Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
12,318 ratings
3,251 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD

May 02, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

CS

Jan 07, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 3,274 Reviews for First Step Korean

By ilunga V M

Jul 31, 2016

This has been an exceptional course. I have really enjoyed it as an introductory course to Korean, because it does a good job of teaching the basics without trenching too much in the details. I believe that in beginning stages a learner should not boggle themselves down too much with the details of a language. With time and exposure details are learned. Our instructor was easy to comprehend in her English pronunciation; she was professional, and she seem to enjoy the topic. I feel confident in the foundation that has been set for me and therefore, I am confident to continue what I hope will become a lifetime journey of enjoying and learning Korean.

By Shannon S R

May 11, 2020

This was a very educated course for me as I am a beginner in Korean. I still have to continue practicing writing Korean, I am pretty comfortable with understanding it orally. My only recommendation was that there be phonetic pronunciations next to the Korean writing (in subtitles) as I went to Google translate to get the pronunciation right or tried to make the best of what Seonsaengnim said. But overall an awesome course, I did this course via free to enroll but I will be paying for the certificate and continuing to practice to say and write Korean as I wish the course was longer (I downloaded the videos to look back on in the future)

By Alan W H

Aug 29, 2016

This course provides a well-paced introduction to learning the Korean language. It is well-suited to students who have little or no knowledge of Korean language to begin with. The course videos and the conversations of the players in the instructive videos helps us to get a feel for how the language operates in a real situation. The course lecturer provides detailed explanations of the origins of Korean vowels and consonants, the way the language is constructed, correct pronunciation, and much more. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn the Korean language. Many thanks to our lecturer for this great course.

By Shimi T

Mar 27, 2018

This course is really easy to follow and understand, and the quizzes are not that hard. The teacher draws parallels with English in her explanations, which is helpful if you are confident enough in your English comprehension (if you are not a native speaker). The lessons are both long and short enough at the same time to not overburden a beginner learner and since they are freely available online you can re-watch them at will to practice. The content is also on point, vocabulary and grammar provided are just enough to really kick-start your journey into the depths of learning the Korean language.

By Tsui S L

Jan 10, 2018

Thank you so much. That's help me a lot. I learned more about the daily life terms and sentences. But the speed will be a little bit fast for a brand new learner which don't know the alphabet. Learner have to replay few times to remember and practice. Too many message to their brain. I'll suggest learners to learn some pronounce first, and back to this course to check is the pronounce right. Then learn something new in this course. It will be easier to follow the lectures. (You know there has a deadline of those lectures). By the way, the course is really helpful, I'll recommend learners to join.

By Archana K

Feb 07, 2018

안녕하세요!

When I started this course, I had no idea on how to read or write in Korean. It was an entirely new language and I was very excited but a little scared. However, by the end of this course I could read and write in Korean with ease. The course material was very easy to understand and learn from. I do have to build on my vocabulary but that I am sure is a longer process. I am very glad I enrolled in this course. Overall it was a brilliant experience and I would love to continue studying Korean. I would also like to thank Professor Seung Hae Kang and the mentors for this course.

감사합니다!

By Felicia H

Oct 27, 2016

This is a very good beginner course that requires the student to practice, practice, practice. If the student does the work, then the lectures, and quizzes will support them in a substantial way. The quiz is well designed to measure what the student learned in that module. There were some audio issues in the beginning where the audio was wrong, but if you studied hard, you can still choose the correct answer.

This is not a course that can be casually studied, in order to do well, practice is necessary. I appreciate this course and look forward to the next level.

By Phatcharaphon D

May 18, 2020

As a Thai student who interested in the Korean language. This course helps me that learning Korean is not that hard. At first, I must say that I am worried maybe I can't understand these languages. Both English and Korean but actually It's clear and easy to understand. I recommend this course to whoever interested in the Korean language. It's fun and sometimes maybe it's difficult but if you usually practice it, finally you can understand it for sure. Thank you so much for making this course and made me understand the Korean language even more.

By Liane D

Feb 09, 2016

Very informative but I think that, if I hadn't already had a basic knowledge of the Korean alphabet and grammar structure, I'd have found the grammar explanations to be a bit too brief. Excellent for beginner level refresher though. Some glitches in the tests (e.g. the correct answer being something not taught until the next lesson) and the videos (one lesson unable to be downloaded on any of the computers to which I have access). Would be good if this course had some social /cultural lessons (like how to drink in front of a superior

By Bethwyn M

Feb 24, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to reading, writing, and speaking Korean. At times I felt like it was going a little fast for me, but I appreciated the challenge. The course teacher is good and does her best to show you how to pronounce certain things, though a few things sounded so similar to something else that I was sometimes really thrown. Learning a language is quite hard, this made it a lot of fun. Oh! I also really appreciated the little skits included - they helped me to practice my listening and pronunciation!

By Preeti R

May 19, 2020

It is a helpful course for people who wish to learn the Korean language. The well-planned structure ensures that the students not only learn the vocabulary and grammar but also understand the correct pronunciation of the words, and how and when the same are to be used. The small conversations at the start, focus on pronunciation, detailed explanation of the concepts, additional vocabularies, and worksheets followed by a quiz at the end of every chapter ensure that the students have a holistic understanding of the concept.

By Emmanuela

Sep 22, 2019

I started studying Korean by myself with some books, but I know I was going very slow because one thing is studying on books by yourself, an other thing is when someone explains you things and why to do something one way or another. This course is well structured, it allows the learner to improve its written and speaking skills too - along with listening. I would say it helped me so much to understand the basis of this language. Now I can only continue and study hoping one day I will become fluent in Korean. Thank you!

