Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Speak Korean 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Speak Korean 1 by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
10,843 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Learn to Speak Korean 1! This course is for beginner students who are familiar with the Korean alphabet, Hangeul. Through this course students will learn the skills essential for daily interactions with Koreans while living in Korea. This course consists of six modules, and each module is composed of five units. Each unit has vocabulary, grammar and expressions, conversation practice, video clips, quizzes, a workbook, and vocabulary lists. In order to assist students with their independent studies, Korean learning materials such as lecture notes, workbooks, and vocabulary lists detailing each day’s lecture are also provided. The vocabulary lists are accompanied by English, Chinese, and Japanese translations. I hope that you enjoy all this program has to offer over the next six weeks. After studying in this program, you will be able to have a real Korean conversation with your newly acquired knowledge of the Korean language. Thank you! Your Course Team Chief Contents Developer: Sang Mee Han Contents Developers: Bock Ja Lee, Yoo Kyung Choi, Ha Min Cho, Ju Eun Kim Production Assistants: Jin Hee Kim, Eun Hye Kim...

Top reviews

JD

Jan 17, 2021

I find it hard and confusing at first but eventually I had fun. I love Korea so much that is why I want to learn Hangul. Also I will visit Korea when the pandemic is over. Thank you Yonsei University.

RA

Nov 14, 2022

the course is very good.

It combines various aspects of learning the Korean language, i.e., listening

, writing

. Reading and communicating.

It also provides a

view of Korean

culture

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,681 Reviews for Learn to Speak Korean 1

By AKSHATA D

Jun 21, 2020

I loved the course, Its really very much helpful for an International Student like me who was actually truly at a zero level of this language, but, due to help of this course and the previous course (Beginner's Course), I can atleast try to read, understand and speak little bit of Korean Language, it really helped me a lot. Looking further to learn more now...!!! Thank you...!!!

By Juan S S A

Oct 1, 2017

Amazing course,

Based on daily experiences and made with the participation of students, the course has a practical approach to tech vocabulary, grammar structures and useful Korean expressions used in daily life. The teacher is excellent and the structure if nice to ensure content comprehension.

Highly recommended for everyone who is starting in Korean and already knows Hangeul.

By Cat M

Nov 19, 2016

Great course, especially if you are already familiar with most of the sentence structures and need a course to progress with your sentence building. This helped me hear and repeat sentences so I could practice my speaking and listening skills. The audio for the "real life situation" videos was poor and they spoke very fast but other than that I learned a lot from the course.

By María J M y T L

Aug 14, 2016

I see a lot of progress compared with the last course and I really like it so far. The teacher is really calm and easy going and I totally love how the foreing students appear in the videos because it gives me courage that I can do better and that it doesn't matter where I'm from I can still learn the Language!

Thank you for this new Korean course I hope it won't be the last!

By Susan S S O

Oct 18, 2020

It is a very helpful course that allows its students to learn new vocabulary, grammar, and speaking skills in each module. The methodology and the way the lessons are set up for each student to feel comfortable while speaking and reading Korean is my favorite part. I am deeply satisfied with the results I achieved. I can not wait to keep learning this astounding language.

By abigail k

Jun 20, 2020

I really liked this course. It was informative, structured and easy to understand. The lessons break down the basic vocabulary and grammar needed to have a simple conversation in Korean. The lessons may seem quite slow, but I find it necessary to ensure that we can understand the material fully. Overall, I found this course to be extremely helpful and useful. Thank you! :)

By Erika L

Feb 10, 2022

me guto el curso porque es gratis y te ayuda a mejorar algunas habilidades para seguir aprendiendo coreano, y tambien ayuda a que te dan una lista de palabras para aprender y eso es bueno, porque ayuda amemorizar y a tomar lo mas importante del tema-, es decir, que te ayuda para que hagas preguntas reales si algun dado caso puedas hablar como ellos, y te ayuda muchismo.

By Helda

Oct 7, 2021

It was very informative, fun and really easy to study. Looking forward for the next course "Learn to Speak Korean 2"

Thank you so much for such a great course. And wish you all the bestIt was very informative, fun and really easy to study. Looking forward for the next course "Learn to Speak Korean 2" Thank you so much for such a great course. And wish you all the best

By Neila A

Oct 10, 2020

The course exceeded my expectations in terms of the objectives set. It is of great help for a tourist or for those who plan a short stay in Korea. You become familiar with cultural elements such as gastronomy and some places in that beautiful country. I would like you to offer a continuation of the course.

Thank you for the dedication of Professor Sang Mee Han

고맙습니다

By Samantha F E

Mar 20, 2022

I learned so much during the past six weeks. The grammar was explained in a way that was easy to understand. The vocabulary was also taught with visuals that helped me to retain the information. This class also taught dialogue that would be used in real world situations not just in a classroom setting. The teacher enuciated the words and was encouraging.

