Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Speak Korean 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Speak Korean 1 by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
8,167 ratings
2,068 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Learn to Speak Korean 1! This course is for beginner students who are familiar with the Korean alphabet, Hangeul. Through this course students will learn the skills essential for daily interactions with Koreans while living in Korea. This course consists of six modules, and each module is composed of five units. Each unit has vocabulary, grammar and expressions, conversation practice, video clips, quizzes, a workbook, and vocabulary lists. In order to assist students with their independent studies, Korean learning materials such as lecture notes, workbooks, and vocabulary lists detailing each day’s lecture are also provided. The vocabulary lists are accompanied by English, Chinese, and Japanese translations. I hope that you enjoy all this program has to offer over the next six weeks. After studying in this program, you will be able to have a real Korean conversation with your newly acquired knowledge of the Korean language. Thank you! Your Course Team Chief Contents Developer: Sang Mee Han Contents Developers: Bock Ja Lee, Yoo Kyung Choi, Ha Min Cho, Ju Eun Kim Production Assistants: Jin Hee Kim, Eun Hye Kim...

Top reviews

JD
Jan 17, 2021

I find it hard and confusing at first but eventually I had fun. I love Korea so much that is why I want to learn Hangul. Also I will visit Korea when the pandemic is over. Thank you Yonsei University.

KN
Aug 31, 2021

Perfectly explained in each short videos. Learnt a lot of the basic grammars, vocab and phonetics. Now, just need to practice speaking it out loud. =) Hope to have "learn to speak korean 2" though. =)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 2,084 Reviews for Learn to Speak Korean 1

By Shirin O

May 27, 2020

It was a great experience! The structure of the lessons is easy and interesting. I liked how the students acted in the videos and showed the conversations in an interesting way. Also, I appreciate how this course improved understanding of Korean culture. Thanks a lot! I am definitely waiting for the Learn to Speak Korean 2.

By Fransiska K O P

Aug 26, 2021

This course is DAEBAK! Thankyou Coursera for letting me join this course and give me financial aid. I hope this certificate will be the first step that i took for another journey and opportunity to go to Korean next year. I will use this Certificate as it should be for a good thing. Thankyou Coursera and Mrs. Sang Mee Han

By Cecilia R g

Nov 19, 2020

Es un curso muy completo que te ayuda un montón a entender el coreano, también e notado que usa palabras muy comunes en corea, por lo que puedo decir que este curso te servirá mucho aparte de ser muy divertido estudiar de esta manera, hasta le agarre cariño a la profesora ajjaja . NO TE ARREPENTIRAS DE REALIZAR ESTE CURSO

By Aniya S

Feb 3, 2021

This course was the best for me personally. I had already been learning Korean and felt as though this course helped me advance in what I was already taught. Before this class, I felt like I wasn't prepared enough in Korean to have and engage in conversations. Now I feel way more comfortable with speaking Korean. 감사합니다!

By Anshika D

Jun 5, 2021

The course has furthered me a step ahead in my process of learning Korean language and culture as well. It's a Beginner level 2 course so in order to learn from this course, one has to have basic idea of Hangeul beforehand. Highly recommend this course to whoever wants to learn and explore Korean language and culture.

By Ekta R

Mar 3, 2021

I am really glad that I have completed this course successfully, and I am thankful to our professor she is really amazing.

I really hope that this language course would help me in future and I'll be able to do a good job in South Korea.

Thank you YONSEI UNIVERSITY and the professor for helping me throughout this course.

By Ana R M G

Aug 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this class. Although learning a new language is really hard, the way the syllabus was created made it easier to grasp with relatable conversations and topics. I like the order of activities per module, starting with examples, vocabulary, speaking practice, and more examples. Thank you again for this!

By KRISHNA P

Oct 4, 2020

This course was very much useful to me. Since I am a beginner in learning Korean language, each and every lessons they taught was very much understandable and clean.Am so happy that I met the correct teacher and platform for learning Korean Language.Thank you to the teachers and people behind this learning platform.

By Amruta S

Jul 31, 2021

its amazing course for students who are learning korean language. the way teacher teach all the topics its really easy to understand and mainly the way mam teach grammer it help me a lot . thankyou so much yonsei university and coursera for this amazing course looking forword to next course for intermediate level .

By Cassie-Ann S

Oct 15, 2020

This course was great! The delivery was good and the content was not overwhelming for a beginner level. I loved the fact that I could download and save the course material as pdf so that I can review them even after completing the work. I learned a lot. Looking forward to more Korean Language courses in the future.