By Kayla P

May 22, 2020

Going into this course, I've already learned how to write and understand Hangul but after days of learning properly what was the origin and how to use it proficiently. It was so easy to understand and the professor was really good at explaining things even though it could be confusing to people like me who are in a different culture. I've always loved learning different languages but I'm excited to finally use this Korean language and put it to the test! Thank you so much for this course. It was very helpful!

By Saniya K

Nov 19, 2017

I think this is an excellent course for anyone who wants to learn the basics of Korean. I would and have easily recommended this course to a bunch of my friends who wanted to learn Korean but couldn't join classes the way I could! It was a great way for me to revise and I learnt a few things (particularly about pronunciation) which I hadn't known before! Thank you for this course and I really hope that more courses (for higher levels) are added! Best of luck to anyone who is about to start this course :)

By JeSang S

May 11, 2018

This course has provided me with the very basic elements of the Koren language and I have to say that despite of the enormous differences between the languages i am fluent at so far. Getting into a new set of characters sounds encouraged me to challenge myself to practice them until i master them. I will keep on practicing them then! Thank you professor Seung Hae Kang and all the ones who were involved to make this course available for us. I would really appreciate you continued doing this amazing job!

By Julie B

Oct 03, 2016

The course was detailed and very easy to understand.

One thing I did have a problem with from time to time was differentiating between words - I've noticed that Korean words can be very close to one another and it's sometimes hard to tell if there's a space between two words or if those are actually one word. If this course could make the spaces between words bigger, it would be easier to see each word as it is instead of getting confused if a certain phrase is two separate words or one word.

Thank you!

By Narmina A

May 07, 2017

I have been a fan of Korea and everything related to it for the longest time now, and to find an online course, let alone a FREE one, was an actual gift from the deities. I have officially taken up real life courses as well because I want to go further and learn the whole language due to the sheer beauty of it, and this language course was what got me into it in the first place. Massive props to our beautiful Korean teacher for giving us a boost. I hope to see further courses in the future. 고맙습니다! ^^

By Sam B

Oct 07, 2018

Excellent course - well done Yonsei! Great teaching style which includes role play conversations - it helps to train your ear for live conversation. Also, they breakdown the grammar and explain it well, where other "popular" courses do not. The writing exercises reinforce learning - reading, writing and speaking is the best was to learn a language, and no this is not theoretical - it works! My only suggestion, add more units and make it an 8-week course because 5 is simply not enough.

By Maria T

Jan 18, 2020

Realmente es un gran curso para todo aquel que quiera empezar a estudiar el idioma coreano, con clases muy amenas y fáciles de entender cada una con su grado de dificultad, un vocabulario de diario muy bueno y ejercicios de practica en cada lección, definitivamente lo recomiendo, ya que gracias a este curso he aprendido a saludar y presentarme en corean, aunque falta mucho para ser una principiante no esta mal, ya se leer en hangul (¡no perfecto! pero la practica hace al maestro) :)

By Bertrand V

Oct 27, 2019

I absolutely loved that course, I learnt so so so much. I have been learning Korean with private teachers for 3 years and this course was a nice companion in order to further my learning of the Korean language. I like how the course is structured, I like the teacher very much, we learn a lot too so I truly believe this was a nice course that I recommend to anyone who wants to learn the Korean bases. I hope to continue and develop my learning skills with Korean. Thank you so much ;)

By Rose-Anne L

Apr 14, 2017

This course is really helpful not only for beginners but as well as to those people who already familiar with Korean Language. It introduces you with alphabets, grammar, pronunciation and also the cultural aspect. In this program, I have become more familiar with sentence construction and gaining extra vocabulary that I can use for daily conversations. But the most fun part is that there is also a forum section where you can share and gather inputs and discuss in depth the lesson.

By Lea C

Jun 26, 2017

After 5 weeks of Intensive studying my first Korean class, I was amazed how is it easy to learn a language if one is really willing to learn and to practice it. The videos and the professor gave a detailed input on how to make learning Hangeul fun and easy to understand. I hope the "foreign words" ---the words in Hangeul will be also written in words so that pronunciation will be easy as well. I recommend this course for all who are just starting to learn Hangeul. Happy Learning!

By Ayana Y

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you for the course! It was both interesting and challenging. I've learned lot of things. Numerals for me is still the most difficult topic. And for Hebrew speaker there is a specific problem: there are letters that look very similar and it's very confusing. I'd like to learn more basic stuff like personal pronouns for example if such a thing exists. How many times are there in Korean and so on. But anyway it's a very good start and I'll definitely continue to learn

By Anupama Z

Mar 05, 2019

First of all, thank you very much for this course, Yonsei University and Professor Kang Seung Hae ssi. I'm now fully able to read and write Korean language. And by practicing, I'm being able to understand and speak more Korean day by day. To be honest, I'm loving this language more and more. It also helped me learning various customs and practices of Korean people. This course was very helpful indeed. I'll definitely recommend it to any person who wants to learn Korean.

By Yuki K

Jan 14, 2019

Very informative on the formal and informal ways of speaking Korean. I learnt a lot of vocabulary and understood Korean pronunciation better as well. I also reinforced my knowledge of numbers and the system of alphabets in Korea. However, the course might be too fast for someone who is entirely new to the Korean language. Probably recommended to do some reading first before getting into this course, which may become stressful over time. Thank you, Yonsei Univesity!