Chevron Left
Back to First Step Korean

Learner Reviews & Feedback for First Step Korean by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
36,057 ratings
9,235 reviews

About the Course

This is an elementary-level Korean language course, consisting of 5 lessons with 4 units, and covers 4 skills: reading, writing, listening and speaking. The main topics include basic expressions used in everyday life, such as greetings, introducing yourself, talking about your family and a daily life and so on. Each lesson covers dialogues, pronunciation, vocabulary, grammar, quizzes and role-plays. After completing this course, you will be able to 1. read and write Korean alphabet. 2. communicate in Korean with basic expressions. 3. learn basic knowledge on Korean culture. It’s fun and easy to follow! Enjoy it!...

Top reviews

DD
May 1, 2017

This was course was very informative. I really enjoyed the content being that I wasn't on the paid version. I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything but learn a lot from this course. 감사합니다!!!!

CS
Jan 6, 2018

The course is amazing for now! The teacher explains everything in a great order and it helps me a lot with Korean. I understand a lot more now. Thank you for that Seung Hae Kang and Yonsei University!

Filter by:

8551 - 8575 of 9,306 Reviews for First Step Korean

By PORNTHIDA K

May 12, 2020

This course is so easy to learn but have some vocabulary that never learn before. By the way all of this course is so good for anyone who want to start to learn Korean language. Thank you so much.

By Amarjeet k

Jul 25, 2020

I completely the course and it was really fun to learn Korean language but I received my certificate where the course name is written in Chinese language I don't know why. Kindly assist me with it

By Chirapriya N

May 13, 2020

If the media has an illustration or meaning in English when the long sentence is in Korean ( Week 4-5 ).

Will be easier to communicate and understand.

and thank u so much to make this course.

고맙습니다.

By Michelle C

May 7, 2020

I learned a lot and the course was easy to follow. I feel confident that I can have simple conversations in Korean.

This course was a good base for starting my path in learning the Korean language

By Thatthong N

Apr 15, 2020

I've learn Korean before and would like to practice so I come here and try this course. It's good for beginner and I wish you'll open the harder one. Thank you for this helpful course. by the way.

By Carla C

Apr 26, 2020

Para ser un curso de principiantes, es muy completo y son clases fáciles de comprender. El único pero que pongo es que en algunas de las lecciones, no están disponibles los subtítulos en español.

By María G R R

Apr 26, 2021

el curso me gusto mucho, aprendí demasiado, aunque solo fuera lo básico pero es confortante. al final ya no tanto por que los subtitulos se encontraban en ingles pero de ahi en fuera todo genial

By Jackee

Jun 7, 2020

Very informative and a good introduction to the Korean language! I'm definitely intrigued to learn more and would be seeking out more classes to dive deeper into the Korean language and culture!

By Ritu S

Aug 30, 2020

I wuld request you o additionally add the pronunciation in English alphabet for better understanding of how each alphabet is pronounced. Nonetheless, I had fun learning this course. Thank you.

By Sarah A

Mar 27, 2020

it was a fun course, it correct my pronunciation.. sometimes the pronunciation in the exam isn't clear.

i really enjoyed this course & i hope there will be another courses for Korean language.

By Elizabeth C

Jul 16, 2020

The course was great. I have a recommendation that is when the teacher reads in Korean, there should be subtitles in Korean or there should be romanized subtitles, the written pronunciation.

By Renee M

Aug 7, 2016

I have been waiting for a Korean language course with coursera for a long time. it is very good course for beginner; I had all the explanations and the pronunciation techniques were helpful.

By Liz L

Jun 30, 2021

es muy buena las lecciones pero solo ensena en ingles debe haber tambien que habln en espanol por que leer subtitulos y escuchar las palabras en coreano es un poco dificil pero es muy buena

By Pablo d J F A

Oct 19, 2020

Considero que el curso tiene una buena organización de contenidos, sin embargo, no creo que sea un curso tan introductorio, pues hay cosas que yo he sentido que han estado en un nivel alto.

By Tonnelier L

Aug 14, 2020

It's a very good lesson. Sometimes it is a little bit repetitive but it really helped me master basic sentences and useful vocabulary. I'd recommend it to everyone wanting to learn Korean.

By Beverly D

Apr 20, 2020

The course was sequential, it moved from letters and their sounds and on to words and constructing basic sentences. I was able to read within a few hours of practice. I enjoyed the course.

By ShroukMohamed

Feb 7, 2021

I was really learned alot things , but this course need more units and grammer to cause it was debended on converstion more , but it was really helpful and wonderful , thank you very much

By Elizabeth R

Jul 27, 2020

i did learn a lot but i thought that some of the phrases are not really important to learn on your first time learning Korean i think that there are other phrases that are more necessary

By Lorena

May 2, 2020

I like the course very much, mostly the first 3 weeks, after that the lessons became a little hard (too complex and too fast), but in the end with a little effort, I managed to finish it.

By Yap C

Jun 5, 2020

Detailed and accurate but requires many resources online to be able to grasp the basic syllabus for vowel, particles etc. Overall, a very good course with more practice questions needed.

By Luis E B R

Jun 17, 2019

fue un curso increible. para ser solo para principiantes, estaba muy completo y la profesora explica muy bien. en mi opinion solo le hace falta más practicas para despues de cada clase.

By Sara A

Jan 6, 2018

This course was very helpful and all the information were explained properly in a way that anyone can learn easily. But I do wish that they make another course for more advanced levels.

By Junny G Q B

Jul 13, 2020

Agradecida por la información que tiene cada tema, solamente que en la semanas 4 y 5 la mayoría de los vídeos no se encuentras subtitulados en español. Lo que dificulta el aprendizaje.

By geraldine v

May 1, 2020

It's still a bit hard for non speakers but it's made quite easy to understand overall. I wouldn't say I can speak after 5 weeks nor can I really understand BUT i can read the alphabets

By Néstor J P C B

Jul 27, 2021

Resulta ser un curso bastante útil para tener una primera vista del idioma. La instructora explica detalladamente las clases y los exámenes son 100 de acuerdo a la unidad aprendida.