Chevron Left
Back to Learning How To Learn for Youth

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How To Learn for Youth by Arizona State University

4.8
stars
2,302 ratings
604 reviews

About the Course

Based on one of the most popular open online courses in the world, this course gives you easy access to the learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. No matter what your current skill level, using these approaches can help you master new topics, change your thinking and improve your life. This course explains: * Why sometimes letting your mind wander is an important part of the learning process * How to avoid "rut think" in order to think outside the box * The value of metaphors in developing understanding * A simple, yet powerful, way to stop procrastinating If you’re already an expert, these strategies will turbocharge your learning, including test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. We all have the tools to learn what might not seem to come naturally to us at first—the secret is to understand how the brain works so we can unlock its power. Filled with animations, application questions, and exercises, this course makes learning easy and fun!...

Top reviews

MS

Mar 17, 2021

It is a great course filled with many tricks and techniques to make learning easy. I have learned a lot from this course, specially knowing how my brain works. It'll help me to learn more effectively.

LR

May 12, 2019

I am still seeing octopede/octopuses with tentacles in backpacks or lockers. Wonderful!!! I am a therapist who works with all age children and this will be extremely helpful! Thank you to all of you.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 603 Reviews for Learning How To Learn for Youth

By Diego C M I

Jun 10, 2020

Yes

By Zouan Y

Sep 26, 2021

LL

By Nikola K

Mar 7, 2020

ok

By Anil K R

Nov 30, 2020

V

By Evgenia C

Apr 29, 2020

G

By Maxine L

Aug 31, 2020

i really enjoyed the course, it has a lot of videos, pdf’s and other. so if you are a visual person like me i highly recommend this course because it’s almost only visuals.

i learned a lot and this help me a lot for my next year in high school.

the only down side is that i did it during summer and i was away a lot so i did not always respect the due dates so they should add something to remind you.

By Arnav L

Jul 2, 2020

A lot of it was mostly how the brain functioned and not really how to study efficiently. However the parts that did were great by explaining how to prevent procrastination, practice makes perfect, and how to take tests. You aren't going to get a whole lot out of it, but what you do get is really helpful.

By Deepak S R

Nov 28, 2021

Very valuable course for passionate learners for all ages, but focused more on teens and college students. Good to know about fundamental science behind brain learning. I'd recommend this short course to all, in specific, subjects studying people. Back to basics will nurture your skills for the future!

By Elizabeth C

Aug 11, 2020

A Super short course that is lighthearted and gives you some helpful reminders on how to study effectively. If you're learning decently well already, I don't think there's much this course will teach you that you won't already know. But the course content is still interesting nonetheless.

By JOY Y

May 27, 2021

Very nice course that allows you to stop and rethink what you are learning skill if still right for you. Showcase a lot of interesting and useful techniques to help to memorize the new things and reapply the thing you learned in the future.

By Omer K

Feb 12, 2021

The course was really nice. Some of the techniques were in the other courses which were easy to remember like the Pomodoro technique in mindshift. I hope there would be new information in this course but it helped me learn better.

By Last 3

May 21, 2021

Very helpful! Maybe take the "metaphors" down a little or stick to the technical but beginner level approach? It was kind of confusing or unrealistic for me sometimes that I had trouble processing the concept/s.

By Zoe H

Dec 16, 2020

It took me 2 days each doing around 1 and a half hours. Some might do it more spread out. It was good and easy to understand. If you don't like metaphors then the course probably is not for you.

Hope this helped

By Nirmeen M T

Feb 14, 2021

This one was awesome, it really helped me a lot.

lots of new information and correction of my way of studying which I can already see the results by following.

I am really thankful to you

By -Celix- X

Sep 4, 2020

I thought the course was very good, apart from that it is free, it is very good for students like me, it has helped us a lot to be able to train ourselves more in this time of pandemic

By Valentina R

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent Course. Ready teach me how to learn in a way I did not expect it. VERY Interactive. Mainly for children and teens, but all ages feel welcome.

By Khadidja Y

Apr 1, 2020

I am very proud to have completed the course. I had a great time and learned a lot of skills I learned meny methods of learning that I did not know.

By RAMLATH K

Sep 29, 2020

An awesome course. I liked very much the methodology of the three instructors, Barb Oakley, Greg Hummons and Terry Synowski.

By Ritik R

Aug 1, 2020

It's was enjoyful to learn something like this. It taught me some keys of learning that i would implement in my works.

By sondos m

Jun 11, 2020

i want to know how to study easier this course is great i recommend it to any one have a problem in exam and study.

By Karthick. A R

Jul 31, 2020

Today young facing challenge during learning.... So it useful way of studying techniques using recall method

By Anvo A A O

Sep 20, 2021

très beau programme. j'aimerais bien un autre programme sur " comment apprendre et parler l'anglais "

By Yaya C

Sep 16, 2021

I am delighted to have participated in this program but the time for the videos was a bit too short

By Dr. V L R

Feb 11, 2020

The course seeks to address youth. However, I feel its more apt for school students. Its awesome :)

By Manjusha P

Jul 16, 2020

enjoyed a lot doing this course .Very easy to understand and help to improve brain power.