여러 가지로 고마워요.

By Sasha M

Nov 19, 2023

I really, really liked this course. It was hard at some parts for me, as a non-Korean speaker, but the way everything was explained was spot-on. If I were in Seoul, I would absolutely love to take this class in person. It was so helpful. Thank you for making this. It was very, very, very informative and digestible. I wish there were more courses from this professor.

By Khajal K S

Sep 5, 2020

it is a really immersive experience. and easy to follow. but I hope they can make the graded test of a higher level and comprise everything that we learnt into it instead of just giving 5 questions. I also hope that the workbooks would have more practice questions. as well as the transcripts for the dialogues in the ending scenes to be added into the reading notes

By Beshayer A

Apr 29, 2017

excellent course! they teach you all the terms and sentences you need to know either as a beginner learning Korean or if you're planning to travel there. In addition to the video lessons, lecture notes and homework are also provided for extra practice! Definitely recommend this course to anyone thinking of learning Korea! Thank you very much for this course 10/10!

By BAHAREH E O

Nov 20, 2021

This course was amazing for me and I wish we should have learned to speak Korean 2. If you learned the korean alphabet before, this course is amazing with full explanation of grammar, vocabulary, and many dialogues. honestly, I am crying to end this course and I wish someday can come to Korea and learn the Korean Language at Yonsei University. thank you so much.

By Alexandra P

Jan 26, 2021

Este curso es un buen complemento si tienes una noción del alfabeto coreano. La profesora tiene una muy buena dicción y logras entender todo. Altamente recomendado. Mi única crítica constructiva, sería que los quiz fuesen más difíciles. Pero el contenido del curso, los vocabularios y los clips de video de situaciones del día a día estuvieron excelentes. ¡Gracias!

By Karla A

Oct 8, 2021

El curso me ha encantado, siento que el nivel de complejidad del contenido es alto, pero la profesora que lo imparte lo explica de una manera muy entendible, aparte de que la organización de cada clase es buena, porque sabes exactamente que gramática vas a ver en dicha clase o modulo. Espero ansiosa mas cursos para aprender Coreano, creo que son muy importantes.

By Kelly H F

Jul 4, 2022

I am really delighted with the course, it is very complete and even facilitates written comprehension more than in any other course. Although in my opinion, pronunciation lessons should be given, because as a European, it is too difficult for me to reach a level to be able to pronounce the language correctly. For everything else, it's great, I recommend it 100%

By Eliza J

Jan 31, 2021

안녕하세요. It was an amazing experience to me while I've been studying Korean Language. I think will be very important in my success life. I hope one day i will visit South Korea and talk to everyone around me. When I started, it was very difficult but I've been doing my best and learning naturally. So, thank you a lot for this great opportunity i had. 선생님 고맙습니다!❤️

By Diana B

Aug 17, 2020

I am very happy to be part of this online class, I want to thank first coursera for giving me a chance to study this course, It helps me Learn to Speak Korean for real😊. I've learned a lot. Thank you very much also to professor Sang Mee Han for teaching us, I'm gonna missed you. Your a very good teacher. Thank you very much. I highly recommended this course.

By dulce s a l c

May 4, 2022

Es un curso donde te enseñan lo básico para conocer las conversaciones cotidianas que se mantienen el día a día en corea. Me ayudó a repasar lo que aprendí en First Step on Korean, lo teórico y la pronunciación. Muy buenos ejercicios con audios e imágenes. Se los recomiendo para poder aprender más de coreano básico, su pronunciación y mucho vocabulario nuevo.

By KAREN T

Sep 13, 2021

Enjoyed this course to the fullest. Amazing teacher, explanation, examples, vocabulary to follow as well as exercises and time to practice on your own. Great materials and peace, which allows you to be comfortable not feel rushed and finish things rather quickly, still learning a lot. Do not overthink joining the course, I promise you won't regret it.

By Anna B

May 7, 2020

Very clear structure, nice way of presenting and focussed on every day topics. I also enjoyed the feature of the international students, because it takes away the fear of having a weird accent. It helps to see them mastering it and gives an additional boost in motivation.

A follow up course for further improvement of one's Korean skills would be nice!

By adee

Oct 7, 2016

A very nice introduction to Korean; I've been self-studying on and off for a year, but never anything too structured, so I was a little unsure of how the beginning steps would be broken down, but the lessons flowed amazingly smooth and really gave a lot of useful grammar information and vocabulary right off the bat. Extremely pleased by the course!

By Ngan N

Sep 11, 2017

This course is excellent. It helps me know more about Korean and especially it covers all 4 skills. I really love listening to the conversation between foreign students which improves my listening skill a lot. The staff is very friendly and helpful, too. I hope that there will be more Korean courses like this in the near future! Thank you so much!