Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Lesson Design and Assessment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Lesson Design and Assessment by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
3,281 ratings
840 reviews

About the Course

Learners will be introduced to designing lesson plans based on principles and knowledge of learning objectives, assessment plans, methods, materials, and learning activities. Learners will find and prepare appropriate teaching materials through careful analysis, adaptation and creation of professional resources. Learners will also reflect on the cohesion between lesson design and teaching philosophies....
Highlights
Enriching course content
(161 Reviews)
Great instructors
(53 Reviews)

Top reviews

RA
Jul 14, 2017

This course has an excellent structure for helping you put together a lesson plan and assessment. I love how each facet is explained so that we can see where our mistakes lie and how we can improve.

AI
Jan 5, 2021

It's very well designed. I'm thankful to the creators of this course at Arizona State University and I'm thankful to Coursera for making it so easy for us. Thank you guys for your time and efforts.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 824 Reviews for Teach English Now! Lesson Design and Assessment

By George L

Oct 25, 2020

Great lessons on how to develop a lesson plan that is focused on the objectives and teaching in a way that allows students to use critical thinking to truly gain knowledge which is "sticky", not just memorization which is fleeting.

By Nova R D R

Jul 7, 2020

This course is very useful and I learned so many! Being a newbie in the field of academe, what I gained from this course helped me to improve my lesson plan and assessment preparation! Bravo to ASU especially to the ASU professors!

By Cassiano R

Jun 6, 2020

Loved this course. If you’re a teacher, this course is a must, you learn things about lesson planning you’ve never thought of. As for myself, I learned ways of planning a lesson that will help me assess my students in a better way.

By Waraporn P P

Jul 25, 2019

The content and materials used in this course are very practical and applicable to any context of teaching. The instructors are greatly energetic; their passion to impart teaching experience and tips inspired me to keep dynamic.

By Anna M C

Jan 21, 2018

It was my very big pleasure taking part in this course! veeery profesional and rich in content. I found out so many interesting and useful things. I would higly recommend this part! Thank you very much and greeting from Poland:)

By Nguyen N H

Jun 7, 2020

Perfect course with most critical and detailed information. I got a totally new point of view on lesson design and assesement. Before this course, it is so hard for me to build the lesson plan. But now I am much more confident

By zachary r

Mar 26, 2016

Great material is covered in the Teach English Now! specialization. I've been an ESL teacher for two years now. These courses have really helped me improve my lessons. The instructors simply and organize all of the concepts.

By Zaxidova G T

Aug 27, 2020

In my perspective, this course is the best one to learn how to disign and assessment in English language. By helping I have many experience and skills to achieve my goals. Thank you for your motivation ! I like it so much!

By Tammy L W

Sep 12, 2016

I found this course helpful and full of useful information. The instructors present enjoyable and fun to watch videos. Get the most out of the course but being active on the forums. Most Peer reviewers gave good feedback.

By April J

Dec 30, 2016

This has been an amazing course. I love all the time and effort put into these lessons. They are interesting and engaging. I have participated in other online courses and this one far surpasses the others. Thank you!!

By Katharine W

Nov 28, 2020

As with all the Teach English Now classes,I found this course very helpful. I really found the presentations of the different teachers and comments about their styles very instructive. Thanks so much for a great course!

By Partha S

Sep 5, 2016

Fantastic experience! Finally, I've learner how to create a lesson plan. Moreover, the independent Practice required by the course has given me the confidence to reproduce a lesson plan on anything at ease at anytime.

By Emilia K

Jan 27, 2019

This course has given me a great opportunity look closer into the principles of lesson design and assessment. I’ve had a chance to create a lesson plan and assess the plans that were designed by my peers. Thank you.

By Hassan R R

May 20, 2018

This is the course for those who want to teach ESL from which learned what I have never heard them before taking this course.

It was 100% useful.

Thanks dear Dr. Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell and Jessica Cinco

By Catherine M D

Sep 3, 2017

This is the best course I have taken so far on Coursera. The instruction is excellent and all of the material presented with enthusiasm and humor. It was quite informative! Thank you so much for a great class!!!

By Crystal F

Mar 24, 2018

This class made instructional design very interesting. You create a lesson plan with the goals in mind. Very hands on. I recommend this class to anyone who needs to create lesson plans, regardless of TESOL or not.

By Hendrik W H

May 19, 2018

This is a very good, actually excellent, course and I would recommend it to anyone. I used it as a warm-up to an online MA TESOL program that I am still searching for. I hope to do the whole certificate. Henri H

By dan b

Dec 10, 2020

When Shane and Jessica act as commentators after all 3 teachers engage with each part of the LP, this is very useful and a novel way for me. I especially like when Shane said to Jessica "You said do-do" ha ha!

By Maria P

Aug 27, 2020

I finished this course. It had a level of difficulty, but was done! all the readings! lots of them!

I had fun while doing it!

Thanks ASU and Coursera!

Now I expect my CERTIFICATE and will proceed to new course!!!

By Richard H

Nov 22, 2016

Thank you very much to Shane, Jessica, and all the teachers and staff at ASU for this course and a soon to be approved TESL certificate which will validate the teaching work I have been doing in South America.

By Ramesh A

Jul 25, 2020

Thanks to Dr. Dixon and the team for the wonderful course. I enjoyed learning to design a lesson and assessment. I hope it will definitely change and teaching philosophy and lead to a successful TESOL career.

By Arnaly A

Aug 18, 2018

Great course! It is entertaining and packed with information. It is easy to watch as the teachers took their time to design a course full of visual material, fun representations and great lectures. Thank you!

By Michele F

Jan 4, 2018

Excellent course! This one is really practical and at the end, you will have lessons that you can use in the classroom. I like how it's taught with a variety of methods and how Dr. Dixon keeps it interesting.

By Deleted A

Jan 24, 2018

This course really taught me the importance of designing great lesson plans for my future ESL students. I am sure that I will be well-prepared to go forth in my career because of this educational experience.

By Ngwalem B N

Sep 12, 2019

I learned so much from this course. I absolutely love the step by step approach used to teach this course . I have a lot more confidence to prepare my own lesson plan , teach and know that i hit my target.