experience to be a part of this learning process. I respect the language and culture even more now. I feel more connected to people by knowing their language. Huge respect to the teacher for perfect teaching.

감사합니다

By Zainab k

Nov 30, 2017

First Step Korean course by Yonsei University is a really helpful , easy and student friendly way to learn Korean. As I am still doing the course I am pretty sure that i will be able to speak fluent Korean by the end of the course.

By EVA G B

Sep 24, 2017

Great course. Material outlined in an orderly manner for the student to connect concepts with daily life, eg number and time / date. However, as with any language, success depends on how much you revise the concepts and practice it.

By Alexandru-Nicolae L

Aug 11, 2017

This course is easy to follow, very nicely structured and the instructors make sure you understand the words and their pronunciation. I took this course to prepare for a hospital internship at Konyang Uni and it proved very helpful!

By Deena Z

Jun 3, 2016

With clear explanations, good pacing, and wonderful activities to practice reading, I enjoyed the lectures and am very grateful to be learning such a culturally rich language such as Korean. Thank you for giving me this opportunity!

By Natalia R

Aug 1, 2021

Really good course for those that want to learn the Korean language. As a college student who was self-teaching herself Korean, this course really helped supplement and review all the materials I've already learned and would learn.

By Eman M H

Jun 16, 2021

it's a very good step for anyone who needs to learn korean cuz the teacher is someone from the Yonsei University - highly recommended this couser it's very usfeul - and i wanna thank the teacher very much for this good information

By Aicha B

Apr 27, 2021

L'enseignante a rendu la langue Coréenne plus facile et simple a comprendre, elle est très compétente. Merci à l'université de YONSEI de nous offrir une opportunité d'apprendre cette langue. Je vous souhaite une bonne continuation.

By Mena J

Apr 11, 2021

During this course the instructor went through the sentences thoroughly and explained what each word meant and why each particle was placed and when to use them. This was very helpful to me and I overall enjoyed taking this course.

By MONTSERRAT L A

Mar 19, 2021

Me encantó el curso. Además de aprender sobre el alfabeto coreano y mucho vocabulario, me siento preparada para poder tomar el segundo nivel de este idioma.

Sin duda alguna es el comienzo ideal para aprender coreano. 연세대학교 감사합니다 !

By Karen P

Mar 8, 2021

Great intro of the Korean language if you have little to no knowledge of it. Print out the lecture notes prior to the lesson so you can follow along and make your own notes along the way. Thank you for making this course available!

By Nandini R

Oct 11, 2020

A great course! Love how vocabulary are repeated from time to time to help refresh your memory. The introduction and description of the history of the characters was an insightful section. Absolutely enjoyed working on this course.

By Tasnim J

Sep 14, 2020

This course was really helpful for me. As i was a toddler in hangul, i didn't know anything about korean alphabets or how they're are written but now i can speak, read and write hangul. Thanks to the teacher who taught this course.

By Josie A

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you for giving this free lesson on Hangeul. This was very interesting, entertaining and I gained lots of new learning from this course. Keep up the great work. Hoping to see new lessons in the future. Thank you. Kamsahamnida!