Chevron Left
Back to Sustainable Food Production Through Livestock Health Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Sustainable Food Production Through Livestock Health Management by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
442 ratings
124 reviews

About the Course

Learn about the impact of infectious disease on sustainable animal-based food production by understanding the science of growth, immunity, and infection and by learning the problem-solving skills needed to advance animal health and food production through optimal management practices. There is a growing global need in agricultural production for a workforce that is capable of integrating knowledge of animal health and production with an understanding of consumer preferences in the context of economic reality, business efficiency, and ethical constraint. However, current evidence suggests that there is a growing shortage of people with the knowledge and problem-solving skills required to match the rapid advances being made in animal health, science, and food production. The results of this shortage are wide-ranging and could lead to challenges in food security and agricultural economic competitiveness in some countries. In this course we will explore the effect of infectious disease on sustainable animal-based food production. The content and learning outcomes of this new course will be designed to be relevant across different food production sectors (i.e., beef, dairy, poultry, and pigs). While the instructors will provide the participants with a strong scientific base for understanding the impact of infectious disease in animal-based food production, the emphasis of the material will be on practical problem-solving and will be directed towards equipping participants with a platform for developing the skills needed to contribute to sustainable food production....

Top reviews

LA
May 9, 2017

I will use this information when I translate livestock documentation, at work. I really appreciate the care taken into the production of the video and the presentation of the content. Thank you!

AV
May 7, 2020

Excelente curso. Muy buen contenido de vídeos y la opción a trabajo extra es muy buena. La carga de trabajo es ligera pero buena. Los proyectos me encantaron. En verdad vale la pena.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 125 Reviews for Sustainable Food Production Through Livestock Health Management

By Alana V

Jun 21, 2017

Awesome!!

By Kaumadi T

Jan 15, 2021

Great

By Rohit P

Sep 2, 2021

good

By ROHITASHV N

Jul 9, 2020

good

By Mona A A

May 31, 2020

GOOD

By Yagoda P M G Y

Jul 19, 2020

❤👍

By OMKAR K G

Oct 19, 2020

no

By Daniel S B C

Jun 29, 2020

.

By Clasina E

Nov 12, 2019

-

By Stefano D S

Jun 22, 2021

I took the course to get a better understanding of animal health and welfare as I have recently moved country and job. From English Teacher in South Africa to Farmer in Brazil.

So there is a lot that I don't know and basically I won't be able to use all the information presented, like detailed descriptions and explanations of cell walls and the pathogens themselves, as I would probably just call a vet to come and take a look at our cattle if there is a specific problem.

But it has given me a lot more confidence in knowing what to look for with regards to sickness and disease and also how to move around the animals without stressing them. I would like to be an all-rounder and not focus specifically on animals and/or their diseases so, as mentioned, I won't use everything learned in this course. But, again, it has opened my eyes to a bunch of new information and I liked specifically the part on nutrition for animals and how to protect the animals immunity first as prevention is better than cure.

Thanks for all the well put-together information.

By Muhammad W I

Jan 1, 2017

certainly is a large scale course covering almost all the things concerned and wide variety of examples and ample amount of knowledge but more portion is focusing the health management. It will be more comprehensive if one lecture about the food processing is added, like dairy products etc. thanks

By Sekotoana J M

Apr 6, 2021

Very informative and exciting course . Offers unique insight into animal health especially from the perspective of efficient and sustainable food production. The material covered keeps the vision of 2050 alive and will be in one's thoughts going forward.

By morad h

Oct 10, 2021

It was a very useful course. I thank all the professors and doctors for the valuable information they provided us... but I faced a problem. Please help me. I passed all the exams, but I could not obtain a certificate.

By Anna A

Apr 30, 2017

It was very interesitng with great teachers, but for me (student of veterinary medicine) there was very little new.

By Arman L K

Dec 4, 2020

it was really great that they used many lectures interacting with animals and working on them ohysically

By Jorge L A M

Jul 16, 2017

Me gustó mucho, sin duda te da un panorama más amplio en cada tema que tocan!

By Redwan M

Feb 13, 2020

It's a wonderful course, with up to to date info that boost my career.

By ALAN I L C

Sep 3, 2020

Muy completo y con información aplicable muy útil

By BINU B T

May 17, 2020

Course was good and i loved Dr.Brian Alridge most

By Andres G

May 17, 2017

Great overview and thoughtful material

By Sharduli

Aug 20, 2020

Very informational content

By Richard K

Feb 3, 2018

Very informative course.

By Babar s

Jun 20, 2020

Intresting

By Jacquelyn B

Jun 6, 2017

Really repetitive

By Arfa K

Jul 17, 2021

poor