Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
29,802 ratings
7,946 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 7,889 Reviews for First Step Korean

By Johana M

May 14, 2020

Excelent course and even more excellent instructor. The course includes a lot of vocabulary and practice to get familiar with it.

The classes advance at a steady peace. It's never overwhelming and yet teaches you a lot.

I recommend going back on your notes after the final week :) . The syllabus is amazingly well structured

By Amnuaysak T

Apr 15, 2020

The course covers most of the very basic things needed to know and learn of Korean language.

The professor is good and always gives learners a little things that are good to understand the language further.

I recommend anyone who want to learn Korean language to start from this course.

Amnuaysak Thoonsiri

April 15, 2020.

By Chandra

Nov 15, 2020

This is a very good course, many thanks to Yonsei University for kindly granting the opportunity to attend this course,

One difficulty I experienced is regarding pronunciation of some letters which appear to vary in different contexts. Also, clear instruction may be given where we have to use Korean and Chinese numerals.

By Obianuju I

Oct 12, 2020

I learned many verbs and how to conjugate the present tense, a lot of vocabulary and sentence structure. My favorite aspect of this course was that I got to practice my listening and reading skills with the quizzes. I also practiced writing, by copying out the vocabulary rather than printing the PDF files. 고맙습니다, 선생님.

By Cynthia M

Sep 6, 2020

Me ha impresionado gratamente la oportunidad entregada tanto por Coursera y la profesora Seung Hae Kang, en conjunto con Yonsei University. Pautas muy claras y precisas, las cuales han ayudado bastante a mi entendimiento y aprendizaje a nivel personal. Quedo muy conforme y agradecida por esta bonita experiencia... 감사합니다

By Yasmine K

Apr 9, 2020

I really enjoyed the learning process, the videos are well organized, i learned more new things in a more efficient way, since i used to learn korean alone but with this course was better since it give you a structure to follow.

I highly recommend anyone who is considering to start learning First Step Korean to do it !!

By Suhaila M

Mar 28, 2021

Thank you for the easy and wonderful introduction to my very first basic Korean Language course. I am interested to continue and upgrade my Korean Language further. Thanks to Prof Seung Hae Kang for the videos that made my learning much easier to follow and the notes were of much help as I practice the Korean language.

By América M

Feb 28, 2021

I love learning with First step Korean , has very useful language sentences for daily basis and also has good material to review . I appreciate your effort in making such a great content . Hope I get the opportunity to visit and live in Korean soon, I am in love of the language and also of its gastronomy very delicious

By Sobuha L

Jan 14, 2021

I really enjoy this course. The professor makes the grammar easily to understand. There are very clear can-do statements for each lesson with good amount of practice. The topics introduced in this course are also very practical. I would recommend this course for whoever wants to learn Korean from the very beginning. ㅋ

By Brenda A

Sep 26, 2018

I enjoyed this lesson. But I'd need to practice on my own more. I think that the handout should include wording in English so that it is more understandable. I find myself using Google translate a lot, just to listen to the pronunciation. Then again, I need to practice more. Thank you so much for this wonderful course.

By Samirah S

Oct 27, 2017

Very clear explaining and teaching method. The flow of the topics is indeed nicely laid. I suggest making the quizzes a bit more harder and more complex to fully enhance the learning experience. I will definitely introduce this course to my friends as this is a really informative starter pack for basic Korean language.

By Ester S S

Aug 30, 2020

Thank you very much for guidance in this study. I am very happy to be able to learn a foreign language. While studying, I realized that it was very difficult to learn Korean. But I am happy because I was given the opportunity to learn from the basics. Now I started practicing it with my friends. Once again, thank you.

By Ruxandra B

Mar 22, 2021

Very well structured, easy to follow and easy to learn stuff.I want to study in Korea, so this was a good start for me to learn some basics. Korean is my 5th language, but the first one with a different alfabet and sentences structures so it was a bit challenging, but overall exciting and fun. I totally recomend it!

By katz v

Feb 21, 2021

I was able to really learn the basics of the Korean language. I like how each lesson was created in such a way that it's easier for the learner to learn the language from the vocabulary, pronunciation and grammar. It's a really good First Step for anyone who's really new to the language and has no background with it.

By Drocel J L M

Dec 17, 2020

First Step Korean has been a very informative and engaging course for me. It was perfectly planned and executed. The learning resources crafted by Yonsei University was superb. I considered this course as an effective one because I learned a lot. I will highly recommend this course to other language learners like me.

By uxue

Nov 26, 2020

This course was so helpful to start studying korean and be able to start learning some basic vocabulary. I like that it gives you the chance to listen to a conversation and then analize it. I really enjoyed learning korean through this course and would recommend it for people who want to start studying this language.

By Eddie

Sep 25, 2016

Hay sido un curso muy didáctico y práctico para poder aprender coreano ya que me ha permitido conocer más vocabulario y practicar mucho, este curso me ha gustado porque también en alguna duda que tuve pude ir al foro y poder informarme ojalá que haya otro curso de coreano con nuevas clases para a poder aprender más.

By Babiyev K

Dec 27, 2020

Понравился данный вводный курс в корейский язык, который новичкам дает понять основы, особенности корейского языка (свой неповторимый алфавит (я сначала думал, что это иероглифы), два вида числительных (корейский и китайский), которые используются в разных случаях, и д.р.). Большое спасибо организаторам этого курса!

By Lizeth P I J

Sep 5, 2020

It is an amazing course for beginners. The lessons are really organized and easy to understand, they give you a step by step course in which the only thing you need to offer is willingness to learn. I learned a lot and now I am even more interested in learning more about their history and culture. Thank you so much.

By Marie P

Aug 4, 2020

Thanks to this course I was able to get a structure to my messy Korean learning. I've been picking up information for a few years but I've never been able to properly learn it with an order. I already knew some things which is why it was easier to get through the course but I'd say this was worth spending time on :)

By Joseph M M

Jun 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this Introduction to the Korean Language, I tried taking Korean at school but somehow I didn't learn much at all, but Professor Kang does an amazing job explaining the methods in away that doesn't lose you as a beginner! I really would recommend anyone who's interested in Korean to take this course!

By Juanita R S

Dec 27, 2020

Muchas gracias he aprendido un nuevo idioma y mi objetivo es seguir estudiando coreano para dominar bien este idioma. Muchas gracias Yonsei University y Coursera por este maravilloso curso, en serio no hay nada mas bonito que aprender y es mucho mas hermoso cuando te gusta lo que aprendés. Gracias, gracias, gracias

By Ava A

Aug 2, 2020

I'm so glad i found this!! it really taught me a lot and i love the instructor. My advice is to definitely take notes and in this course it doesn't teach you too much on subject particles and final consonants, so I went to youtube and learned them fine. I would totally recommend this course, best of luck beginners!

By Gina T B P

Apr 13, 2021

Realmente el curso te da el primer acercamiento al idioma coreano, explicándote paso a paso las cosas. Como sugerencia, en las últimas lecciones no estaban subtituladas en español. Por lo demás, fue un tiempo muy grato dedicado en este curso para aprender coreano. La profesora también da unas explicaciones buenas.

By Senidamanu M D

Oct 12, 2020

I enjoyed this course. I already had studied the Korean alphabet before beginning this course. So having that knowledge of being able to read helped me a lot with learning all the Korean grammar in this course. If you're a beginner in Korean and want to learn about basic Korean grammar then this course is for you.