Chevron Left
Back to Linear Regression and Modeling

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Linear Regression and Modeling by Duke University

4.7
stars
1,520 ratings
281 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces simple and multiple linear regression models. These models allow you to assess the relationship between variables in a data set and a continuous response variable. Is there a relationship between the physical attractiveness of a professor and their student evaluation scores? Can we predict the test score for a child based on certain characteristics of his or her mother? In this course, you will learn the fundamental theory behind linear regression and, through data examples, learn to fit, examine, and utilize regression models to examine relationships between multiple variables, using the free statistical software R and RStudio....

Top reviews

TM
Jul 21, 2020

A great primer on linear regression with labs that help to establish understanding and a project that is focused enough not to be overwhelming, and allows the learner to play around with the concepts

PK
May 23, 2017

Very good course taught by Dr. Mine who is as always a very good teacher. The videos are very eloquent and easy to understand. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a basic refresher course.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 277 Reviews for Linear Regression and Modeling

By marvin m

Nov 6, 2020

The Lab could be better if there was a video that goes with it. But overall I love this course.

By Jian S

Dec 12, 2016

I learnt quite a bit. One of the most useful courses! I would suggest add more exercises in R.

By NG Y W

Dec 12, 2016

This course has provided me with a good and simple understanding on the concept

By Amir Z

Aug 31, 2016

This is a great course for this specialization but don't expect much depth.

By zhenyue z

Jun 6, 2016

nice lecture, but it is really too short, not into too much details.

By Luis F R C

Oct 27, 2016

Excellent course, I think it still could include more content!

By Anna D

May 22, 2017

Great course and lots of useful knowledge!

By Nikhil K

Jan 25, 2020

Not covered entire regression technique

By FangYiWang

Apr 18, 2019

A good course for Bayesian statistics.

By Mohammed S S

Jun 8, 2020

Great model with clear explanations

By Seyyed B B

Feb 3, 2021

Nice overview and R examples!

By Daniel C

Apr 19, 2017

Very useful insights and lea

By Lalu P L

Apr 21, 2019

Could be more informative

By Syed M R A

Mar 20, 2018

Awesome course.

By Toan L T

Dec 11, 2018

A good course

By Ananda R

Mar 14, 2018

excellent

By Micah H

Apr 30, 2018

Other nits about the depth and breadth of the course aside, I thought it was a good course. The main critique I have to offer is the lack of emphasis of using the power of R. When teaching model selection, the course should have at least provided instruction—or at least a written resource—on how to write the R code for automating forward/backward selection by R^2.* Being a course about using R as well as about linear regression and modeling, it seems like the appropriate thing to do.

(*A classmate whose final project I peer-reviewed used for loops to run the forward model selection based on R^2. That's how I learned about it.)

By Liam J K

Mar 19, 2020

Overall it covers everything that you would want this course to.

However, I was a complete beginner when starting this course, and as a result I regularly got confused (especially when it came to coding in R)

3/5 stars for me

By Brandon F

Oct 16, 2017

Provides a good overview, but I felt some loose ends were not addressed in terms of how stringent the conditions need to be met, and if one can use MLR when this is not the case.

By Jingyi Y

Nov 8, 2019

lectures are great.

but no tutor answers my question posted in discussion board.

By Zhao L

Aug 9, 2016

Covers the basic of Linear Regression, would like to see more advanced material.

By Kshitij T

Nov 3, 2017

Only contains linear regression as opposed to other model types

By 楼啸

Aug 20, 2019

The grading is just so annoying

By Stan M

Feb 15, 2021

dropped

By Farabe K A

Jun 16, 2020

Average