Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
39,759 ratings
10,204 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

RN
Oct 6, 2021

This course is really a great start to learn Korean language. It taught me Hangul, particles used, vocabularies and how sentences are made. Thank you to Professor Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University.

AP
Aug 27, 2021

I have learned so much and I really enjoyed learning this beautiful language. I know that I will learn to speak and read with lots of practice and perseverance. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 10,000 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Hary W

Oct 17, 2021

Before I start this course, I think Korean Language will gonna be so hard to learn. But thanks to Seung Hae Kang. She is really great teacher, the module is understandable for me. I'm wanna learn more about hangeul xD.

By Fatemeh Z

Sep 26, 2021

hello everyone. As a linguistic student who knows 3 languages, this course is absolutly what you need to learn korean. Forget those youtue tutorial and stick to an academic one like this. Believe me you'll learn a lot.

By SUKASRI S R

Sep 9, 2021

First step in Korean by Yonsei university through coursera had really been a great platform for me to learn Korean in an easiest manner. I definitely suggest this platform for everybody who are seeking to learn Korean.

By May T

Mar 21, 2021

This was an excellent introduction course to Korean. I already have some prior knowledge of Korean before I took this course, so this was a great way for me to review and consolidate what I've learnt so far. Thank you.

By Dania C

Mar 8, 2021

Realmente aprendí que todo esfuerzo tiene su recompensa, ahora que perfeccioné ciertas fallas de mi coreano, puedo dialogar un poco en este nuevo idioma, gracias por la enseñanza que me ha brindado, me sirvió de mucho.

By Jordan S

Mar 6, 2021

Helpful, clearly presented. I do like each module starting off with a dialogue between two people (such as the Daniel and Suzy sketches), as understanding Korean as a listener has been the most difficult aspect for me.

By Emmanuel D

Feb 28, 2021

Algo bastante practico y sencillo de enteder, ademas de ser una excelente base, a toda aquella persona que le interesa descubrir nuevas oportunidades sabe que todo tiene un comienzo, y este es uno muy bueno, saludos!!!

By Ivonne P

Feb 1, 2021

Es un gran curso, aprendí mucho, todo lo explican bien y de la manera más comprensible, sobre todo la pronunciación que a veces es lo más difícil, además la maestra que imparte el curso es muy agradable, todo perfecto.

By Paola S T P

Nov 14, 2020

Excelente curso para iniciar con este bello idioma. Lo recomiendo mucho, las clases están bien armadas, son muy claras y pues, !hay que estudiar mucho! Es Free, así que no hay pretexto, solo nos queda ser constantes ;)

By Melissa M

Aug 2, 2020

This course was a very thorough introduction to basic Korean phrases and grammar. It is a great starting point and building block in learning the basics, and I am excited to take further courses from Yonsei University.

By Megha S

Jul 6, 2020

The course is designed very well for a beginner and it was really helpful to me as I am always interested in learning new languages. The course structure helped me gain knowledge of the Korean Culture and the Language.

By hala s m

Jul 2, 2020

It's good and help me in many ways I have been trying to learn Korean from about 2 years but after this course it became easier and I can understand some things that it was difficult to get through while I was studying

By Snow f

Jun 9, 2021

The course is amazing for now! Professor Kang is really nice. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners. Thank you for that teacher Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

By MARIA D C G

Jun 5, 2021

El curso es muy bueno, salvo el único inconveniente que tuve es que toda l unidad 5 viene en ingles y no se puede traducir al español por lo que me costo mas completar la unidad, pero excelente trabajo muchas gracias.

By Christiana S - A

Apr 10, 2021

Great course. Excellent teacher. I just wish it says on the certificate how many hours the course takes.

E.g. 18 hour course.

I also hope there will be another higher beginner level to this course and then intermediate.

By maria i

Mar 1, 2021

Thank you so much for the free lessons, all of them were very helpfull and the explanations from the professor were on point, very clear and accurate. I hope this course have a second part to continue studying Korean.

By Dr. R M E

Feb 28, 2021

The course was thorough and well-presented by Professor Seung Hae Kang. Pronunciations in Korean and English were very clearly spoken. The coursework was substantial for self-study and all guidance was well-explained.

By Abira G

Feb 28, 2021

Muy bueno, yo que no tenía ninguna idea de nada, me enseñó mucho y lo aprendí con facilidad.

En español en la semana 5 no está bien traducido así que si no sabes inglés batallas un poco para entender las explicaciones.

By Kailani H

Feb 8, 2021

I Loved this course!! It taught you well how to read and write Korean, How to tell Time/Date, It teaches you how to count in Korean, An so so so much more! I 10/10 Recommend this course for my fellow Korean Learners!

By Nelson S

Jan 3, 2021

The format for this course is challenging, but rewarding for a first-time Korean learner. The lecture notes are helpful, but don't include all the scenarios from the lecture so taking notes during the video helps too.

By dalith m a

Sep 26, 2020

Me encantó la clase, aunque en los últimos módulos no tenía subtitulos en español.

Quisiera saber cómo podría seguir tomando el curso quiero aprender más.

Si tiene un costo lo pagaría, pero necesito más clases...gracias

By Natalia T

Jul 31, 2020

It is a great introductory course. I learned a lot and the teacher was a great guide. I still have to work on my pronunciation but as my first approach to Korean lenguaje, I am gratefull for this course. Thanks a lot!

By NUR A M

Jul 14, 2020

This courses really help me as the newbie to learn korean. Although it just only have 5 syllabus, but it quite good to enhance my skill and knowledge on how to create sentences and also to pronounce every word. Kudos!

By Porawan I

Jul 6, 2020

Its easy to understand how to pronounce and spell , read words. If have any class in furture, sure will try to apply and i will love to use it in everyday life also learn more from music and series :)

감사합니다

Porawan I.

By Anabel C

Jun 21, 2020

I really enjoy the time to learn the new language. I really happy how imporve to read Hangul and recognize the particles when try to write. The videos was dinamic I can undertand when the teacher explained .

Thank you!