Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
28,360 ratings
7,574 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

AT
Jun 7, 2017

Professor Kang is really nice and she guides me through every lesson with detailed explanation and dedication. I enjoy learning the course and I believe this is a very good choice for Korean beginners

AN
May 17, 2020

A really good starting point to understand what's the Hangeul is constituted of and have a taste test on daily conversation. Last 2 modules were of quick pace which encourages me to revisit more often

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 7,539 Reviews for First Step Korean

By RS

Apr 26, 2020

It's a very well laid out course, covering the basics of self introduction, introducing your family, telling time/place, and what you're doing. All useful vocabulary and grammar structure for basic conversations.

Highly recommend to anyone who is starting out with Korean -- I learned a lot from this course!

By Marija B

Jan 23, 2021

The course is really well done, the explanations are clear and useful. The teacher is very pleasant to listen to. I enjoyed taking this course thoroughly. The only thing I might deem as negative is its length. I think it would be great to be able to continue learning with this course long-term. Thank you!

By Cindy A H H

Sep 13, 2020

Excelente curso, muy explicativo y fácil de comprender. El tiempo empleado es el adecuado para el aprendizaje del idioma, estoy muy feliz por la oportunidad, Seung Hae Kang 선생님 감사합니다 por toda la enseñanza, la práctica diaria nos permitirá reforzar todo lo aprendido en este maravilloso curso. ¡Mil gracias!

By Abhinav C

Aug 10, 2020

This is a superb course. It goes through the basics quickly and really helps develop a grasp pf Hangul and basic grammatical forms. It is not very difficult nor too easy. In fact, a lot of practice is needed to absorb everything introduced in the course. . It would be great to have more modules like this.

By Jocelyn R

Jul 13, 2020

I enjoyed taking this course . I've learned so much during these past five weeks. I really like how the lessons are broken down into short sections as well as the video. The app makes it convenient and easy for me to learn where ever I go on my phone. I highly recommend this course and website to others.

By Ravi K

Oct 31, 2020

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The instructors made sure that they are giving the information in a way that won't make me confused. Thank you so much for this great course!

In particular, I enjoyed the tutorials on Mendeley and reference management tools. Highly recommended!

By Mariel J L

Jun 5, 2020

Learned a lot through this course! It will teach you the basics so that you can learn the Korean language easier. It is very helpful when it comes to practicing pronunciation and writing. Practice worksheets are also very helpful. Vocabulary and conversations taught can be used for everyday conversation.

By JONATHAN B S

Jan 26, 2019

Before I join this courses, I just learned some words and basic expressions from korean tv shows and dramas and songs. Now I can know the basic expression in Korean, especially the ones that related to numbers, times, and activities. Big thanks to Yonsei University and Coursera for providing this course.

By BEA B M V

Nov 30, 2020

The course was very helpful, especially for beginners like I am. The instructor was able to discuss their points well without overwhelming me with information. I really liked how each topic was broken down into small parts and that the instructor focused on every part, in order to provide a good lesson.

By Alejandra V

Aug 14, 2020

Me encantó el curso, a pesar de que ya tenía algo de conocimientos en el idioma pude reforzar lo que sabia y claro aprender muchas cosas más de las cuales desconocía, agradezco al equipo de Yonsei University por crear un plan tan completo para los que nos iniciamos en saber del idioma coreano. Gracias!

By Nur A N B R

Jul 17, 2020

I really love this course! Perfect for a beginner like me. Thank you so much Professor Kang for your excellent work. I know how to read hangul before I join this course but it is not enough for me. Now I have expand more on my vocabulary and word structures after finished all of it in less than 2 weeks.

By Kristin G

Jul 2, 2020

It was an easy and fun way to learn Korean. Professor Seung Hae Kang made this class interesting and incredibly easy to follow and understand. I will highly recommend this to anyone who wants to start learning Korean as this teaches you the fundamentals to have a normal, basic conversation with someone.

By Susan L

Jun 21, 2020

Great for introduction to new information and revision on what I have already learned prior to the course. Well planned out, the text narrative for videos is really helpful, but not all were translated as Korean text. The addition of Korean text for the conversations along with English would be useful.

By Veronica C

Jun 7, 2020

Well-paced course. You're thrown in headfirst into grammar and sentence making. Of course, it is expected to take time on your own to learn Hangul, which I feel is best to get a grip on before starting. This course is perfect to build a solid foundation and I hope to continue learning Korean on my own.

By Alexander G

May 29, 2020

This is a very useful course with a complete base for a very beginner like me. This course coveres all the basic topics that you need to start making a conversation with more than a simple guide, I mean, ir has it but it goes beyond expected and that's what it makes it very useful. I'm really thankful.

By Chelsie P

Sep 23, 2019

This course has a lot of great information for both language and cultural insight. This class has helped me to learn to introduce myself and my family; something I wasn't able to do from learning on my own. Definitely a great start for those you are trying to learn Korean and don't know where to start!

By NAGATI P

Aug 27, 2019

This course is easy to learn and understand. As I've already learned the Korean language, this course seems so easy. But I hope that there should be a practice session for vocabulary along with the quizzes on grammar. I think that there should be more questions in the quizzes. Thank you for the course.

By Alejandro G

May 14, 2017

i loved everything, the time you took to do this, the effort, and patience, i'd really want to lean more if i got the chance, go to korea sometime and see the daily life with my own eyes, i'm really thankfull for the opportunity to study with a great teacher like Seung Hae Kang, thanks again, Alejandro

By Cath A

Apr 19, 2020

Very helpful! However, may I give a suggestion regarding the vocabulary part? I personally think it would be better if there is one lecture note that contains only the vocabularies used (with illustrations for visual memory). I believe it would be helpful in memorization and familiarization. 정말 감사합니다!

By Lola O S W

Sep 20, 2019

This is a great course! Definitely pick this course if you want to learn Korean, but you are a total beginner and you don't know where to start. The teaching methods are really good, and I recommend this to everyone beginning to learn Korean. The teacher is so nice, and she makes you feel comfortable.

By Zahra A

Oct 2, 2018

The instructor for the course made the new language so easy and interesting to learn. I attribute my success in finishing this course to my passion for hangul and the teacher. She made the lessons fun and highly effective while being precise and comprehensive. I would take another course with her.👍🏻

By xavier s

Mar 3, 2021

For Spanish speaking person, and first time seen Korean, it is difficult to understand.

nevertheless i am committed to keep learning, in order to be fluent Korean speaking.

the Course is very well organize and the teacher speak very well English, so at the end you can catch the main idea of the lesson.

By TAMARA Q S

Dec 12, 2020

everything is fin . Thanks for everything

The course really served me

AHORA PODRE ENTENDER MEJOR CUANDO ESCUCHE ALGUNA CANCION O AL VER UN DRAMA O MEJOR AUN SI ALGUN DIA LOGRE IR A COREA Y PUEDA HABLAR CON GENTE DE COREA EN SU IDOMA Y OTRA VEZ MAS GRACIAS POR TODO EL CURSO ES MUY BUENO Y EFICIENTE .

By Tep C

Sep 22, 2020

The course was extremely helpful in learning the Korean language. The discussions and lessons were brief, concise, and complete which made it easier for learners to understand. What I liked the most was the vocabulary because most of them were unfamiliar to me and it was exciting to learn new words.

By Karla P H S

Sep 6, 2020

Muy bueno, la profesora explica muy bien. Realmente es un gran curso para las personas que recién empiezan con el coreano. Y para las personas que ya tienen conocimiento básico, también los refuerza y hace que practiquemos con situaciones del día a día, lo cual hace que el aprendizaje sea más ameno.