By Farhah M Z

Feb 22, 2021

I took the First Step Korean course by Yonsei Univeristy before taking this course and practice using Duolingo. While First Step korean introduced me to the korean language, this course explained deeper on what and why certain words are use in certain situations. I understand more and learn a lot from this course.

By akanksha m

Dec 14, 2020

Everyone!

You have to pursue this course if you're learning Korean and you're comfortable with Hanguel.

This is a good course, structured properly. The instructor, too, is good.

Overall, a nice course.

This will not disappoint you.

Thank you, Coursera and Yonsei University for including this course here.

Bless you, all.

By Kathy F

Apr 20, 2020

A great basic course that provides experience reading, writing, listening to and speaking Korean. The focus of the course is on learning and practicing language used for daily situations such as shopping, ordering food in restaurants, and, making introductions that are useful for visiting and traveling in Korea.

By Daria T

Apr 29, 2020

I have already known most of the grammar before starting this course, but I wanted to learn more vocab and revise. This course was very understandable, well-paced and definitely helped me practice the basics of Korean. I am impressed by the quality, the dialogs and worksheets were extremely helpful and well-made.

By Emu B

May 8, 2020

I have read many book, watch video clips , using apps for improved my Korean speaking and written skills. Everything was massed up ! So I enroll for this course which is offered by Yonsei University . The way they design the syllabus, I believe that will help you learn very fast without any confusion . 감사합니다 😊

By Claudia F

Mar 1, 2017

Estoy muy satisfecha con el aprendizaje y resultados obtenidos en el curso de Introducción al Idioma Coreano, por lo tanto no he dudado ni un segúndo el incribirme a este nuevo curso que sin duda me ayudará a ampliar y mejorar mi aprendizaje en esta hermosa lengua, ¡espero con muchas ansias más cursos como este!

By Aisha M T

May 21, 2020

I can't thank you enough for providing us this course, I have improved my Korean language a lot because of this course. I enrolled and learnt for free and it's only the certificate which we have to buy and I will buy a certificate so that it helps me in my career, I really hope we get more courses like these..

By 129_ p

Sep 13, 2021

Thank you. I really enjoy studying the material provided. By attending class early, I can introduce friends, hometown, food, and know and understand how to order food in Korean. I hope to take Korean classes again, where I can gain knowledge and experience while discussing with friends from various countries.

By Ritika P

May 21, 2020

The course is really beneficial with multiple ways to help enhance your speaking listening and understanding skills in korean. All the time and effort was worth it with live examples and additional material like the workbooks and vocabulary lists you can access for free. Truly a good course worth the time.

By Laura M F

Feb 1, 2021

I still can't believe I got to study Korean for free! It was very useful and I learned a lot. The videos are complete, entertaining and easy to understand, and there were a lot of additional information (which you can download) to have more knowledge and improve! I am more than satisfied. Totally recommend!

By dimaz r

Dec 4, 2020

This course is great to start learning how to speak in Korean. The teacher very well delivers the lesson and the materials are very helpful for study by yourself. I definitely can start to speak Korean a little. I really hope there will be Learn to Speak Korean 2 from Yonsei University. Thank you very much.

By Frances A

May 17, 2020

This is a great introductory course to Korean language. It definitely enhanced my speaking skills, accent, and proper intonation when communicating. Can serve as a guide to the needed conversations of daily interactions with people. Vocabularies taught are also helpful and useful. Very well paced and clear.

By Archana K

Feb 7, 2018

안녕하세요!

I enjoyed every session of it as it really helped me in learning the basics of how to speak in Korean and I am so excited that there is another course being introduced this summer. I am looking forward to it. I would also like to thank Professor Sang Mee Han and all the mentors for this course.

감사합니다!

By Seth A

Feb 20, 2018

Very comprehensive and educative course for korean learners. I built my confidence with the language through this course. I strongly recommend this course to anyone willing to study the korean language, I wish they add more modules or open another course which will entail more of grammar lesson. Thank you

By Trixia S U

Jan 15, 2021

This class is very helpful. The pacing is just enough for someone like me with a busy schedule. The topics are really helpful for everyday scenarios. Just a head's up, you need to know how to read and write hangeul if you want to take this course nevertheless it is very helpful for beginners. :) 이 한국 수업ㄴ